Painting Tailights Black

§ephiroth

Painting Tailights Black

Postby §ephiroth » March 24th, 2006, 8:47 pm

Is this illegal??

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » March 24th, 2006, 8:58 pm

I dont know but i think that dont make sense.Some people paint the lights black and you cant see it clearly when lit or the reflector can't be seen.There is a special product to use when doing it.You'll have to search for it

kareem

Postby kareem » March 24th, 2006, 11:21 pm

well is called somkeing the lights and i not shure if it illagal but i know the 3rd gen rx 7 does come with them. u have to mix ah lil black with clear ans spray over your light till u like find ah shade u like :twisted: :mrgreen:

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » March 25th, 2006, 12:09 am

Yeh I heard about the special thing to coat it with, but in my case with our car sometimes when direct sun hits the tail light you don't see squat when u mash brakes. And I just find it looks reallll kool

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 25th, 2006, 3:34 am

Yes it is illegal.

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » March 25th, 2006, 7:42 am

i always thought people used to drop some tint on the lights :lol: :oops:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » March 25th, 2006, 11:18 am

^Nah, won't stick over the curves of the light.

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » March 25th, 2006, 12:36 pm

zodiaque wrote:^Nah, won't stick over the curves of the light.

hmm.. interesting.. not even if u remove the lights from the car before putting on the tint? that way u cud apply it better on the edges etc..

always mentally pictured that to be the procedure

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » March 25th, 2006, 1:42 pm

I have seen some ppl try that, with success in some cases and in some it just look nasty. I think you would have to heat the tint to bend it around corners. This technique may not work on lights with complex curves as the top of the rear light in lancers like ours where one curbve meets another. At that point your would have to cut and carefully fit two edges of tint together. The easier thing to do is the clear coat with black paint pigment if you realy want that look.

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » March 25th, 2006, 6:16 pm

hmm.. u wanna practice on my lights ah wha :lol:

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » March 25th, 2006, 11:17 pm

So what will be the charge??

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » March 26th, 2006, 12:42 am

I heard people use the tint and heat gun method for the curves. But, there is a product called Night Shades for this sort of application. No one down here sells it, it tints the lights enough and still allows for the light to penetrate. Excellent stuff.

http://www.caswellplating.com/vht/vht_spec.htm

Rx

Postby Rx » March 26th, 2006, 10:02 am

looks good until some drive hit you from behind :evil:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » March 26th, 2006, 11:02 am

^Too true, the ammount of cars I see with this and their lights barely visible in daylight.