The magic of the 70s

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » June 12th, 2008, 10:38 am

^u supposed to have some pics from wallerfield, any chance of locating them?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » June 16th, 2008, 10:07 pm

You know I had some 8mm movies I took of racing back then, but it some how got lost over time, I wish I could get it back.

Those movies were priceless, we had a lil lime and showed it to Desmond once. Would be nice to do the same again with the interested fans and aficionados. I will have to turn my house upside down to look for them.

I had some nice movies of Brodie's Space frame Lotus Elan, probably the fastest car to ever race in Trinidad.

dsrarch

Postby dsrarch » October 23rd, 2008, 1:19 am

Aye what about Zianool Mohammed with his MG midget?
He son does buss up 2wd Rallying - Rezan Mohammed

Postby wagonrunner » October 23rd, 2008, 5:59 am

somebody remind me about this later tonight please.
i'll continue with the pics

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 23rd, 2008, 9:03 am

dsrarch wrote:Aye what about Zianool Mohammed with his MG midget?
He son does buss up 2wd Rallying - Rezan Mohammed

Rezan is his son?? Wow!

We had a nickname for Zainool, it was sliders, because used to always be sliding off on a corner somewhere.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 24th, 2008, 1:26 am

I can't believe that I'm seeing this for the first time today!!!

Excellent thread Gordon.

wagonrunner DON'T FOR GET THE PICS!!!

When I reach home I'll see if pops has anything worth throwing up.

Postby wagonrunner » October 24th, 2008, 6:29 pm

Rallyfignis,
not around this weekend. but will continue from monday night.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 25th, 2008, 1:18 pm

Noice, rally this weekend eh yuh lucky bastards!

Postby MG Man » November 23rd, 2008, 1:24 am

omg omg omg omg
my dad's old car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

he bought it from eggy
by the time he was through with it, it had a Blydenstein Stage 4R racing head on the 2279cc block
I was about 4 when they used to be working on the car in the garage. Iever time it fired up I used to run under the table cuz it was so loud :lol:

the less said about this car when he sold it, the better :evil:
Even back then I can still remember when they came and took the car away :(

at one point it was black with castrol stripes over the top, front to back, off to one side, and a big Vauxhall Griffin logo on the racing number square

at least he bought the HSR with the money

Postby MG Man » January 18th, 2009, 10:18 pm

This is PN848 when it was green with a matte black bonnet

Then with the BMW / Castrol paint scheme dad saw in a Corbeau brochure (still have the brochure but would rather have the car :( )

Postby wagonrunner » January 18th, 2009, 11:07 pm

*need to remember to continue this.*

Postby wagonrunner » February 5th, 2009, 5:33 pm

Frankie 3

Frankie3_1

Frankie 4

Frankie 5

Frankie 5_1

Frankie 6_1

Frankie 7

Frankie 7_1

Frankie 10
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » February 5th, 2009, 5:45 pm

Frankie 13.jpg
Frankie, Cheekes, Miller 1.jpg
Frankie, Gonsalves & Wing Quan 1.jpg
Friswell.jpg
Friswell, Gonsalves & Kerr 1.jpg
Friswell, Gonsalves, Kerr - Group 4 starting grid.jpg
Friswell, Kerr & Gonsalves 1.jpg
From Clipboard.jpg
Getting ready in pits - Gonsalves & March.jpg
Gillmore & Boodram at hairpin (1).jpg
Giardian clipping - Guyana Nov 77 (1).jpg
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby wagonrunner » February 5th, 2009, 5:53 pm

Gilmore and Frankie 1

Gillmore & Frankie 2

Gillmore & Frankie 3

Gonsalves (1)

Gonsalves (1)_1

Gonsalves (2)

Gonsalves (3)
Gonsalves (3)_1
Last edited by wagonrunner on February 27th, 2018, 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » February 5th, 2009, 8:48 pm

what..............no Brian Ibrahim?????????

Postby wagonrunner » February 6th, 2009, 6:30 am

MG Man wrote:what..............no Brian Ibrahim?????????

if thats in the section, Ibrahim in guyana, then yes, and that will be posted in time.

mutters to self, you will think a fella who drives euros has mastered the art of patience, the amt of time those cars spend repairing.............................

:poke: :lol: :lol:
patience sahib, patience.

Postby MG Man » February 6th, 2009, 3:20 pm

Ibrahim also raced the Firenza @ wallers
any photos from when they raced Lotus Super Sevens through the hangar at Chaguaramas?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 6th, 2009, 10:23 pm

Damn.....thats a nice collection of photos.

Nice to see Desmond's famous black escort again, wow.

Those bring back awesome memories for me, I most likely was there somewhere in the crowd when all those pictures were taken.
Wow .......unbelievable.
Great job man.....where'd you get all dem pics???

Wow the famous Janspeed Datsun.....there was a guy from Holland who was trying to track down that car, he emailed me a couple of times.
You guys are bringing tears to my eyes man.......I know, i'm sick.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 6th, 2009, 10:32 pm

That was the famous Irishman, Alec Poole behind the wheel of that Datsun...for you young guys who only know about EVOs and Subarus, Google Alec Poole, you will find out who he was.

Its interesting to see what he is doing today...

http://www.tourbritannia.com/whoarewe.htm

djaggs

Postby djaggs » February 6th, 2009, 10:57 pm

LOL, the newpaper clipping is a nice touch....those greasy fingerprints says a lot...I imagine they were put there back in 1977???

I wonder whose they were?

Postby wagonrunner » February 6th, 2009, 11:56 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Posting these photos from a CD Gordon (Gonzalves) compiled a while ago. Hope you guys enjoy, and i will try to up the entire CD

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 27th, 2009, 12:48 pm

most inspiring post for the year so far!

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » October 17th, 2009, 7:03 pm

where are these cars now , do any of you guys here know where they have ended up ? link , mgman ,rjaggs anyone

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2009, 8:05 am

Bob Howlings' Opel was abandoned at the side of the road in St Augustine....some piper / failed straightener claimed it as his own.....it's gone now :?

Eggy's old Viva GT was reportedly rotted to oblivion
Brian Ibrahim's Firenza languished for years, butchered for a V8.....I think it was eventually scrapped
There are still a few Mallock U2 chassis around

I would love to now where all the old Formula cars ended up :|

Postby MG Man » October 20th, 2009, 8:10 am

whose Firenza is this?????????????

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » October 20th, 2009, 8:57 pm

and the escorts ? :D

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2009, 9:19 pm

escorts don't count...........sorry :mrgreen:

Re: The magic of the 70s

Postby SMc » November 7th, 2010, 2:49 pm

brilliant...all I have to say

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 13th, 2010, 10:54 pm

I know that Wayne Persad has been working on restoring one of the single seaters at his garage in South - practically completed a year or more ago....

Sad that so many of these machines were literally left by the wayside to disintegrate...

Postby wagonrunner » November 14th, 2010, 12:50 am

some people took copies of the CD and were supposed to help with this............. :| sigh.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage