Fixables autocross notes - 2009 season. UPDATED 13th July

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Mr. Fixables

Fixables autocross notes - 2009 season. UPDATED 13th July

Postby Mr. Fixables » February 20th, 2009, 9:26 pm

This is my first real push for a championship run, and as I prepare for the 2009 race season, I am cautiously confident that I can be competitive in STX. This year, my weapon of choice is a 2005 Nissan Sentra Spec V (in fire engine RED).

I am building the car on a budget, but there is a fine line between a budget build and an effective build. I made the mistake to check out some videos on the better drivers in the STX class …… DAMN!! This is going to be a beyotch to win, but hey, I’ll take my licks gracefully (hopefully not).

My first test will be the Atlanta Region Points #1 on March 1st. The top dog seems to be a 1997 BMW 328i. There is also a B13 Sentra and a Mini Cooper S. These two did not run the entire season, but won when they did run. But as you all know, I embrace the “Ultimate Underdogâ€
Last edited by Mr. Fixables on July 13th, 2009, 10:50 am, edited 10 times in total.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » February 23rd, 2009, 10:12 am

Thats cool Kirk. Glad to see things are working out autocross-wise over there :)

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2009, 3:02 pm

Kirk, like my new sig? :mrgreen:

sirbill

Postby sirbill » February 26th, 2009, 10:13 am

Kirk,

Can you tell us a bit about the PAX system used up there? Is it just informative or is some importance attached to PAX results?

Keep up the notes - good to hear from out there.

Bill

Postby MG Man » March 2nd, 2009, 2:51 pm

Postby SUPAstarr » March 3rd, 2009, 8:39 am

welll done kirk

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 3rd, 2009, 9:51 am

Bill,

The PAX is a formula set-up by SCCA nationally.

It basically uses past history data to compare cars not classed equally, so that their times can be compared to determine Fastest Time of Day, etc across all cars, and all classes.

I will find the formulas and send that over when I get a chance. I belive it is calculated by using the past 3 years of data as follows: (example)

Winner of EP-R: 50.0 seconds - 1.000 Factor (being the top class, no factor is applied to this time)
Winner of ES: 55.0 seconds - 0.900 Factor
etc

This is data is gathered for the 3 years (i think) and a general average factor is determined. As class rules change the factor must be changed as well.

I will get a further explaination from SCCA and let you guys know.

Kirk

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 5th, 2009, 9:01 am

Update:

Well the event did not happen eventually.

SNOW!!!!

So .... It has been rescheduled for this weekend. I am picking my Dunlop Direzza Star Spec Z1 tires today (235/40/17).

Let the games begin ......

Kirk

Postby wagonrunner » March 5th, 2009, 9:18 am

Mr. Fixables,
Enjoy, and best of luck (not like you'll need it) :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2009, 11:47 am

watch out for them US Spec almeras eh Kirk :mrgreen:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 6th, 2009, 1:18 pm

MG Man,

Funny you shoudl say that as my car is actually a U.S. Spec Almera with a QR25DE.

Kirk

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 6th, 2009, 3:26 pm

191 Cars are registered for the event, and 16 in my class.

I had always said I would like to be in the top 10%, so that equates to 2nd??

Here is the list of cars in my class for Sunday.

STX 16 drivers Class List

4 Rich 1989 BMW 325i
9 Cory Dreyfus 2003 Infiniti G35 Sedan
10 Kirk Ho Hing 2005 Nissan Sentra Spec V
11 Mposey 1990 Honda Civic Si Hatchback
12 Wayne Lin 2002 Subaru Impreza
17 Bevan Doyle 2003 Audi TT Quattro
19 Ben Fitzpatrick 2001 Mitsubishi Eclipse GT
22 Superdude 2005 Subaru WRX WRXatl STC (CWS)
41 Joe Sainato 1989 BMW 325i
70 Gordo 2000 Toyota Celica GTS
71 Tara 1998 Honda Prelude SH
92 Andrea Dreyfus 2003 Infiniti G35 Sedan
97 Russell Lewis 1997 BMW 328is
111 Chief 2007 Honda Civic Si
125 Brian Cembor 1989 Honda Civic Si
197 Brian Bell 1997 BMW 328is

Damn , this gonna be rough!!

Kirk

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » March 6th, 2009, 7:34 pm

Well lets see.......4 hondas, 4 BMW's, 2 Infinitis and one Nissan something..... :|

Well I'll give you this much, your ride will definately stand out in that crowd!

Postby MG Man » March 6th, 2009, 11:17 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote:MG Man,

Funny you shoudl say that as my car is actually a U.S. Spec Almera with a QR25DE.

Kirk

showoff :lol:

Postby cinco » March 7th, 2009, 7:24 pm

come on man do trinis proud i will come check it out tomorrow

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 9th, 2009, 1:39 pm

OK. OK. First of all, the car ran great. The tires stuck nicely, and the car was nice and balanced. I think I have some minor air pressure tweaking, but it is generally good.

For the first time in a while, the DRIVER let down the car.

I found myself under the gun with a couple of Nationally Competitive cars in the class, and as a result, I pushed the car, made a few mistakes and clipped a bunch of cones.

Actually, I only had one clean run out of 4. That's sad!!

My best time was 62.9, but I think the car could have done a 61 flat. That would have put me in 3rd place instead of 6th.

I am upset with myself and will have a chance to redeem myself at the end of the month.

Results here: http://www.soloatlanta.com/blog/?page_id=227

STAY TUNED!!

Postby MG Man » March 9th, 2009, 2:00 pm

no worries Kirk
no doubt they watching u

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 9th, 2009, 2:27 pm

Here are some pics of the car ......

[/img]

Postby MG Man » March 9th, 2009, 3:54 pm

nice
suspension looks very well balanced
now lose the fogs and spoiler, and throw on some lighter wheels :mrgreen:
also remove the door mirrors and sand down the paint :!:
and mount the camera on the tip of the bonnet for better weight distribution

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 9th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Yeah. The car feels nice.

All I have are Eibach Pro Kit springs and KYB GR2 shocks. Yuh know chinee cheap.....

The problem is that I am competing against guys with $2000 suspension setups.

I still think I can be close, but it is gonna be tough to beat them consistently.

Instead of sanding down the paint, I think I will add a few ricer stickers, as we all know that each sticker adds 3-5 HP, right? And maybe next time I will face the camera toward me so you guys can see me cussing as I make my mistakes. :lol:

Kirk

Postby eliteauto » March 9th, 2009, 5:57 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote:Yeah. The car feels nice.

All I have are Eibach Pro Kit springs and KYB GR2 shocks. Yuh know chinee cheap.....

You have given me hope, I ordered the same springs and Tokico HP for my car, just hadda get the driver's mods now :lol:

Postby cinco » March 9th, 2009, 6:12 pm

i was there man but i got there late missed your runs i got there about 2 i forgot the time change

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 10th, 2009, 8:11 am

2pm??

I was running the morning group, I was there from 7am :cry:

Next event is at Turner Field March 29th.

Kirk

Postby cinco » March 11th, 2009, 7:23 pm

yeh man the time change messed me up i was supposed to get out by 12
dam thats early
what time at turner field?

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 17th, 2009, 4:28 pm

Cinco,

My class is running in the afternoon this event, so about 12.30 or 1pm would be a good time to get there.

Kirk

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 23rd, 2009, 4:21 pm

OK. Competition time again.

I ordered a rear sway bar, and it is scheduled to come in on Wednesday. It's only Monday and 93 cars are entered for the event on Sunday. This is Atlanta Points #2.

I have my camera all charged up, so look out for some vids on Monday.

**NOTE TO SELF** Hitting cones = BAD ....... NOT hitting cones = GOOD!!!!

Kirk

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » March 23rd, 2009, 4:42 pm

^^ Looking out for the vids as well, maybe I'll learn something :oops:

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2009, 8:00 pm

cool i was going out of town this weekend i should be there this time

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 26th, 2009, 9:18 am

Partial video of a run at Points #1

Damn camera battery died half way through the run.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNsHXk4AUII

I will have the camera battery fully charged for this event. So look out for all 4 runs on video.

Kirk

Postby wagonrunner » March 26th, 2009, 9:31 am

Mr. Fixables,
will watch the vid later.

from your memory of the karting track, can you give some input here? <a href="http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=239295">of dex courses</a>

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”