The Official Car Care Thread

nick639v2

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby nick639v2 » August 21st, 2021, 9:58 pm

Foam cannon liquids... Who's using what??

Interchem's simple green is mediocre at best I've actually gotten better foam with budget bulk car wash...
Saw Garage fresh have their own foam liquid, has anyone tried it yet??

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 22nd, 2021, 11:18 am

Isnt simple green a degreaser? Or is it a brand with different products? A

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 22nd, 2021, 11:19 am

Also anyone can explain why all my posts are now here? Because now the info is out of context.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 22nd, 2021, 11:32 am

FineToothDetailing wrote:Isnt simple green a degreaser? Or is it a brand with different products? A
Simple green is a brand
They make various degreasers, wash &wax, and other cleaning stuff
Most of them being biodegradable and non-toxic

Postby *KRONIK* » August 22nd, 2021, 11:32 am

FineToothDetailing wrote:Also anyone can explain why all my posts are now here? Because now the info is out of context.
Mods probably merged the thread
As there is a similar one already

carluva

Postby carluva » August 22nd, 2021, 5:55 pm

Moderators most likely merged your thread with this.

I was going to tell you to do the same as threads with duplication of information are usually condensed into one.

Don't worry, post your stuff here and it'll get the views still.
FineToothDetailing wrote:Also anyone can explain why all my posts are now here? Because now the info is out of context.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 22nd, 2021, 6:34 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
FineToothDetailing wrote:Isnt simple green a degreaser? Or is it a brand with different products? A
Simple green is a brand
Never heard of anything except the degreaser. Lol.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 22nd, 2021, 6:37 pm

carluva wrote:Moderators most likely merged your thread with this.

I was going to tell you to do the same as threads with duplication of information are usually condensed into one.

Don't worry, post your stuff here and it'll get the views still.
Oof. Ok I understand. I'm on other forums and u get notified for that sort of stuff. So was In full tinfoil hat mode lol! Once people see the info I'm good. Trying to be valuable, haha!

Postby *KRONIK* » August 22nd, 2021, 7:01 pm

FineToothDetailing wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Simple green is a brand
Interchem is the dealer
You can check them out if you wanna see the product line up

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 23rd, 2021, 10:37 am

nick639v2 wrote:Foam cannon liquids... Who's using what??

Interchem's simple green is mediocre at best I've actually gotten better foam with budget bulk car wash...
Saw Garage fresh have their own foam liquid, has anyone tried it yet??
I use chemical guys honey dew snow foam, great results with that, thick foam with just a few ounces

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 23rd, 2021, 12:14 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Simple green is a brand
Interchem is the dealer
Ohhhhhhhhh. Think I used the normal car soap and the dressing years ago. Probably just assumed it didn't have a name. Lol

Postby *KRONIK* » August 23rd, 2021, 1:03 pm

As yuh say dressings....

I asked a few weeks ago and nobody responded

What is a good undercarriage dressing for a pick-up?
To spray under the cab, the exposed chassis, suspension and under fenders?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 23rd, 2021, 1:04 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Simple green is a brand
Interchem is the dealer
Ohhhhhhhhh. Think I used the normal car soap and the dressing years ago. Probably just assumed it didn't have a name. Lol
Apart from the simple green line, interchem also has their own branded line of cleaners and tireshine

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 23rd, 2021, 3:26 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:As yuh say dressings....

I asked a few weeks ago and nobody responded

What is a good undercarriage dressing for a pick-up?
To spray under the cab, the exposed chassis, suspension and under fenders?

I use regular budget armour all from gableX chase village 80$ for like a couple litres. It isn't as shiny or oily as regular armor all so it picks up minimal dust. Lasts a couple weeks and I respray on my wash days. Using it like 5 years? And it keeps my stuff in decent shape.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 23rd, 2021, 3:53 pm

Have ceramic and graphene become the new buzzwords in the industry. Synthetic is the old buzzword.

Not discounting proper ceramic coatings, but almost everything now is listed as having ceramic and or graphene. Some older products have ceramic in it and it was written in small print... Now as ceramic is the word it is big front and center

Unfortunately some of the older products that I like are being replaced by these newer marketing labels that don't perform any better than what was replaced

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 23rd, 2021, 5:30 pm

Marketing having a field day with the words ceramic and graphene. Literally translating to " we charge you MORE for having the word on the label. Not the content or quality." Not saying the products are bad but they really are just milking the cow.

Brad32

Postby Brad32 » August 24th, 2021, 6:48 pm

Which brand foam wash do yall recommend, aside from chemical guys and simple green brand?

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 25th, 2021, 9:59 pm

Brad32 wrote:Which brand foam wash do yall recommend, aside from chemical guys and simple green brand?
Tbh I haven't used a dedicated foam product. I just fill it with soap. Lol. What I do is ignore using a soap bucket. Just fill a bucket with water so I can clean the mitt in-between panels. Wet the car, spray the soap, wash the car then rinse. I use finish Renu Purple soap. Its wax in a soap form, so cars tend to look polished after. I used it on that car in that lvl of sun.... People in their car watching me like I psycho. Lol or maybe they was makoing the spray hose thingy.

Good time for a tip. If your car soap has a medium to high wax content, you can use it In the sun. The wax protects things from the sun. So the soap water does not behave like water. Itl slowly sheet off the car without leaving residue as the soap water is protecting itself basically. Tricky part is rinsing and drying. After rinsing keep the parts of the car that you can't get to yet wet.
IMG_20210825_154117.jpg

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 25th, 2021, 10:02 pm

Car Wash Hose Expandable Garden Hose 50ft No Kink Durable Flexible Water Hose Lightweight Retractable Hose with Foam Pot Car Wash Spray Gun for Outdoor Gardening Lawn Car Watering https://www.amazon.com/dp/B092LH6MQ4/re ... UTF8&psc=1

Took a month to get here. I like it. Looks slightly different from the picture.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 25th, 2021, 10:19 pm

Advanced Detailing tip.
Ever noticed after buffing and polishing a vehicle you notice a sort of hill? Its looks like a blackhead , just a shiny tiny hill on the clear coat with something on the peak. That happens if there is a contaminant bonded to the paint and you buff over the area. It forms while in the cutting/buffing stage.

Remember the pad does not care! It's cutting whatever it's in contact with, at a certain rate. If the pad can't remove the contaminant it will still be removing the clear coat around the area. The spot where the contaminant was has the same amount of clear coat as before you started buffing. While the surrounding area has been cut by the same amount. Forming a little hill.

Prevention is better than cure here. Clay the vehicle after the wash.

Just putting this out there because someone here may have to buff a car they can't afford to fuqup on. Or it happens to them and they don't know why. Usually itl show up on darker color cars.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 25th, 2021, 10:33 pm

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 27th, 2021, 9:11 pm

FineToothDetailing wrote:http://www.jetrenu.com/product-p/jr-1001.htm
That's what I usePXL_20210627_120645060_edited%20(1).jpg

How many ounces needed per foam wash?

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 28th, 2021, 8:19 am

Half ounce is enough for a bucket. So I use the same amount.
If you want to get a small amount you can Contact Joel at 369-5066. He is in St James though.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » August 28th, 2021, 4:24 pm

NR8 wrote:
FineToothDetailing wrote:http://www.jetrenu.com/product-p/jr-1001.htm
That's what I usePXL_20210627_120645060_edited%20(1).jpg

How many ounces needed per foam wash?
To be clear this is not a foam wash. It's just really good soap. He has dedicated foam wash as well.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 10th, 2021, 6:12 pm

Did a clean and wax again this week.

I tired the Meguiars ultimate paste wax which I bought in Price Club Supermarket.

Very nice product. Easy to apply and remove. Finished waxing the whole vehicle in less than an hour.

The gloss is great as is the slickness.Last time, I used the turtle Wax ice paste wax. That was harder to remove but I felt as though it had more "body" and left a better layer on the vehicle.

I used 303 protectant on the interior. First time using it. Fantastic!!! Renews the interior without any greasy residue. Best I have used so far.

Some pics attached.
IMG_20210910_181154350_HDR.jpg
IMG_20210910_181203795.jpg
IMG_20210910_181207449.jpg
IMG_20210910_180646461.jpg
IMG_20210910_180602007.jpg
IMG_20210910_180637660_HDR.jpg
Last edited by carluva on September 10th, 2021, 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » September 10th, 2021, 7:13 pm

Looking sweet! Keep me updated as to how long the wax lasts. I'm testing out this one right now. Did a friend's car to see how long it will last. I know the carnauba is 3-5 months but I want to see if the polymers add any time to it.

Gonna start doing videos on YouTube soon. Hoping to cover all the products I have available.

PXL_20210909_160726715.jpg
PXL_20210910_190923849.jpg

FineToothDetailing

Postby FineToothDetailing » September 11th, 2021, 8:01 am

Doing a ceramic coating today. Making a video as well with as much info I can provide. Will share link when it is edited.

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 11th, 2021, 9:21 am

carluva did you get the 303 protectant locally?

carluva

Postby carluva » September 11th, 2021, 8:15 pm

No. It was shipped with some other items via sea freight some time ago.

I have never seen this locally but was always eager to try it based on the excellent reviews seen on numerous YT detailing videos.

FYI. I also use the Meguiars Instant Detailer. That is another excellent product. No residue whatsoever and leaves and mat finish. I'd recommend this as well especially as it should be more easily available locally.

I've found that while both products are good, the 303 "renewed" the interior more. It left a natural appearance with no residue but may have penetrated better that the Megs, thereby resulting in a more renewed look.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 11th, 2021, 11:43 pm

I use meguiar's interior detailer cleaner... Slightly purple label.