Tobago Dex - Accomodation

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Tobago Dex - Accomodation

Postby gt4tified » August 20th, 2008, 8:34 pm

Hey everyone,

As promised, I was across the pond for the past few days and I have spoken to the manager at the lovely place where I stayed for a bess price on accomodation for those who are interested.

The place is called Hotel Coconut Inn, its on the Store Bay local road....literally 1 minute drive to Store Bay, very convenient, safe and nice location.

The rooms can sleep 3 or 4 persons, a/c, private bath and kitchenette (for the chefs). The 3 person room (2 beds, one queen and one junior) go for TT$500 p.n. and the ones that sleep 4 go for TT$600p.n. That works up to about $170 and $150 p.p.p.n respectively. And I'm sure that for a group I can negotiate something better, since it will be for 2 nights for most ppl, Friday to Sunday.

The only thing is that the hotel has no restaurant facility so you either cook your own food or buy outside. Saltydog, there is a nice area to have the briefing if none has been decided on yet, so let me know.

I created a new thread it would be easy to keep track of any queries etc. So anyone interested please post or pm your name and contact and let me know if its for you alone or for you and someone etc.

I would need to make the booking as early as possible but as I said, the manager and I cool so it ain't no big deal to close the window a few days before the event.

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » August 20th, 2008, 10:40 pm

Thanks for this Ralph and sure we are looking for an area for the briefing, as long as they dont mind.Will confirm a little later.

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » August 20th, 2008, 10:56 pm

good prices for that area.

Postby gt4tified » August 21st, 2008, 3:51 am

Yorkshirelass wrote:Thanks for this Ralph and sure we are looking for an area for the briefing, as long as they dont mind.Will confirm a little later.

No problem Karen. As long as there is sufficient interest and I can book a couple apartments, there should be no problem with that.

sirbill

Postby sirbill » August 21st, 2008, 11:09 am

I would like in on this, assuming it will become SoloDex HQ in T'bgo!

Hmm, or maybe not...... and there are several reviews like this one. True, it ain't no "dream vacation" we going on, but.... some reasonable reviews too

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review ... obago.html

[b]Be prepared to walk with your cleaning supplies!â€

Postby gt4tified » August 21st, 2008, 1:15 pm

Bill, I'm looking at this review and the date and I really can't believe that it's about this place! Where I stayed was an entire house on the compound which I give you isn't as new as the apartments (which my wife and I took time to view before we left) but it was pretty adequate to our needs. And as far as I can see, that person was an idiot...who pays up front in full for 4 nights, BEFORE they see a place???

Anyway I took some pics of the place, unfortunately not of the inside of the apartments but all I can say is that my wife was satisfied as to the condition, and she is not easy to please when it comes to those details. I'll post them in a bit and you can decide.

Ralph.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 21st, 2008, 1:17 pm

well thats out ..... i just want somewhere clean with a.c and hot and cold water

clean is a must .............

anyone else got suggestions

Postby Razkal » August 21st, 2008, 2:20 pm

^Crowne Point hotel
Johnstons Beach Resort
Blue Horizion
Tropikist
Sandy Point

Have a couple others, when i get home I'll post some contact numbers, don't haev any on me now.

sirbill

Postby sirbill » August 21st, 2008, 2:31 pm

Ralph,

If you think it is OK, then maybe that person just go there at a bad time as one of the other reviewers mentioned - maybe some big fete or event happened that week/weekend and things were in a mess.

I staying where most others are staying though. Hopefully a concensus would emerge soon.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 21st, 2008, 8:16 pm

Belleviste was excellent when I stayed there...heated pool was da shiznit :mrgreen:
And "The Deep" night club is right across the road :o

Postby gt4tified » August 22nd, 2008, 12:39 am

Well, I was just trying to help out with good rates etc. You all are of course free to stay where your wallet pleases. Iggy, did you read my response at all? :roll:

fras

Postby fras » August 22nd, 2008, 1:13 am

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » August 22nd, 2008, 7:05 am

i feel alf making ah cut :lol:

Ling Ling
CARS Member

Postby Ling Ling » August 22nd, 2008, 7:41 am

If anyone is interested Vaughn Callendar's dad can probably organize a group rate at the Golden Thistle Hotel, that's near crown point and a pretty decent place to stay.
PM me if you're interested by Sunday for the latest cause i'll need to confirm a figure with him.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 22nd, 2008, 11:14 am

im tryin to work out a deal with grafton...

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm

all these "deals" people working out, are there enough persons to fill these different places?

BessD

Postby BessD » August 22nd, 2008, 2:28 pm

Check out www.tobagoplacestostay.com and click on Merle's House or Freddy's Villa ah bess spot 3 mins away from storebay, pool,a/c, kitchenette,hot n cold, everything u possibly need..............d full works.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 22nd, 2008, 2:31 pm

corollalover101 wrote:all these "deals" people working out, are there enough persons to fill these different places?

well im sure some people may not be comfortable at some places while other's are...so its all for a personal choice...

even if tuners dont stay dey would still have their business....

Postby gt4tified » August 22nd, 2008, 6:16 pm

RichieRich wrote:i feel alf making ah cut :lol:

But of course!!! And ah need someone to put it on....you interested? :lol:

Postby Razkal » August 22nd, 2008, 7:28 pm

Grafton kinda expensive to be staying, seeing as most ppl i know going, just need a place to crash after their RCL (Rum Consumption Limit) has been reached and take a shower in the morning :lol:

Postby gt4tified » August 22nd, 2008, 8:01 pm

Some pics of Coconut Inn from my camera. You all now judge for yourselves. And @ $150pppn its a no brainer for broke arse ppl like me who deal or no deal, cyah set foot in Grafton and all dem odder posh places.

Postby eliteauto » August 23rd, 2008, 8:40 am

^^^ place looks nice, and as Razkal said, basicallly ( in my view) all you need is a place to bep, bathe and throw yuh frame to the stadium/lime/beach etc

Postby Razkal » August 23rd, 2008, 9:19 am

^precisely. You and the wifey organized already?

Postby eliteauto » August 23rd, 2008, 9:49 am

long time I bought tickets and booked accommodation by faith not by sight

Postby wagonrunner » August 23rd, 2008, 11:42 am

corollalover101 wrote:long time I bought tickets and booked accommodation by faith not by sight

*wonder if b-mobile could refund me my phone calls as they were not necessary*. :poke:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 23rd, 2008, 1:38 pm

where everybody staying ....well the majority of the group ......

i still have to book accommodations

sirbill

Postby sirbill » August 23rd, 2008, 6:24 pm

:bump: for consensus. How many booked where? I go start a spreadsheet :D

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » August 23rd, 2008, 7:06 pm

i have stayed there before... It was a room downstairs, place was clean, bathrooms were clean, 2 queen sized beds,a/c was working, hot water was working, swimming pool was clean, a lady came and cleaned the rooms every day and i remember seeing a bar type area...

So don't let one bad review turn you away

miz06

Postby miz06 » August 24th, 2008, 7:10 am

Hi .. reading about your event on September 13th .. TTRC is also planning their 5th and 6th Navigation events in Tobago for October 10-12 .. and I have a spreadsheet of some places .. I have no problems sharing the information .. I will send it to Karen ..

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » August 24th, 2008, 1:10 pm

place look good ralf

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”