So I have evidence now!

zodiaque
CARS Member

So I have evidence now!

Postby zodiaque » July 29th, 2006, 12:09 am

1400 lancers with stock suspensions can drift! sort of.

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 29th, 2006, 1:48 am

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

plex

Postby plex » July 29th, 2006, 7:17 am

nice....

sinners-bliss

Postby sinners-bliss » July 29th, 2006, 11:41 am

lawddd :lol:

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » July 29th, 2006, 5:18 pm

that's too much wishfull thinking , more look like a slide till a spin out

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 29th, 2006, 5:57 pm

zodiaque, south ppl only dread :mrgreen:
cuz we bad like that.
it looking sweet. :twisted:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » July 29th, 2006, 6:16 pm

smokey1275 wrote:that's too much wishfull thinking , more look like a slide till a spin out

Nope, that was in the drift competition at Lunch at dex, that's what it looked like around a hairpin turn at the top of the course.

Postby wagonrunner » July 30th, 2006, 12:49 pm

smokey1275 wrote:that's too much wishfull thinking , more look like a slide till a spin out

you was there? :evil:

zodi did actually drift the car for quite a few corners. stock / old / soft supsesion doesnt let him sustain / control them easily though

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2006, 1:29 pm

need some advice on some drifting stuff.........
when a Formula D car hangs it out on the course but then the driver overcooks it and the car spins, was it a drift, or a slide till a spin out?

How is a slide different from a drift?

The trail of dust behind Zodi's car, its attitude on the track and the amount of opposite lock tells it all.....

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » July 30th, 2006, 1:30 pm

^^Fer real wagon, she have some nice power considering it's a small carbed NA engine, but getting that power down to the floor consistently and smoothly around corners not easy with the soft suspension.
Kinda handles as if it riding on Jello suspension :lol. As seen from the pics plenty diving going on.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 30th, 2006, 2:05 pm

in that top pic, u seeing how close the back of the front fender is to the ground? :shock:
time to loose some weight, or stiffen up them springs. :lol:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » July 30th, 2006, 11:03 pm

It's the springs up front, they realy soft/tired. the front suspension is the main handling problem right now. Also, some gas shocks will help, I have oil up in front, could not get gas.

The rear sits pretty stable, I have gas shocks there.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 31st, 2006, 5:45 am

geh orn dey Z........ dem side panels musbe hate yuh arse like dat jed!!!!!! :lol:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » July 31st, 2006, 5:11 pm

^lol, they not touching the ground, thank goodness, but they getting a heavy spray of rubber and gravel :lol:

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » July 31st, 2006, 6:26 pm

zodiaque wrote:^lol, they not touching the ground, thank goodness, but they getting a heavy spray of rubber and gravel :lol:

when next you go to do body work , you can reinforce the body via some good stitch welding of it at the seams , further more koni has front coil overs for your car , save the money and by a set , if not , there is always the universal spring application., get creative about the handling with your car if you are to go up in performance . there a guy with an 850 cc mini in the club with bone stock suspension , howvere even though its good, a mini still leans a tad bit , that's why we have sought the development of some goodies to allow us to handle a little better .

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » August 4th, 2006, 4:21 pm

zodiaque wrote:

Nope, that was in the drift competition at Lunch at dex, that's what it looked like around a hairpin turn at the top of the course.

zodi y u even botherin 2 xplain 2 dis mofo...

i doh no y he doh mine his own biz ness an stfu bout stuff he doh no bout...
sheit...

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » August 4th, 2006, 6:26 pm

kaycee151 wrote:
zodiaque wrote:

zodi y u even botherin 2 xplain 2 dis mofo...

i doh no y he doh mine his own biz ness an stfu bout stuff he doh no bout...
sheit...

do you wish to explain yourself or do you need a lesson in road holding , let the good vibe roll on the forum nah , but wait ent you are fwd as well ???? you can't drift either

venum

Postby venum » August 5th, 2006, 9:36 pm

^^^ :roll:

Zodi doing it the way he know how

well done TME brother

RWD Lancer drifting on stock specs

4G12 powa :!: :!: :!:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 14th, 2006, 12:14 am

^Werd 0X

That is where "drifting" started, stock rwd cars 1600cc and below, with cut springs basically. I most likely won't cut my springs, looking for a good stiffening allternative to that.

Postby wagonrunner » August 14th, 2006, 10:23 am

smokey1275 wrote:do you wish to explain yourself or do you need a lesson in road holding , let the good vibe roll on the forum nah , but wait ent you are fwd as well ???? you can't drift either

^^^^
the trash heap has spoken! NYAHHHH!!!

good vibe, man you take so much pot shots, and make so many false boasts, that people tolerance levels of you at an all time low. come nah man, if u dont like being challenged, stop challenging others

Postby MG Man » August 14th, 2006, 12:05 pm

Zodiaque u have that driftin thing wrong eh
Drifting was invented by guys driving Minis. When Sir Alec Issigonis invented the Mini, he engineered special drifting geometry into the suspension. However, only specially gifted drivers could set the mini up to drift. Tsuchia spent years in the UK spying on secret tests of the Mini undergoing intensive drifting. In fact, the original Corolla drift legend was really a MIni in disguise. In a recent interview, Rhys Millen attributed all his drifting talent to the use of rubber cone suspension. Rhys was quoted as saying
"man those Ohlins adjustable dampers with remote resivoir and eibach springs are really awful. The car would just understeer and I was on the verge of calling it a day. But then I read on the internet about these amazing minis and their incredible handling YO. So I called up a friend and he got me some premium grade rubber cone suspension, and its been victiry after victory ever since! I can't wait to get some 165 65R10s for the Solstice!!!!!"
In fact, Formula D, WRC and F1 have recently BANNED minis from competition because the cars simply dominated those categories. Ferrari threatened to leave F1 if they lost another race to the superior handling Mini. Ralliart have been desperately trying to get the Mini Club to offer advice on how to make their Lancer Evolution handle as well as a stock 850.....The Evos are consistently outhandled on Europe's challenging forest stages by a plethora of superior Minis.
Even the original box lancer was engineered to have a 1275cc trannsverse engine mounted on top of the gearbox for superior weight transfer, but the spies from Japan who stole the Mini desgn read it wrong, and the car was a monumental failure. I mean, who ever heard about a car with driven rear wheels! THose stupid japs. Everyone knows Ayrton Senna never won a race until he had his team install a Mini engine in his F1 car, and put in some rubber cone suspension. After that, he became a legend, all thanks to the superior BMC MIni. Latest news from Europe is that Lotus is rethinking their whole design philosophy. Insiders have reported that if Lotus cannot license the rubber cone suspension, they may stop making cars altogether, since they have consistently failed at building a sportscar that can handle as well as a mini. Gavin Kershaw, head of Handling at Lotus has threatened to resign if he is beaten on track by another Mini.
"They just handle so well! I am at a loss as to how we can raise our game to keep up with those little bastards"

Postby wagonrunner » August 14th, 2006, 5:09 pm

MG Man,
we are not worthy :mrgreen: :lol: :lol:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 14th, 2006, 6:45 pm

^^LOL!!!!

wheys, what does go on in your head there MGman?
I have the flu here and I reading your post, is only like after the second line I realised what you were doing :oops:

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2006, 12:00 pm

Me???
Doing what?????
I sure Smokey have de magazine articles and books to back up my statements. Ent he an John Cooper used to pitch marble wid Alec back in de day?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 15th, 2006, 12:47 pm

oooo gooood! Shot fire! Smokey eh go like this.
*heads for the bomb shelters*

oh wait, never mind, we safe out here :lol:
:drama:

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2006, 4:53 pm

jus doh tell smokey meh car is plastic eh, cuz I it eh go like ah flambo pelt behind it :lol:

MarcusGronholm

Postby MarcusGronholm » August 15th, 2006, 6:23 pm

I need that rubber cone suspension for the next rally!!! MG Man, contact me so that I can have you speak with Norman Smith, my car controller.

http://www.mgr.fi/

venum

Postby venum » August 15th, 2006, 7:21 pm

this just redefines ownage

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 15th, 2006, 7:25 pm

Gronholm in the house too? whey!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
I rolling on the floor here, ouch, meh sides!

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2006, 8:59 pm

MarcusGronholm
BAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHHAAAAAAAAa
Ay Marcus, is really true u switchin to ah 1969 Mini for the 07 seasonso u can WIN a rally???

wheeeeze
koff koff
laaaaaaaaaaaagagagagagagagagagaghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
palpitations
bahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhahahahha
woooooooooooooooahahahahaha
moooooooooo
baaaaaaaaa
gleeeeeeeep
yip yip yip, uh huh, uh huh

whey Banzai, ah need meh Red Top :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: