Evolution of Drifting: V8 Invasion

MichaelR

Evolution of Drifting: V8 Invasion

Postby MichaelR » July 14th, 2012, 9:48 pm

This is a good watch. A few weeks ago a friend and I were arguing about which we would prefer, the drift version of the FT 86 with the highly modified boxer engine or the ones that are having v8's dropped in. Now I see this video talking about something that's been happening in America and increasingly elsewhere.

trini mk5

Re: Evolution of Drifting: V8 Invasion

Postby trini mk5 » July 15th, 2012, 5:40 am

Very informative vid. It just proves that in racing, no replacement for displacement.

nigie

Postby nigie » July 15th, 2012, 7:01 am

Yes in life...size matters...!!!!

nigie

Postby nigie » July 15th, 2012, 7:09 am

Yes in life...size matters...!!!!

MichaelR

Postby MichaelR » July 15th, 2012, 7:19 am

Oh lawd, not the response I was expecting. What about for a street car, who is against the swaps and why. What instances would you prefer to keep the four or six cylinder and mod it

Postby j.o.e » July 15th, 2012, 8:34 am

The V8's definitely has better reliability power, but i still like the skill of the original drifters...I think with the 4 cylinders its was more about driver skill and balance. More finesse than brute force.
But at the end of the day there is no replacement to displacement.

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » July 15th, 2012, 2:19 pm

I guess the advantages would be more power/torque lower down the rev range, as oppose to having to bounce off the limiter/ lag problems with a turbo engine. Would stop the driver having to push too hard to get the car sliding?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 15th, 2012, 3:14 pm

^^that is one of the advantages. the others are less heat, less weight, less cost, more power, more parts availability, better reliability.

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 15th, 2012, 3:33 pm

Nice share OP!

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » July 15th, 2012, 3:41 pm

If the V8s do actually take over, I really will miss the high pitched turbocharged rukus in all it's glory. But still, according to this guy, you can get 1000hp from a 4 rotor. I guess we'll have to wait and see.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » July 15th, 2012, 4:52 pm

how about 2000 hp from an LS1

TURBOS TOO

Bacon

Postby Bacon » July 15th, 2012, 8:29 pm

More skills req'd to drift a turbo car well......But sponsors want trophies soooooooooo :/

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 15th, 2012, 10:12 pm

Bacon wrote:More skills req'd to drift a turbo car well......But sponsors want trophies soooooooooo :/

While that may be true, i figure it is more about cost effectiveness. As one of the guys said in the video, $20k+ for a 500hp SR20 that needs rebuilding 5 times per season and a lot of teams go bankrupt because of that. It is just an all round win to go with a V8 in america.
I didnt hear anyone mention a supercharged V8 or another engine used for drifting instead of turbocharging. I would assume you wouldnt have the lag issues and sudden boost climb to deal with. *shrugs*

Bacon

Postby Bacon » July 15th, 2012, 10:21 pm

^^^ Yes.......valid points.

But passion, pride and skill should have some role as well.......drift in a Mustang if you wanna save money....Doh put a American V8 in a S15 or 350z.

I think in Japan when they first started drifting saving money was the last thing on their mind.

The cars I drive are both NA V6's and I love not having the lag I had when I had with turbo cars.......But at the same time I would not have changed my Turbo Babies to NA's for nuttin, doh even talk about a cross-continent cross breed. Each have their merits.

Start with the platform you want givin the application.

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » July 15th, 2012, 11:56 pm

Bacon wrote:cross-continent cross breed

MichaelR

Postby MichaelR » July 16th, 2012, 12:07 am

Good discussion here, I wont even bother to list the points i made when i was arguing drift ft86 v8 vs boxer 4 as you all listed them all here already.

What he was saying is the low cg of the boxer 4 adds a more desirable dynamic that would be lost with the swap, to which i responded with a lot of the merits u all discussed plus the superior potential of the v8 outweighs the small cg benefit of the 600hp turbo 4. Its actually ken gushi's boxer frs we were discussing and he himself kinda confirmed that they are having a hard time with the v8's in the video. I think possibly for a street application the boxer 4 would stand a fighting chance, especially for stuff like touge.

And there I think the answer for formula d lies: in touge, its less about power than i would say it is in drifting, so the other merits of a car matter more. So I think formula d has reached a point where to keep fans of all layouts, sponsors of all brands, tech of all types, they now need more stringent rules, especially a power cap on what's allowed. It happens to all the big racing series in some form and formula d is now that big that sponsor dollars mean that you go with the craziest setup or struggle. Drivers would have a more fair chance at a win, no matter what they drive and it would demand the high level of skill that i also think is being dulled by the excessive v8's. Watching formula d these days there are times when i see a guy have to make a big correction mid drift and just keep the smoke pouring, not having to care about keeping his momentum and a smooth line as much as he would in a lower powered car. So I'm like "really?, he wouldnt have gotten away with that if he had less power." I've heard that others are complaining that its too much about power sliding with the big power cars and less skill is needed, which i think is true. So i think a power cap is the answer. It will also keep the sport more grass roots, which i think is important to its fans

I'm kinda interested in hearing what u all think about street application though, like say i wanted a car that is good at touge and drift, has 4 doors, what do u recommend to power it for a low budget

And yes, i have too much time on my hands today to be making a long post like this.

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » July 16th, 2012, 12:23 am

If you see Mr. Orido doing it, then there's a good possibility this is the new way forward. He IS drift king's apprentice after all, isn't he?

MichaelR

Postby MichaelR » July 16th, 2012, 12:32 am

Not to sound too negative eh but i does think of it as the NASCAR Disease: put a big ole v8 in it, strip it down, give it a tube chassis and body pannels that really arent anything near stock but resemble stock a bit for marketing reasons and u have d best racecar money can buy, while fooling some ppl into thinking its based on a stock car

Grip

Postby Grip » July 16th, 2012, 12:36 am

i hate drifting for smoke
to me it's like figure skating
yh there is some precision driving to it but as michaelR said all that doesn't matter when you have big horse power
honestly i prefer togue
or even rally
and that's why i respect men like kerry
he drifting in time attack and solodex and thing

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » July 16th, 2012, 12:36 am

MichaelR wrote:I'm kinda interested in hearing what u all think about street application though, like say i wanted a car that is good at touge and drift, has 4 doors, what do u recommend to power it for a low budget

Grip

Postby Grip » July 16th, 2012, 12:43 am

A car good at touge and drift on a budget. I'd say get a mark 2 and 2jz that. lots of power from the base, lots of potential and toyota reliability

MichaelR

Postby MichaelR » July 16th, 2012, 12:57 am

The r34 4 and the 2j mark 2 sounding real good for trinidad and i didnt clarify on purpose as i might be returning home, but i might also be buyin in canada, for canada. Someone suggested a old 3 series or real old m3 which are really cheap here. Then d v8 option which is kinda why i considering d v8, cuz they available here. U all know bout good options for canada?
That touge r34 vid have me real feeling for a maracas run. I hate u, i want to do that now.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » July 17th, 2012, 1:00 am

SO BE IT... YOUR WISH IS GRANTED

Postby sliderz1 » July 18th, 2012, 11:16 pm

4 cylinder engine + turbo + intercooler > V8 ls1
in weight? really?

roadracer7