So when a Solodex gets cancelled....

Posted: May 20th, 2007, 1:21 am
by X2
What is the possibility of having the lot available for a less organised event ?

Driving practice... slalom testing... something... I know this might be more complex of a question to answer than I'm making it seem... but I am just wondering.

Some of us need a testing ground... maybe no need to clip 60mph or anything... but be it drifting or straightening out a new suspension or brake setup.... can anything be organised ?

Posted: May 20th, 2007, 9:44 am
by flatline
i agree that some of us need a testing ground ASAP :(

However, what about the persons who think of it as an uncontrolled event and come out to do their wildness. This would create a bad name for the club in the process, and possibly cause loss of use of the grounds. Just my worst case scenario of the few that show up out of nowhere in an attempt to have their own brand of fun and spoil it for others.

I wouldn't mind if a testing event occurs via email to the club only and regular participants, nor would i mind paying more to offset the use of the facilities for that day :!:

Posted: May 20th, 2007, 10:43 am
by saltydog
well if CARS do not use the lot and it is free you can approach TTKA and pay the $3000.00 for use of the car park for the day. Somehow I dont think this is what you were hoping for.

Posted: May 20th, 2007, 11:20 am
by Rudman
^^$3000!!.....Damn!!.... :shock:

That's at least 25 people paying their dues on any given dex day! And we ent talking about tent rentals.

It supprises me how CARS was able to have money left over last year in the coffers.

Posted: May 20th, 2007, 6:25 pm
by X2
saltydog wrote:well if CARS do not use the lot and it is free you can approach TTKA and pay the $3000.00 for use of the car park for the day. Somehow I dont think this is what you were hoping for.

ah... but you obviously don't know what I'm hoping for.

Info is what I am hoping for... and u just gave me some. $3000 is paid for what exactly... just the permission ? Does that give you rights to refuse admission ?

Posted: May 21st, 2007, 7:56 am
by Ignorant Ignis
Rudman wrote:^^$3000!!.....Damn!!.... :shock:

That's at least 25 people paying their dues on any given dex day! And we ent talking about tent rentals.

It supprises me how CARS was able to have money left over last year in the coffers.

they had really good committee members last year :wink: :wink:

and they do again this year :D

Posted: May 21st, 2007, 9:43 am
by Cherubin
X2 wrote:
saltydog wrote:well if CARS do not use the lot and it is free you can approach TTKA and pay the $3000.00 for use of the car park for the day. Somehow I dont think this is what you were hoping for.

ah... but you obviously don't know what I'm hoping for.

Info is what I am hoping for... and u just gave me some. $3000 is paid for what exactly... just the permission ? Does that give you rights to refuse admission ?

The $3000 is simply for the rental of the arena for the day. If you're the individual renting ARC then by all means YOU have the right to admit whomever you please!

Posted: May 21st, 2007, 9:44 am
by Cherubin
Also please bear in mind that you need to have Public Liability Insurance and such before you put on any kind of event. That's why CARS is so strict on competitor and crowd safety....

Posted: May 21st, 2007, 12:07 pm
by X2
Good info there....

What happens like when dex get cancelled last minute tho.... money jump up in steel band ?

Posted: May 21st, 2007, 1:48 pm
by Cherubin
If only it was sooo easy!

No its put towards the next event.... :wink:

Posted: May 21st, 2007, 3:29 pm
by X2
but they do hold the fundage then ?

Posted: May 24th, 2007, 8:57 pm
by Razkal
interesting....i like where X2 is going with this, n i think a testing ground not only when dex gets postponed for some reason but once CARS isnt using the ground would be nice to have, i do haev a suspension to 'sort out' n sum drifting narend showed me to practice :cry: