Competing in SS for 2010 ?

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Competing in SS for 2010 ?

Postby X2 » December 5th, 2009, 10:30 am

If all goes well, I hope to make a points run for SS class for 2010.

Interested to see who else is planning to compete... what car and setup will you be running ?

Most of you all know the Clone, if but not, I will start:

> EG Civic hatch, B18, cheap tires, cheap suspension.

Who's in ?

Postby SUPAstarr » December 5th, 2009, 12:33 pm

I will also make a competitive run next yr....finally, most likely in ESP, lookin to cause trouble!!!!

EK Hatch, D15, still lookin for suitable tyres, TIEN shock an springs

Postby pete » December 5th, 2009, 7:45 pm

ES here.. and hopefully I'll be able to compete in every event.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » December 6th, 2009, 12:37 am

ESP......and encourages all the honda guys to TRY to beat the ignis :lol: :lol:

Postby gt4tified » December 6th, 2009, 2:11 pm

X2, White Trash and I should be competing in SS...but if I only put on an aftermarket rear sway bar is EP for mih pweffen.

Although I think I might enjoy competing in EP more eh....plus so SS ppl wouldn't say I taking advantage.

Since you want ppl to post wot they running without revealing your setup, I'll just say....

1991 Toyota Celica GTFOUR
OEM suspension with megan lowering springs (for now)
3sgte engine, oem gearbox, Upgraded Clutch, stock brakes, 16" rims on street tires.
EBC.
Gauges - they really DO add hp! (carbon fibre series so not much weight added) :lol:
210lb driver. :lol: :lol:

TREX

Postby TREX » December 6th, 2009, 2:21 pm

Watched that Civic at the Last BYCC
IMO U will be very competitive

The suspension seems pretty well sorted, perhaps a bit less Under steer with a MEch LSD.
Got good power and low Torque.
Put on some slicks and u will be beating EP times

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 6th, 2009, 8:44 pm

looks like i'll be back at least for the start of the year in SS

Postby X2 » December 7th, 2009, 12:18 am

gt4tified wrote:Since you want ppl to post wot they running without revealing your setup, I'll just say....

I not just throwing my setup on 2nr so... too much ass hurt online. You know at dex, questions get answered.

I don't think a standard b18 + civic would warrant SS would it ? My competing in that class is only fair based on mods. SS seems to be where my competition is 'car wise'. My consistency in slow sections is horrid and I drive like a rhinestone cowboy.... I just want to know how much work I have cut out for me if I make a serious push for the win.

Stepping up a class by putting on tires would probably see me get destroyed by the drivers in EP....

Postby SUPAstarr » December 7th, 2009, 2:46 am

i once remembered you makin a statement about commin to corner an karate choppin wheels, was fun to watch the hatch though

Postby gt4tified » December 7th, 2009, 3:17 am

X2 wrote:
gt4tified wrote:Since you want ppl to post wot they running without revealing your setup, I'll just say....

I not just throwing my setup on 2nr so... too much ass hurt online. You know at dex, questions get answered.

I don't think a standard b18 + civic would warrant SS would it ? My competing in that class is only fair based on mods. SS seems to be where my competition is 'car wise'. My consistency in slow sections is horrid and I drive like a rhinestone cowboy.... I just want to know how much work I have cut out for me if I make a serious push for the win.

Stepping up a class by putting on tires would probably see me get destroyed by the drivers in EP....

Well, the B18 + civic hatch was also SR's setup and SS was the class he ran.

You might say that with tires you'll get whupped, but you'd be surprised.....the older EP heads have now moved on to EP-R so EP is now comprised of several evo and sti drivers who are more or less novices to dex. While this would be my third year competing in dex, I competed almost an entire year with my cousin's swift sport and last year I missed out many events due to my car not being ready. This year I have made quite a few changes to my car so that at every event, whether BYCC or competition, it was more about me to get seat time to get accustomed to the setup....hopefully next year things will be a bit more settled.

What ah go say....when yuh like me and cyah afford new ting like dem bad up evo and subaru men....yuh just have to make do with a nice ole ting and plenty duct tape and spit! :oops:

Postby wagonrunner » December 7th, 2009, 7:32 am

X2 wrote:Stepping up a class by putting on tires would probably see me get destroyed by the drivers in EP....

more than likely.
tires alone, don't make a car competitive in a higher class.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 7th, 2009, 7:45 am

ill be in the rookie class :D

swift sport unsure of mods by then lol

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 7th, 2009, 8:40 am

X2 wrote:Stepping up a class by putting on tires would probably see me get destroyed by the drivers in EP....

more than likely.

ep is a hard step up to make with just r compound tires alone.

but that doesn't mean you wont be competitive.

but hey ....why do you think being in SS is going to mean you gonna get less cut ass ? :lol: :lol: :lol:

TREX

Postby TREX » December 7th, 2009, 9:16 am

more than likely.

True

But tires are the single BEST mod you can make

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 7th, 2009, 12:44 pm

^^^^very correct :mrgreen:

Postby wagonrunner » December 7th, 2009, 12:59 pm

fortunate fellas.
without cambering, better tires are shredded by my cars street / stock camber settings.

Custom-x

Postby Custom-x » December 7th, 2009, 4:07 pm

X2 i will be competing with yuh in SS running my 2000 civic...the engining will be changing from the current d15b under 8psi to my new engine d16y8 under 15 psi so that should be some fun...

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 7th, 2009, 5:32 pm

I coming to take a look that is all I can do *sigh*

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » December 7th, 2009, 5:41 pm

if by the grace of God i get a head and block..asweel as a gearbox..i will be in SS

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » December 7th, 2009, 6:55 pm

wham to your motor hoss?? ^

Postby X2 » December 7th, 2009, 7:55 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:but hey ....why do you think being in SS is going to mean you gonna get less cut ass ? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Well I finally took the time to sort some things out on the car... and honestly... I've never made a serious run for points at dex. I think you may be in for a surprise. :idea:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 7th, 2009, 8:27 pm

hmmmm.....is that a callout ?

and don't expect the ignis to be the same next year :mrgreen:

Postby X2 » December 7th, 2009, 9:57 pm

I not calling you out no more... you simply WILL want to step up this year.

Can power and style actually beat suspension and skill..... hmmmm !?!?

Postby gt4tified » December 7th, 2009, 11:11 pm

Samiir_Tuner wrote:wham to your motor hoss?? ^

It couldn't keep up to his driving style! :lol:

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » December 7th, 2009, 11:36 pm

:lol: :lol: yea i hear that car does be IN vvl more than out of it :lol:

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » December 7th, 2009, 11:43 pm

would msg yuh samir..and ralph...go back to sipping on the ameretto

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » December 7th, 2009, 11:43 pm

Samiir_Tuner wrote::lol: :lol: yea i hear that car does be IN vvl more than out of it :lol:

sure its not the other way around :oops: :oops:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 8th, 2009, 9:25 am

X2 wrote:I not calling you out no more... you simply WILL want to step up this year.

Can power and style actually beat suspension and skill..... hmmmm !?!?

doesn't matter about power, style, skill or suspension.

if you show up on race day on those nexen tires expect to have you ass handed to you again by the ESP class.

Postby X2 » December 8th, 2009, 9:57 am

Liez !!! Nexxen is da shizzle !!! All the SS competitors tell me so !

Those are for burning up and fun... once those get hot, the car becomes squirrely. But damn the rubber hard !! The still look new.... :oops:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » December 8th, 2009, 9:35 pm

chris1388 wrote:ESP......and encourages all the honda guys to TRY to beat the ignis :lol: :lol:

all-uh zuki men eh!!!,overconfident :lol: :lol: ,i need 2 get a sir hatch :lol: :lol:

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”