Some possible rule changes for 2007
Posted: November 10th, 2006, 5:25 pm
by Mr. Fixables
Even though I will probably win the SS class for 2006. I find it unfair that I should win due to attending more briefings/meetings than my fellow competitiors.
In 2005, the briefings served no appreciable purpose and was never factored in the points, nor was any motivational tactics used to promote attendance. We saw no negative consequences resulting from our policy change.
Racing and championships should be determined by the driver/machine combination not meetings.
I know it is too late to change the rules for 2006, but I urge the upcoming executive to remove this rule so that championships can be determined by track merit. Many drivers have proven their superiority during the year, but will not win their respective classes due to meeting exclusions.
Fair? I think not!!
Kirk
Posted: November 10th, 2006, 5:36 pm
by wagonrunner
Kirk,
I agree that it is unfair that the meeting points are a factor in the scheme of championship but to say........" the briefings served no appreciable purpose"
1) those meetings allowed for the course outline to be made available, which allowed for course debate / opinions / alterations. rather than on the day, that extra hr being required.
yes that can be done online, however there are the few who do not check email or forums regularly.
2) allow for pre-registration of competitiors, which can take some time on the day.
again, the argument for that to be done "online" bears the same constraints.
3) allowed the executive a "float" of registrants funds, which is accounted for.
so the problem lies, how do we get persons to attend dex breifings?
personally the $25 was not enough considering my mileage and where i come from, also in the new year, that is included in my membership fee.
So i ask for the other dexers input............including
the neccesity / requirement of having those meetings?
what incentives should be used / given to those willing to sacrifice time / gas / etc to attend?
Posted: November 10th, 2006, 6:54 pm
by MG Man
more points should be awarded for marshalling, even cumulative points for every successive time you marshall.....cuz the announcers alwaiys beggin for marshalls
Posted: November 10th, 2006, 7:19 pm
by Ignorant Ignis
i like were this coversation is headed....please carry on....
by the way ..i agree with karl....getting regs and course faults out of the way before the morning saves alot of time and effort that could be spent doing something more productive.......and the only way to get ppl to come would be by offering an incentive.
Posted: November 10th, 2006, 7:51 pm
by SR
MG Man wrote:more points should be awarded for marshalling, even cumulative points for every successive time you marshall.....cuz the announcers alwaiys beggin for marshalls
look your aswer there
it is not always possible for people to meet at valpark for 7pm
Posted: November 11th, 2006, 1:14 am
by MG Man
^^^^ditto
it hard enuff gettin man passport stamp for de weekend (saturday to fix cyar)......thats y I does jus pass in early and pay and leave. I does feel sorry for Zodi...........ol cars not 100% reliable, and to be pullin ah drive down de hiway at 8pm is not alwayts nice in an older car.....plus when man job doh pay much, ah 60 in gas for ah briefin rough eh ppl.....some of us very lucky in that regard.............
Posted: November 11th, 2006, 1:00 pm
by saltydog
I agree with Kirk about the points for briefing. maybe Karl as our new head of solodex you could look at some sort on on-line registration to speed up things - it could work if managed properly and the drivers are diligent enough. The entries on the day are tough enough so pre-registration is a must.
Lets hear some more ideas....
Posted: November 11th, 2006, 3:15 pm
by wagonrunner
doing the online registration, and publication of course is very possible.
the collection of monies would be the only headache on the day, but other than some consumption of time, it hopefully won't be much more on the workload.
keep the suggestions coming.
Posted: November 11th, 2006, 6:27 pm
by Ignorant Ignis
MG Man wrote:^^^^ditto
it hard enuff gettin man passport stamp for de weekend (saturday to fix cyar)......thats y I does jus pass in early and pay and leave. I does feel sorry for Zodi...........ol cars not 100% reliable, and to be pullin ah drive down de hiway at 8pm is not alwayts nice in an older car.....plus when man job doh pay much, ah 60 in gas for ah briefin rough eh ppl.....some of us very lucky in that regard.............
u need to move out from icacas

Posted: November 11th, 2006, 6:36 pm
by wagonrunner
Ignorant Ignis wrote:u need to move out from icacas

you need to drive 20minutes past san fernando, then go valpark, and go head back to south, and tell us how economic VVT-I really is.

Posted: November 11th, 2006, 10:12 pm
by Mr. Fixables
Sorting out the problems with the course etc is fine, but is it necessary to penalize a consistent winner should he not be available to attend meetings. If so, I'm sure that many scientists should be given the Noble Peace Prize for motivation and not Merit.
People, this is racing, not classroom ethics 101.
Please get this right. What this means is that someone who wins with a 80.0 sec run vs a person who does a 87.99 sec run, but attends the briefing should be crowned points leader.
Is this how we judge winners in racing? How about bonus points awarded for:
Not hitting any cones for the event.
Competing in all 6 events for the the year.
No DNF's etc.
Please clarify!!
Kirk
Posted: November 11th, 2006, 10:42 pm
by saltydog
well Kirk we all agree on this point already that is why Karl is asking for solutions. We need pre registrations to speed up the event on the day and we also like to get feedback from competitors outside of race day, after all this is a club. That being said the points for briefing will most likely be scrapped but and alternative needs to be found.
Karl, the money on the day is not the problem, it is the registrations in the computer and the paperwork that slows us down. lets start sending the course and a reg form to everyone 4 days before an event and see the feedback. ask everyone to guve an e-mail address at the next event
Posted: November 11th, 2006, 10:54 pm
by Mr. Fixables
I'm sorry to repeat.
The solution should be that the briefings should be incentive enough to attend for those who want to see the course and make any suggestions.
But other than that, what are the true benefits to attending a briefing? By that, I am asking what is the true motivational factor (other than points) to attend? Is there some information being given at a briefing which is not otherwise available? Is there some competitive advantage to seeing the course before hand? Maybe a copy of the course should NOT be made available on Trinituner.com to motivate the racers who deem it beneficial to see the course before hand to attend.
My intention is not to rip on the current executive (as we were also under intense scrutiny during our tenure), but instead get the policies right.
Kirk
Posted: November 12th, 2006, 8:12 am
by SR
i ahve some suggestions but will bring them up at your next meeting as its too late for the 2006 season but can be considered for the 2007 season
as sponsor for the honda class series we have some suggestions as well that should be beneficial to both us and cars
marketing of solodex needs some vtec
the rest of the managent etc seems to be going ok
of late i have noticed course designs geared towards faster cars rather than dexterity
there needs to be a balance on the course design from the ss and higher brackets with the rst of te lower barckets
i have also noticed that inspection of vehicles done on the day is not as stringent as it use to be from the inception of dex
being one of the original people involved in solodex i have found that the standard of inspection has dropped as to the worhtiness of the vehicle being allowed on the track
when last has a handbrakes test been done?????
but again i stress on marketing
i am sure with narend on board someone can get an article on what solodex is all about in the next issue of zorce
somting educational
also laise with autosport with regard to getting 1 set of the stands that they use from wallerfield
it will give the viewing public a better look at the course and how the drivers do
Posted: November 12th, 2006, 8:26 am
by MG Man
SR wrote:when last has a handbrakes test been done?????
I can assure you that we do infact execute handbrake tests at scrutineering. There may have been instances where it may have been overlooked, but I assure you, those cases are few and far between. But coming form someone who is always present at dex events, especially from early in the day, I take your recommendation:!:
Posted: November 12th, 2006, 8:32 am
by MG Man
Ignorant Ignis wrote:MG Man wrote:^^^^ditto
u need to move out from icacas

I am not speaking for myself. I live in Curepe. Keep in mind, my friend, not everyone who competes has a permanent job. Some of us may not feel the effect of spending upwards of $150 for an event (fees, gas, lunch, repairs etc), but it is difficult for others. I suggest you think before making such comments
Posted: November 13th, 2006, 8:23 am
by sirbill
I agree with Kirk and MG - lose the briefing meeting.
In Autocross, you are not supposed to get a map of the course until the day of the event, which is why you are encouraged to walk the course to figure it all out on the day. So take that away from the briefing meeting, and then what's left? Registration?
It is time to impose some enforced rules on racers. If you say race registration is between 9am - 10am on the morning, you should (if using the software properly) have enough time to register everyone, collect their monies and scrutinize by a race start at 11am. Those who come (to the registration desk!) at 10:01am or later to register get to be spectators. And if they are in the championship, they feel it and make a better effort next time to get there on time.
I also believe that the SoloDex committee should not be involved in competition as racers. That way, they can test their course designs to their hearts' content to make sure it is a fair, fun and readable course. This used to be the case at one time. It is one thing to see a course on paper, but until you drive it you wouldn't know if it is too tight, too fast etc. Also, fair play cannot be questioned if they are not racing.
That said, I would like to offer my help in any of these areas for next year (course design, testing, registration, setup etc.) should it be required.
SB
Posted: November 13th, 2006, 8:39 am
by Yorkshirelass
Thanks for your offer Bill and we will be taking you up on it! All these issues will be ironed out by the 2007 executive. It was decided at the beginning of 2006 that we would continue the briefings so we stuck with it for the year. It does help to bring in the money to pay for the stuff on the day like DJ, security, Ambulance and clean up crew for ARC. It is just easier to have that cash in hand before. If we can run a little more efficiently on the day then yes, online registration can work, with monies collected on the day being put aside to pay these bills. I guess we have lots to talk about at our 1st exec meeting
Posted: November 13th, 2006, 10:59 am
by wagonrunner
SR wrote:when last has a handbrakes test been done?????
when last were you present for scrutineering?

Posted: November 19th, 2006, 1:46 am
by GreaseMonkey
first of all , congrats to Karl on his position , secondly , I totally agree with Fixables , although I was present for every meeting and was first to arrive to the event and the last to leave, not everyone has that flexability in the lifestyle , but racers should not be peanalised for points if they cant make meetings , but anyways with Karl as the new head I am confident that the right thing would be done , and also Karl , if you need any advice , feel free to contact me or Fixables , until next time............
Posted: November 19th, 2006, 11:23 pm
by wagonrunner
thanks for the vote of confidence, and your pledge to help. Shaun