Page 1 of 2
Tobago Dex - Accomodation
Posted: August 20th, 2008, 8:34 pm
by gt4tified
Hey everyone,
As promised, I was across the pond for the past few days and I have spoken to the manager at the lovely place where I stayed for a bess price on accomodation for those who are interested.
The place is called Hotel Coconut Inn, its on the Store Bay local road....literally 1 minute drive to Store Bay, very convenient, safe and nice location.
The rooms can sleep 3 or 4 persons, a/c, private bath and kitchenette (for the chefs). The 3 person room (2 beds, one queen and one junior) go for TT$500 p.n. and the ones that sleep 4 go for TT$600p.n. That works up to about $170 and $150 p.p.p.n respectively. And I'm sure that for a group I can negotiate something better, since it will be for 2 nights for most ppl, Friday to Sunday.
The only thing is that the hotel has no restaurant facility so you either cook your own food or buy outside. Saltydog, there is a nice area to have the briefing if none has been decided on yet, so let me know.
I created a new thread it would be easy to keep track of any queries etc. So anyone interested please post or pm your name and contact and let me know if its for you alone or for you and someone etc.
I would need to make the booking as early as possible but as I said, the manager and I cool so it ain't no big deal to close the window a few days before the event.
Posted: August 20th, 2008, 10:40 pm
by Yorkshirelass
Thanks for this Ralph and sure we are looking for an area for the briefing, as long as they dont mind.Will confirm a little later.
Posted: August 20th, 2008, 10:56 pm
by RichieRich
good prices for that area.
Posted: August 21st, 2008, 3:51 am
by gt4tified
Yorkshirelass wrote:Thanks for this Ralph and sure we are looking for an area for the briefing, as long as they dont mind.Will confirm a little later.
No problem Karen. As long as there is sufficient interest and I can book a couple apartments, there should be no problem with that.
Posted: August 21st, 2008, 11:09 am
by sirbill
I would like in on this, assuming it will become SoloDex HQ in T'bgo!
Hmm, or maybe not...... and there are several reviews like this one. True, it ain't no "dream vacation" we going on, but.... some reasonable reviews too
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review ... obago.html
[b]Be prepared to walk with your cleaning supplies!â€
Posted: August 21st, 2008, 1:15 pm
by gt4tified
Bill, I'm looking at this review and the date and I really can't believe that it's about this place! Where I stayed was an entire house on the compound which I give you isn't as new as the apartments (which my wife and I took time to view before we left) but it was pretty adequate to our needs. And as far as I can see, that person was an idiot...who pays up front in full for 4 nights, BEFORE they see a place???
Anyway I took some pics of the place, unfortunately not of the inside of the apartments but all I can say is that my wife was satisfied as to the condition, and she is not easy to please when it comes to those details. I'll post them in a bit and you can decide.
Ralph.
Posted: August 21st, 2008, 1:17 pm
by Ignorant Ignis
well thats out ..... i just want somewhere clean with a.c and hot and cold water
clean is a must .............
anyone else got suggestions
Posted: August 21st, 2008, 2:20 pm
by Razkal
^Crowne Point hotel
Johnstons Beach Resort
Blue Horizion
Tropikist
Sandy Point
Have a couple others, when i get home I'll post some contact numbers, don't haev any on me now.
Posted: August 21st, 2008, 2:31 pm
by sirbill
Ralph,
If you think it is OK, then maybe that person just go there at a bad time as one of the other reviewers mentioned - maybe some big fete or event happened that week/weekend and things were in a mess.
I staying where most others are staying though. Hopefully a concensus would emerge soon.
Posted: August 21st, 2008, 8:16 pm
by AGENT RORO
Belleviste was excellent when I stayed there...heated pool was da shiznit
And "The Deep" night club is right across the road

Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 12:39 am
by gt4tified
Well, I was just trying to help out with good rates etc. You all are of course free to stay where your wallet pleases. Iggy, did you read my response at all?

Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 1:13 am
by fras
Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 7:05 am
by RichieRich
i feel alf making ah cut

Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 7:41 am
by Ling Ling
If anyone is interested Vaughn Callendar's dad can probably organize a group rate at the Golden Thistle Hotel, that's near crown point and a pretty decent place to stay.
PM me if you're interested by Sunday for the latest cause i'll need to confirm a figure with him.
Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 11:14 am
by Aaron 2NR
im tryin to work out a deal with grafton...
Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 2:22 pm
by eliteauto
all these "deals" people working out, are there enough persons to fill these different places?
Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 2:28 pm
by BessD
Check out
www.tobagoplacestostay.com and click on Merle's House or Freddy's Villa ah bess spot 3 mins away from storebay, pool,a/c, kitchenette,hot n cold, everything u possibly need..............d full works.
Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 2:31 pm
by Aaron 2NR
corollalover101 wrote:all these "deals" people working out, are there enough persons to fill these different places?
well im sure some people may not be comfortable at some places while other's are...so its all for a personal choice...
even if tuners dont stay dey would still have their business....
Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 6:16 pm
by gt4tified
RichieRich wrote:i feel alf making ah cut

But of course!!! And ah need someone to put it on....you interested?

Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 7:28 pm
by Razkal
Grafton kinda expensive to be staying, seeing as most ppl i know going, just need a place to crash after their RCL (Rum Consumption Limit) has been reached and take a shower in the morning

Posted: August 22nd, 2008, 8:01 pm
by gt4tified
Posted: August 23rd, 2008, 8:40 am
by eliteauto
^^^ place looks nice, and as Razkal said, basicallly ( in my view) all you need is a place to bep, bathe and throw yuh frame to the stadium/lime/beach etc
Posted: August 23rd, 2008, 9:19 am
by Razkal
^precisely. You and the wifey organized already?
Posted: August 23rd, 2008, 9:49 am
by eliteauto
long time I bought tickets and booked accommodation by faith not by sight
Posted: August 23rd, 2008, 11:42 am
by wagonrunner
corollalover101 wrote:long time I bought tickets and booked accommodation by faith not by sight
*wonder if b-mobile could refund me my phone calls as they were not necessary*.

Posted: August 23rd, 2008, 1:38 pm
by Ignorant Ignis
where everybody staying ....well the majority of the group ......
i still have to book accommodations
Posted: August 23rd, 2008, 6:24 pm
by sirbill

for consensus. How many booked where? I go start a spreadsheet

Posted: August 23rd, 2008, 7:06 pm
by Advil
i have stayed there before... It was a room downstairs, place was clean, bathrooms were clean, 2 queen sized beds,a/c was working, hot water was working, swimming pool was clean, a lady came and cleaned the rooms every day and i remember seeing a bar type area...
So don't let one bad review turn you away
Posted: August 24th, 2008, 7:10 am
by miz06
Hi .. reading about your event on September 13th .. TTRC is also planning their 5th and 6th Navigation events in Tobago for October 10-12 .. and I have a spreadsheet of some places .. I have no problems sharing the information .. I will send it to Karen ..
Posted: August 24th, 2008, 1:10 pm
by RichieRich
place look good ralf