Solodex - Please educate a newbie that's interested !

venum

Solodex - Please educate a newbie that's interested !

Postby venum » August 12th, 2005, 9:13 am

Fellas,

I not too much into the drags thing,

but I beginning to take a keen interest in Solodex, having seen the pics and stuff

I looking to come out to the next Solodex meets to check it out

I would also like to participate

Educate meh a lil bit bout it nah

I have a CK2A Lancer (stock) - will I have to do any mods to enter in the amateur class?

do I need a navigator?

really interested, but need info

Thanx

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 12th, 2005, 10:15 am

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » August 12th, 2005, 10:29 am

U can be stock or modded to the teeth, when they check the car they will put u into the correct class determined by the mods u have. Don't need a navigator, but if u want someone to ride along with u I believe that is possible. It's always a good idea to have some steelies and some tyres dedicated to just solodex because believe me your tyres won't be much good to u on normal day driving afterwards.

Postby wagonrunner » August 12th, 2005, 10:31 am

mods, you dont need to do any to participate, but there are some advantages to having more low end, and accelerating power.

it wears tyres depending on your driving style, but your street tyres could last you a couple events, approx 5 in my case, and still have a trade-in value.

no navigator is required. the course is different at each event., to familiarise yourself, you get to walk it, then a slow drive through, at any time you can anyone else who knows the course to navigate for you during a run.

oho, competition entrance fee is currently $100, and it is a good idea to attend the pre competition breifings, competition is based on the fastest time, in perofrmance class, as well as overall. fun runs are currently $50, there is no timing in fun runs.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » August 12th, 2005, 10:34 am

MasterBates wrote: We specifically created a Novice Class so that you can practice for 1 year before being put into you respective Classes, unless of course you place 1st, twice....then you're shifted. This is much easier than when I started 4 years ago and had to battle against the seasoned fellas from the Get Go. (Remember this is a safe environment that we have created, with special precaution taken with distance to anything solid, you saw what happened with the VR4 with the seasoned driver on Saturday night, right. Imagine if this had happened in a car park, with concrete islands and uneven surfaces........we might have had another Franklin Boodram situation)
So take my stupid advice and leave the practicing for Dex itself and Fun Runs afterwards. :idea:

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » August 12th, 2005, 10:37 am

There is timing in fun runs, but u got to get in your run early before they take down the equipment, I got my car timed at the last day event in the rain

venum

Postby venum » August 12th, 2005, 11:34 am

ok fellas

thanks for the info thus far

please send more, since i would like to have as much as I can.

the carstt site helped

why would I need an extra set of tyres?

I have 205\60\14 Dunlop SP Sport 601's (couple of months old) on some aluminium race rims,

would they be damaged? how so?

what is the average length of a run?

when is the next meet?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 12th, 2005, 11:42 am

i believe the 28th of this month

NickJr.

Postby NickJr. » August 12th, 2005, 11:47 am

Your tyres will be worn at an accelerated pace because there is alot of high speed cornering and quick braking and sometime u might be turning into a coner on the brakes. The shoulders of your tyres are under alot of stress, so it would be wise to have a set of tyres that not brand new or are your daily drivers so that they can get the abuse and when your done u still have your streets

Postby MG Man » August 12th, 2005, 2:08 pm

I have done three events n brand new Toyo Proxes.....the front tyres show some wear, but the rears still look new. I figure a year of solodex (6 events) on street tyres will use about 1/2 the tread on your front tyres but the rears wont be so bad......some guys buy some nice cheap foreign used tyres and cheap steel rims for solodex. I think thats a good option...............if u still not sure, make a pass thru on the 28th and just check it out, talk to competitors, and try a fun run or two.........cant beat first han experience

venum

Postby venum » August 12th, 2005, 2:54 pm

the 28th sound like a plan

might make a fun run on my good tyres

I have some 13" steelies, will have to get some used tyres

who I lookin for?

Postby MG Man » August 12th, 2005, 3:11 pm

venum wrote:
who I lookin for?

at Solodex??? The guys who compete all pretty cool.....u can start up a talk with about just anybody there

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » August 12th, 2005, 4:24 pm

i can definitely concur there...even though we're all racing it's more about beating the clock and sharing info on lines of approach etc...than just going to beat someone's a$$... 8)[/quote]

Postby MG Man » August 12th, 2005, 4:32 pm

^^^ agreed............I always ask other competitors for advice on tyre pressure, etc and they're always cool about it......nobody hides any 'secrets' at solodex

venum

Postby venum » August 12th, 2005, 5:49 pm

cool scene

so iz the 28th

need to confirm the location and time allyuh does do this thing

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » August 12th, 2005, 8:56 pm

date..28th august
location ....arima race club(next to santa rosa park, where they race horses)
more info...date of briefing will be posted on the forum....
STAY TUNED... 8)

Mr. Fixables

Fixables Here .....

Postby Mr. Fixables » August 14th, 2005, 9:26 am

Fixables here!

Here is a copy of a post I sent in on another thread. Hope it helps.

Solodex was a terminology created by those who formed CARS.

It is a hybrid version of the (SCCA) Autocross events held in the US.

Initially, Solodex was fashioned along the same lines as SCCA rules, but due to different circumstances, some changes were made for it to work here in Trini.

In the US, they class it as Solo 1 and Solo 2. The difference being the top speeds acheived during the run.

Solodex has evolved over the years, but needed an injection of interest, so changes had to be made.

Actually, I came up with the H2H idea, but this is a team effort, so I could not have made it work without all of the CARS executive.

We are not ruled by any sanctioning body, so we are free to make any changes we see necessary. It is great way to push your car harder than you would ever get to on the streets, without the fear of ending up in disaster. Great sportsmanship from all competitior also.

It's a growing sport, as seen by all of the new competitors and spectators in recent events..

The twin timing system is in the works, however, it is an expensive piece of equipment, and we will need to raise funds to purchase it. That may be the future of Solodex?!

Concerning the guy who wanted to know about mods etc.. There are cars there ranging from Evos to stock March, Wagons, Auto corollas (borrowed from their wives) etc.

Just about anything can run, and the thing about it is that the car is not the determining factor on who wins or not (most times at least). Driver input is the best weapon in Solodex. This only comes with practice! So, the more events you come to, the more competitive you find yourself to be.

If you come to an event, ask for me, Kirk (Mr. Fixables). I'll run you through the do's and dont's and hand you a few hints on the course (I have the inside scoop as I design the tracks).

See all of you on the 28th August at ARC.

Kirk

GreaseMonkey

Postby GreaseMonkey » August 14th, 2005, 11:27 pm

Sunday 28th August @ARC at 11:00 am. Bring your foreign used an come on down we have some wagon boys that will guide you correctly about the sport....

venum

Postby venum » August 15th, 2005, 12:09 am

kirk I will look fuh yuh man, yuh sounding cool

greasemonkey i will vibes yuh too

Postby wagonrunner » August 15th, 2005, 12:13 am

aye aye, we have an oily primate on the forums now. how you going sir? saw you post 11a, so i could get some sleep and reach there for 10:30 on the 28th?

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » August 15th, 2005, 1:06 pm

fo shizzle...wey this greasy primate come from...i think it's from under the master's car, trying to learn some new kung-fu... :mrgreen:

GOcrazy
Wagon Boyz

Wagons.com.ing

Postby GOcrazy » August 17th, 2005, 1:54 am

Hey grease monkey ....

I hear you thinking about parking up your silver car &
bringing out your wagon for an event ! Tired of me beating you !!

We went from one wagon in this event (won't say who)
to enough to start a wagon class (Fixables not invited) hahaha.

for the record....
I have beat and have been beaten, so why do I keep coming back?
For the prize, to blaze around a track like a mad man in my wife's car,
the lime & the love for the sport dictated by the other cool racers.

I am an addict.
If it was'nt for SOLODEX, i would be wrapped around a lightpole somewhere. This is a great place for novice & more prepared drivers
to burn rubber not your soul.

GO crazy
"This isnt where i parked my car"

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 17th, 2005, 7:08 am

would hope one day to try meh hand at that too......

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 17th, 2005, 10:37 am

yea venum, you can ask for me as well. ask for me by my tuner name everybody knows me as dat. i will walk the course with u if i have not done so already and introduce u to kirk and the other competitors. my car is in my avatar so hail me out if u like

this event i using my street tires so no more tires woes like last 2 events
:) i coming out with a vengence

i just hope this course is not an extremly fast one like last time lol i prefer the 1st h2h we had ( the fun one) that course was SWEET!!!!!!!!!! nice fast short bursts of speed to finish into a salom and den into the box. that was proably the best course i ever ran, mind u it was probably to short for actual competition.

kirk try yuh best and doh plot them wicked hard steep corners on the blasted gravel again nah :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: pressure yes, time slike this i wished i had abs haha or even rear brakes to help me stop lol

Mr. Fixables

Hints on Solodex 5

Postby Mr. Fixables » August 17th, 2005, 6:26 pm

Ha! we all want to know, don't we?

MadCrix, you will be thrilled to know that this is a more technical course than the last one. This is no power course, so get your racing lines ready.

Faster cars will not have much of an advantage on this one.

That's all for now folks.

Kirk

venum

Postby venum » August 17th, 2005, 8:11 pm

no scene Crix

ah go vibes yuh when i get there

appreciate the hospitality

btw how I reaching Arima Race club?

gimme some directions nah cuz I ent alll that familiar with the East

and meh gyul does ask fuh directions, just we does cyar follow it :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 17th, 2005, 9:18 pm

need a place to practice b4 coming to embarrass mehself.............

venum

Postby venum » August 17th, 2005, 10:55 pm

^^^ Doh study it dude

yuh might have comany when it come to embarassment

(me and me gyul)

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 18th, 2005, 8:50 am

vega, come practise at dex, it is a safe environment

venum

pass piarco

keep driving till u see santa rosa horse racing club on the right

take that traffic light

turn right at the light.

drive to the 1st road on teh right

turn in that and drive, u should pass the stables on teh left and the horse track on teh right

drive pass all that and u go see we ahead in the car park.

KIRK TRY YUH BEST AND HAVE FOOD NAH!!! man does be hungry and some fries go go down nice lol

Mr. Fixables

Food

Postby Mr. Fixables » August 18th, 2005, 9:08 am

Trying to confirm the food thing by Tomorrow, will update as I know.

Kirk