The magic of the 70s

djaggs

Re: The magic of the 70s

Postby djaggs » November 21st, 2011, 1:39 pm

Great pics Gordon. Those were great days. I was just a young kid back then, probably early teens and Iwas so awestruck by the Moodie brothers. That Mazda was something fierce....and we werent really big fans of the RX, so you could imagine how dumbstruck we were by its speed. I seem to remember Peter came with another Rotary powered car in a really small light shell later on, that one was really quick too.

That was the first time I ever saw fire spitting from a race car's exhaust.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » November 21st, 2011, 11:49 pm

Thanks for the memories that,will always be with me.Those were great days of racing.The first time I came to Waller Field,we passed to visit some family on the Waller Field compound.Then we came to the eastern side of the circuit.There was a very large crowd at that point and they were all into the racing. Most were cheering on the Bread Van,some others the Rustop Datsun.I loved how the Mini's out cornered them all.Again thanks for the memories, continue posting pictures of OUR GREAT,RICH RACING HISTORY.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » November 21st, 2011, 11:55 pm

That was the Cherry Bomb, Mazda something,5 speed gated manual transmission. He was shifting like no one I'VE ever heard and never dropping those revs. Impressive.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 22nd, 2011, 8:48 am

roadracer7 wrote:That was the Cherry Bomb, Mazda something,5 speed gated manual transmission. He was shifting like no one I'VE ever heard and never dropping those revs. Impressive.

Yes ure right, I remember he got a sponsorship from Dunlop here, but had Goodyears on the car so he painted them over in yellow. Its funny, the kinda details you remember.

Postby MG Man » December 10th, 2011, 11:26 pm

the brown Avenger was my dad's..very nice car

Re:

Postby MG Man » December 10th, 2011, 11:33 pm

MG Man wrote:Image

any more pics of this?

Postby wagonrunner » December 11th, 2011, 12:11 am

wagonrunner wrote:right. that's all from that folder.

think that's it for what i've got.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 22nd, 2011, 11:22 am

anybody remember Peter Easton. many years ago i had the pleasure of speaking with him about his days on the Waller Field Circuit & i happened to notice a picture on the wall in his office of a car airborne to what looked like the north stands. he said that it was the photo his car on the day of his crash at waller field. he also mentioned that a photographer sent him this shot of his car flying. does anybody have any pics of that event or of Mr Easton's car.

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » December 22nd, 2011, 12:50 pm

roadracer7 wrote:anybody remember Peter Easton. many years ago i had the pleasure of speaking with him about his days on the Waller Field Circuit & i happened to notice a picture on the wall in his office of a car airborne to what looked like the north stands. he said that it was the photo his car on the day of his crash at waller field. he also mentioned that a photographer sent him this shot of his car flying. does anybody have any pics of that event or of Mr Easton's car.

You mean this one?

Gordon

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 22nd, 2011, 6:54 pm

that's the picture. by the way are you the photographer that sent Mr. Easton that picture.

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » December 22nd, 2011, 9:31 pm

roadracer7 wrote:that's the picture. by the way are you the photographer that sent Mr. Easton that picture.

I'm not a photographer, but rather, a collector of photos and an ex-driver (well maybe not totally "ex"... while I'm alive and can still drive, who knows... maybe one day I'll do some competitive driving again). Actually, I'm driving several of the cars pictured here. I was also the instructor who took Peter Easton out on his first day at race-driving school (in his Mini, as I recall).

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 22nd, 2011, 11:44 pm

you're right , you can't be an ex driver. some like to drive then there are some with that special something,that puts them ahead .i may have seen you drive ,but i know that once a racing driver always a racing driver.thank you for the memories that you collected and are showing us today. God Bless You.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » January 11th, 2012, 1:59 pm

any pics of the event when there were 3 Porsches [pink,green,white] a red 1 gen rx7 and 2 chevy monzas with injected v8 engines. and any pics of the cherrybomb of the moody bros..

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » February 21st, 2012, 10:46 am

when will we see a real circuit race in T&T?
IS THERE A SANDO GRAN PRIX CARDED FOR 2012 ?

Postby MG Man » February 21st, 2012, 11:25 am

depends on support, I guess
The last one cost the organizer a lot more money than people would imagine.....and by organizer we not talkin TTASA here eh

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » February 21st, 2012, 11:49 am

i thought they said it would be a yearly event, but as usual trini is all talk an no walk.

Postby MG Man » February 21st, 2012, 12:04 pm

but......but............the man put off an event...how is that talk and no walk????????
I challenge you to raise a cool 1 mil and hold such an event......

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » February 21st, 2012, 12:43 pm

I REST

rampie4u

Postby rampie4u » May 28th, 2012, 1:23 pm

I like I like ... those were d days ... when yuh get up early and cook and d whole family go down wallerfield or as some would say 'watterfield' ... I miss those days .... I didnt go much in the 70s cause dats when I was born but barely remember the 80s and yeah I know the 90s ... well and its all over now ... Imagine i had to go to GT last year to get some circuit action .. and the one Trini team there broke down .. so sad ... I car i liked is Chen's Lotus ... any pics of that ? when that woking good .. few cars could have passed it eh .... !!! so wha we go do ? when we go see circuit action in TT again ... probably i eh reading enough ..but is ANil doing anything > Whaaa !!!

JagBenLigArr

Postby JagBenLigArr » May 31st, 2012, 6:54 am

Gordon, I saw you race back then and thanks for the memories! Great thread! Peter Easton was a client of mine, I saw his crash at WF and helped him rebuild Shotgun which is when it turned black. Think he bought it from Graham Goode here in the UK. Peter always felt 'Gun didn't pull as strongly as Geese but had a stronger top end. He did acknowledge Frankie could drive tho'.

All you guys inspired this old Trini to successfully target pro motorsport in the UK and I ended up being a part of teams competing in WSPC, WSC, IMSA, BTCC, F3, F1, V8 Supercars, AJSPC, etc in the 80's, 90's and 00's. I am happy to PM with any one interested. Would like to get back in touch with DWQ, Peter Easton and Shaffi M.
All the best! 8-)

Postby MG Man » May 31st, 2012, 8:41 am

interesting username.............Jaguar Bentley Ligier Arrows?

JagBenLigArr

Postby JagBenLigArr » June 12th, 2012, 6:55 am

Good attempt - only 1 wrong! Ben = Benetton. Bentley came along in 1999 well after the Jaguar LM effort came to an end. Only user name I could come up with at that time of day! Looked after the contractual stuff for all these teams and more besides during '84 to '03. Slightly different environment compared to standing on the top corner bank at Wallerfield but the thrills are the same. PE's accident in Shotgun photo looks like a practice run by Allan McNish at LM last year! Am off to LM tomorrow! Should be interesting in the rain!

Postby MG Man » July 24th, 2013, 11:43 am

ever met John Cleland?

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 24th, 2013, 12:00 pm

MG Man wrote:ever met John Cleland?

Yes I did. He was involved in the Courtesy Car Club (CCC) back in he early '70s. I remember him being part of the first 500 mile rally I ever took part in - as navigator for Simon Gillmore in the car that eventually became ZMMA. Gregory Solis was the third person in the car (keeping track of the mileage in the days before in-car rally computers). I have a pic of us leaving the start of the rally somewhere about.

Postby MG Man » July 24th, 2013, 12:36 pm

the same John Cleland who drove for Vauxhall in BTCC?
O_O

http://www.johncleland.net/cleland.htm

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 24th, 2013, 1:07 pm

Nah... has to be a different one. I was wondering where you knew of the one I was referring to! I believe his name was spelt Clelland, but I may be wrong.

Postby wagonrunner » July 24th, 2013, 1:17 pm

allyuh does make tuner worthwhile yunno.

some of us could only hope and work towards having stories like these to tell

ggonsalves

Postby ggonsalves » July 24th, 2013, 1:27 pm

Don't know whether you saw this post:

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=515385&p=7245205#p7245205

Postby wagonrunner » July 24th, 2013, 1:56 pm

thanks much. dunno how i missed it.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 12th, 2013, 12:15 am

just got a headache going through this thread again...wagonrunner....simply WOW!....memories on me being on my dads shoulder at the bottom hairpin turn watching these races growing up....

..used to look forward to seeing these cars on the trailers going home on a Sunday...many times sharing road space with the Horse trailers coming from Santa Rosa Park...

wow...