Congrats CARS

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

De Bench

Congrats CARS

Postby De Bench » November 16th, 2008, 5:42 pm

For the few time I have attended solodex this has been your best course yet.

You got a few rally guys to come out and run their race cars as well as their personal machines.

I am sure if you continue with courses like this more rally teams will participate which will in turn help expose your discipline.

Other notable configuration were at Pier 1, but those days are gone

Postby gt4tified » November 16th, 2008, 8:01 pm

Wait....wait....WAIT! It had Solodex today??? :shock:

WTF....yuh just make a lil trip up de islands and the world passes you by boy?

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 16th, 2008, 8:12 pm

gt4tified wrote:Wait....wait....WAIT! It had Solodex today??? :shock:
WTF....yuh just make a lil trip up de islands and the world passes you by boy?

Ralph, going to Tobago is not considered travelling up the islands, yuh still domestic bro

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 16th, 2008, 9:28 pm

^ take it easy on him, yuh can't see the man sufferin from jet lag? :|

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » November 17th, 2008, 8:13 am

It was nice to see the coming together of the clubs. We hope to see you guys more often.

With regard to the couse design they have been faster lately but normally we have 3 fast and 3 technical courses a year for competition. Also we have 4 BYCC events and i am suggesting we run this same course next year for all BYCC events so we can use this as a benchmark for improvment.

If only it was so easy to step in to stages rallying you might have seen some of us at your events. Oh well if your club ever decides to run tarmac events I am sure some of us will be present.

Postby pete » November 17th, 2008, 8:51 am

Could we run it in the opposite direction as well? Give the right side tyres a little rest?

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 17th, 2008, 8:54 am

TTRC will hopefully be able to run two tarmac events next years plus some stadium events.

While we will love to have you guys run the tarmac stages, TTRC will mandate that your cars be fitted with roll cages, not only for your saftey, but for compliance with the insurance company.

If the format that was run is kept for next year I will return for sure, with a better clutch and tires.

Heck, I will even bring the race car to tweak

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » November 17th, 2008, 9:11 am

will bolt in cages be allowed as they are in Barbados? this could make it cheaper as you can buy bolt in cages from about $500 Us upwards

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 17th, 2008, 10:25 am

saltydog wrote:. Also we have 4 BYCC events and i am suggesting we run this same course next year for all BYCC events so we can use this as a benchmark for improvment.

very cool - I in dat!!!

and in reverse too at times as Pete suggested.

the only thing though is that I've heard TTKA will be changing up their karting course for 2009 utilizing more space inside ARC, moving the pit and spectator area to the southern side by the containers (a control tower will be put on the containers) and the general entrance will be at the south eastern side of ARC and no longer the northern side.

This may actually be even better for Solodex as it was a bit nerve wrecking coming hot out of a corner and facing two 40' containers.

But yes I am all for a fixed course for BYCC.

Perhaps we can "borrow" one of autosport large score boards to display the split time and run time. :idea:

sirbill

Postby sirbill » November 17th, 2008, 11:11 am

As I said in another post, we should strive to utilise as much of ARC as possible. Forget the concept of fast vs. "technical" ,(WTF does technical mean in this context - frustrating?). Within your own class, everyone has the same advantage/disadvantage of fast/"technical" courses, unless you are mis-classed to start with. I am sure everyone in fast and slow cars enjoy these BYCC full length courses over the "technical" championship courses. I am sure it will gather more participation, almost like a mini-wallerfield, from the members of the other clubs.

Full length ARC FTMFW.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 17th, 2008, 11:49 am

it was a bit nerve wrecking coming hot out of a corner and facing two 40' containers.

You found that nerve wrecking??
Imagine what we as rally driver go throught an event with a BIG maco Jump into a corner with a tree on the inside :wink:

Postby wagonrunner » November 17th, 2008, 1:21 pm

De Bench wrote:
it was a bit nerve wrecking coming hot out of a corner and facing two 40' containers.

Imagine what we as rally driver go throught an event with a BIG maco Jump into a corner with a tree on the inside :wink:

when a rally car is fubar'd yuh hop in yuh daily driver and go home.
when yuh fubar yuh daily driver,...................................................... ?

Reyos

Postby Reyos » November 17th, 2008, 1:59 pm

A fixed course for a BYCC would go a long way in developing our driving skills...

There was something I saw yesterday and was very pleased....When we had the course open for practice, at one point in time it had about 6 cars on the course at the same time. They were all doing their own practice and there was a relatively safe distance in between each other. I was with Jodi while he was doing some of his runs while the others were on the course and when he got to close he just slowed down and let the gap open a bit then continued.
At a BYCC most of us are looking for practice, so if for the first half of the day we have the course open like that and then if everyone agrees we can have the timing system in place for the evening session. Plus it may be easier to get a experienced driver to give a better coaching lesson if he can do a few rounds on the track with a novice instead of having to wait so long in between runs.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 17th, 2008, 3:19 pm

De Bench wrote:

What containers?

DEVI

Postby DEVI » November 17th, 2008, 3:56 pm

^^ good pt. Quicksilver....but we will have to limit it to maybe 4 or 5 cars at the same time.

Postby wagonrunner » November 17th, 2008, 4:09 pm

DEVI wrote:^^ good pt. Quicksilver....but we will have to limit it to maybe 4 or 5 cars at the same time.

once the car in front has enough to recover from a spinout, and the car behind can make any adjustment safely.

sirbill

Postby sirbill » November 17th, 2008, 4:28 pm

I agree with this - open practice with 4-5 cars going round for say 5 minutes each, then a next batch. It would really do well for training exercises.

I actually thought we were in this mode also when the course was "opened" again while waiting for John. I must have looked like a track hog until Reyos flagged me off. Sorry :oops: I was wondering why no one else was on :turn-l:

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » November 17th, 2008, 5:26 pm

Actually Bill, Reyos flagged you down because someone wanted a timed run that's all.

It was a great day and I think a course like that should be standardized for BYCC. It's great because it can safely hold multiple drivers at the same time, but a very stern driver briefing must be held before this with strict rules to make sure no one gets carried away, which seems to be very easy for some.

If you play the arse you get black flagged. Simple.

We could look at grouping the cars based on performance and driver ability an sending them off say 10-15 seconds apart :?:

It worked reasonably well yesterday so we can probably try it again.

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » November 17th, 2008, 5:27 pm

things looking bright for next year

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 17th, 2008, 6:29 pm

De Bench wrote:

when yuh fubar yuh daily driver,...................................................... ?

yuh do like ole time dayz bro,
D jeep break down, so ah jump in a taxi....

Postby gt4tified » November 17th, 2008, 10:11 pm

De Bench wrote:

yuh do like ole time dayz bro,
D jeep break down, so ah jump in a taxi....

Let mih know when Benchmark racing starts its Chaguanas to ARC shuttle service then....I'll be ur #1 client!

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » November 18th, 2008, 11:04 am

Hey Quicksilver,

You looking to do a chase like what you, me and Bourne used to do :)

Kirk

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » November 19th, 2008, 7:09 pm

pyromaniak wrote:Actually Bill, Reyos flagged you down because someone wanted a timed run that's all.

It was a great day and I think a course like that should be standardized for BYCC. It's great because it can safely hold multiple drivers at the same time, but a very stern driver briefing must be held before this with strict rules to make sure no one gets carried away, which seems to be very easy for some.

If you play the arse you get black flagged. Simple.

We could look at grouping the cars based on performance and driver ability an sending them off say 10-15 seconds apart :?:

It worked reasonably well yesterday so we can probably try it again.

sry bill .. that was prolly me.. wanted to see the time to gauge how i was doing..

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”