Zandolie

Rally Barbados 2007

Postby Zandolie » April 7th, 2007, 9:05 pm

Rally Carnival 2007!

May 26th and 27th.....

http://www.barbadosrallycarnival.com/rallycarnival/2007_calendar.asp

http://www.rallybarbados.bb/

Who competing..who going to represent TTRRDC!

Last year's Trini Posse was bigger than ever....

Postby Monk BANzai » April 7th, 2007, 9:10 pm

at least 14 of ous from chuna side going up....

sio

Postby sio » April 7th, 2007, 11:53 pm

Guys i know you all go for the lime and the party. But if they could not come for ours should we go for there own????? Hats off to james and Harold who did come and the few others i saw in the pits.

RCheekes
R/C Club Moderator

Postby RCheekes » April 8th, 2007, 10:16 am

sio wrote:Guys i know you all go for the lime and the party. But if they could not come for ours should we go for there own????? Hats off to james and Harold who did come and the few others i saw in the pits.

This is not the type of thinking needed from any Rally Fan or competitor. remember that Rally Barbados boasts a huge entry list, compared to us in Trinidad. We need them a lot more than they need us!!!! So to say you wont go to Bdos cuz some of they guys did not come here, can only make this worse for Rally Trinidad. I dont think it will affect Rally Bdos too much.

Drivers with Major sponsors have a commitment to their sponsors, The sponsor might not find it worthwhile to pay to come here for a 'smaller rally' when they can go to Jamaica for a 'bigger rally'. I mean smaller and bigger in terms of entry list, not in terms of quality of organisation. But I do believe TTRC is heading in the right direction fast. Congrats to you guys.
To continue this direction we will have to do without the above statements

My 2 cents.

8-) 8-) 8-)

miz06

Postby miz06 » April 8th, 2007, 11:11 am

sio wrote:Guys i know you all go for the lime and the party. But if they could not come for ours should we go for there own????? Hats off to james and Harold who did come and the few others i saw in the pits.

Sio, once I get the time off, I'd like to go review their whole set-up, we could only learn from them .. i'm not necessarily going for the lime and party .. unless of course, that is also part of the administration :wink:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 8th, 2007, 9:06 pm

jackie we go lime

and that small mined thinking sio is wha could only bring down rally in Trinidad

MY 2 cents

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 9th, 2007, 7:52 am

[This is not the type of thinking needed from any Rally Fan or competitor]
And why is this sort of thinking ot allowed when we are all entitled to our own views and opinion? It's called free speech, and it's legal in this country.
Because you like their "Rally carnival" does not mean we all have to, there are many "closet" opinions about the Bajans non showning, just Sio had the SPINE to come out and say what he feel !!

[ We need them a lot more than they need us!!!! So to say you wont go to Bdos cuz some of they guys did not come here, can only make this worse for Rally Trinidad. ]
Seeing that you're apparently in the know about what can make or break TTRC, tell me; no tell US how they can help seeing that you're much more knowledgable than us.
Rally Trinidad in my eyes can go either way regardless of Bajans
or Jamacians, it's all in the management of the club and the membership, so if the current Admin get voted out the work this Admin did is on a rabbits Hair.

[The sponsor might not find it worthwhile to pay to come here for a 'smaller rally' when they can go to Jamaica for a 'bigger rally'. I mean smaller and bigger in terms of entry list, not in terms of quality of organisation]
So here you are in this statement defending the Bajans.There sponsors think as we small time they don't need to come here cause they wasting time and money. SAD, if as you say and so many other say; we need them so much and they know it, don't you think that's when the should support us? Mr. Cheeks tell us what they can do for us, PLEASE !, You may be holding in your hands the secret TTRC has been seeking for the 30+ years they have been in existance.
Well, maybe they don't want to, maybe they know if we get our act together we can have a event bigger than "Rally Carnival" and thereby be a threat ? Mr. Cheeks maybe you need to step back and review what "Rally Carnival" is to B'dos. It's not racing, it revenue generation, and at the end of the day their gov't will do anything to ensure that "Rally Carnival" continues.
TTRC, take note, as the Bajans don't need us, maybe when we're planning our next event we just simply look elsewhere, we'll invite Morley and Betts and move onto other Countries that we can reciprocate with. Say St. Vincent, Martinque, St. Lucia etc, I'm sure we can find other Rally Partner Contries.

[ To continue this direction we will have to do without the above statements ]
In this respect you are wrong, no country, business, club or family can progress without the input of all it members, be it good; bad or indiffrent. If you believe that hiding to say the bad is acceptable; then you may need to sit and review yourself and whatever organisation you belong to. While I fully support Sio as he has expressed to me his views, I may have said it just a wee bit different, but in the end the man talk his mind without the Fat and you all afraid you may have to tell yuh Bajan friend " dat man who say that jus chuppid or he real ignorant".
But on the other hand I see you as a spineless kiss arse who cannot tell yuh Bajan buddies, "yuh set we up man or why allyuh duck we event so jed". But you will be to busy drinking and partying to remember.

[ jackie we go lime and that small mined thinking sio is wha could only bring down rally in Trinidad ]
Well if that's the reason you going to "Rally Carnival" good, just tell me how that going to help Rally Trinidad? What you going to bring back to help develop TTRC to make a better Rally Trinidad ??? Plus; Banks and Mount Gay ?

I tell you this, Barbados Rally Club has a really good job of hosting this event, they book hotels, rental cars and sell Rally Holiday packages, something we cannot do as the businesses that they get most of these booking/endorsements from have the owners or their famalies rallying.
The Bajan rally scene is controlled by the members who are are some of the most influential businessmen in that Island. I don't want to use names as this is a open forum, but take a look at some of the names and then look at names of some of the business over there and who owns the auto Dealerships.
We, TTRC will never get to that level as the people who own businesses in Trinidad; or the people who own businesses in T&T that can help our sport grow to that level will not enter, they will continue to race BOATS !!!

Sadly, Sio has become a pivot point for all of you to Kiss Arse. Bajan Arse that is, I agree with Sio 100%.
Sio, well said bro :wink:

Just remeber, it was the Bajans who requested that we move our event so they could attend. So TTRC thinking that they; the Bajans were willing to help us make our event better moved our event. Not bigger, just make our own event Better.

Mr. Morley, Mr Goddard, Mr. Betts and Co- Driver, respect, Me and my team appreciate that you attended our event, and you will always be warmly welcomed in our tent, be if for a drink, a plate of food or a welder, you are welcomed !!!

WE hope you guys have your cars sorted out for the event on the 21st

sio

Postby sio » April 9th, 2007, 9:20 am

I did not think my comments would bring up so much stuff. I just really did not like how things played off for the rally this year. I have no problems with Barbados our crew tried our best to keep James running in any way we could.I also limed in his tent and the other way around. It was just not right how they set up this year and made us look bad to our Gov, AS THIS IS THE FRIST TIME THEY BACKED US UP. Any way the rally was great and I hope it gets better once again Hats off to the guys that did come.

James and

Harold

And Crew

RCheekes
R/C Club Moderator

Postby RCheekes » April 9th, 2007, 11:18 am

I dont have all the answers.

So sorry that I made my comments public.
Next time i will shut my mouth

Mini

Postby Mini » April 9th, 2007, 6:29 pm

I think all views are welcome...

anybody who has a contribution that can make our rally bigger, better, safer and more enjoyable for spectators, competitors and sponsors... is welcome to post it on this forum.

I think many of us would have liked to see more foreign competitors. Reading some of the comments here post rally... I think we should have advertised in the Bajan newspaper as well since spectators and rally followers would have attended. I think the rally trinidad invitational can only grow... and we can't cry over spilt milk and complain about what shoulda been... but how we can move on.

But I do also think that sending more cars to the larger rallies can only benefit us... people around the caribbean know of panton, micey, bourne... etc... but its only if we get the lochans and the mckenzies and the dhanrajs and yes... the sios across there will they begin to take us seriously... and say ways... them trinis have something going...

I personally think rezan's car on tarmac in bim would be a sight to see...

and yes... the event was moved to march to accomodate some of the foreigners... but more so to capture the dry season...

but just remember.... the one thing I preach... the TTRC and it's management is all about putting on successful events (navigation and stages) first and foremost for the members...

I haven't heard a trini competitor complain yet... (well not counting sham curry duck .. or lack thereof and the loud music)

turbo master

Postby turbo master » April 10th, 2007, 1:37 pm

this here is something..people always overlook."and we can't cry over spilt milk and complain about what shoulda been... but how we can move on. "

I will do my part in promoting the Rally..which basically is what BWP is all about..promoting mospo..not making $ :)

RCheeks..sometimes its better to clear up stuff before you post..or simply do as i normally do while making statements
"from what i see" "as far as i know" "to the best of my knowledge" etc

i do not know who you are or your involvement in the rally however it seems that you as though yr knowledge is limited to prob what is posted on the forums.
it seems like a fitting thign to base yr comments based on such.but a lot happens outside the forums.that's all..
your comments though have valid points

Zandolie

Postby Zandolie » April 10th, 2007, 2:19 pm

^^^^
So..am...who going Rally Barbados again?

RCheekes
R/C Club Moderator

Postby RCheekes » April 10th, 2007, 3:33 pm

All my comments on this forum are made in the "In my opinion" context. Really sorry to have created all this. I am only a spectator of Rallying. I love Rallying, so I do want to see Rallying progress furthur in Trinidad and the Caribbean.

My comments were only made because IN MY OPINION, Caribbean Rallying needs unity, not division. I do not know all the details of Barbados or Trinidad rallying, except what the spectators see. If my comments were incorrect or offensive, I am sorry and I stand corrected.

I will be going to Rally Barbados 2007, to watch Rallying, not Party. I will be liming while watching the Rally though :D :D :D :D :D

and yes I do race boats, but thats only because I cant afford to run a Rally Car!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 10th, 2007, 4:54 pm

Cheeks, yuh reading mih wrong here.

With the boat racing thing I not reffering to you.
I don't want to use names but look at the names that race the Power Boats, then you'll understand a bit more what I'm saying.

I respect your comments and opinions, however I find it wrong for anybody to condem what Sio said as the man had a very good point.

The Gov't supported the event, TTRC tried really hard to put on a good show, even without the quantum of foriegn cars we had a FANTASTIC event !!

Many people going to Rally Carnival to spectate and party, I ent have no grouse with the, people work hard for they money and if that's what they wanna do with it; fine by me. But doh come in here and talk crap bout "we going BIM to learn and get they help".
Lets be real, the officals going to be so busy with their own event you really think they going to stop and explain the nitty gritty of how their managemnt team work to you ???

Come on people. Not all of us that Gullible.

Cheeks, I'm glad you're a spectator and you support the sport.
But once there was Caribbean Rally Championship and I tell you what, the cars that came here were super fast.
That was the first time I saw Peter Summerbell and Stratty King drive, Doug Gore and Gerry Gregg was also here running.

I honestly don't think that will happen again, if it does great.
By the way, Seego won his class in that Championship, I think two years straight.

If we going ot move our own event up the ranks in the region we need to get our own niche, if we try a "Rally Carnival" style that will not work for us.
This is where you as the spectator need to help TTR find the groove.

Let's creat our own bigger and better than what we know of elsewhere.

Who knows, maybe we can have a championship and have a TT$50,000.00 for the winner.

I don't know what it will take, but let's keep puting our head together and maybe we'll get it...........sooner than later.

RCheekes
R/C Club Moderator

Postby RCheekes » April 10th, 2007, 7:22 pm

My respect to sio for his opinions and comments, and to you bench.

I still would like to see the likes of Barry, Ainsley and Vishal etc etc going to bdos to compete against those fellas over there. Actually, I think we have some brilliant talent locally in terms of drivers. It is really sad i suppose that our drivers dont have the sponsors or resources to drive the more expensive WRC cars such as Gary Gregg etc etc. But driver for driver I am sure we would be very competitve among the other Caribbean drivers.

I have always been to the rallies in Trinidad. I actually followed the entire rally when Summerbell and those guys were here. Actually, Micey, Paul bourne and Roger Skeete were also all here for that rally as well. It was by far the best field of drivers we had here. I believe John Powell won that rally.

I now understand what you meant by the boat racing thing.!!!!! No harm done !!

Really sad i missed Rally Trinidad this year (Wife had a Child) , but i will be back for the next rally hopefully, of course to spectate.

hope to see some of the fellas supporting which ever drivers go to Bdos for the rally there, i will be there.

poddy

Postby poddy » April 11th, 2007, 7:16 am

Guys i know you all go for the lime and the party. But if they could not come for ours should we go for there own????? Hats off to james and Harold who did come and the few others i saw in the pits.

BULL

and that small mined thinking sio is wha could only bring down rally in Trinidad

YUH DAMN RIGHT

It's called free speech, and it's legal in this country.

and Mr Cheekes is entitled to his

Because you like their "Rally carnival" does not mean we all have to, there are many "closet" opinions about the Bajans non showning, just Sio had the SPINE to come out and say what he feel !!

I don't think that anyone here goes on their forums an give the Bajans or Jamaicans as much SH!T as I do supporting our drivers......

Mr. Cheeks maybe you need to step back and review what "Rally Carnival" is to B'dos. It's not racing, it revenue generation, and at the end of the day their gov't will do anything to ensure that "Rally Carnival" continues.

And that my dear friend is the simple brilliance behind it that you have missed. Promote it as something that benefits the people of the country...Governments and Businesses will take notice and the sport will grow... who benefits-----

THE RACERS!! [ and the spectators ]

Government assistance
Company sponsorships

You right boy how could I ever like seeing 100 of the best from the Caribbean and Europe.. we have it better here- start with 20 entries, 14 mek it to the stage an by lunch we have 7

$hite ah forget we have Stag & Curry Duck what more could yuh want.

You obviously do not realize that we are the joke of Caribbean Racing [except for Drag]

Would you go somewhere to race if you knew there was no competition?

eg. John P was running a GrpA Evo- stepped down to A GrpN Evo so that he would have to push harder to win.
He has done the same again now by building a GrpN Subaru to race here as the WRC Corolla has no competition here.

Unless you want to remain as you are and don't improve then stay here and race, but I do believe that Ainsley & Barry to name 2 are true competitors and as such will improve their game by racing against the best of the Caribbean.
By our drivers going an showing that there is one additional reason [competition] to come to Trinidad to race besides the promise of Duck,Beer & good Rum, then our sport will improve.

Franklin Seego does a heck of a job going there to compete and everyone respects him for that, however he is not deemed competition. The only one that is deemed as such at this time would be JP. Only because he is the one that is taking the challenge to them.

The Gov't supported the event,

TRUE

TTRC tried really hard to put on a good show,

TRUE

even without the quantum of foriegn cars we had a FANTASTIC event !!

Yuh find so !!

(now ah going to comment but this in no way is to take away from the hard work put in by the organizers)

The car turnout was poor

The spectator turnout was poor [ the Bajans have more people on one corner than we had watching the event] they must be doing something wrong

The jump into the pits/spectators [ disaster waiting to happen ] this point was addressed before.

So STOP fooling yourself into thinking it was FANTASTIC... it was far from

Put some wings on de "Boeing that yuh drive Bench" get yuh A$$ over to Bim, open up a can of WHUP A$$ on dem an give dem a reason to come here an try to get back their self esteem...

poddy

Postby poddy » April 11th, 2007, 7:31 am

Just to enhance meh point about our low standards

Rezan Mohammed/Arshad Mundro showed their fine form in the Mitsubishi Mirage now fitted with a 2000cc Evo engine and they set the FWD class alive with a best of 5min 41 sec.

3 secs.

Our Foreign guest James Betts and his co-driver/Sponsor Dean Serrao got off to a blistering start and were chasing Rezan and Darrel in the little Opel Corsa 1600cc NON Turbo!!!!! And finished the Day stages in Third position OVERALL!!!! Bettering several 4WD cars on the South Stages, his best time was 5 min 44 sec.

Opel Corsa 1600cc vs Mitsubishi Mirage (Evo V powered isn't it)

Bajan - awesome car & driver

Trini - potentially awesome car & driver ( needs proper competition to improve )

Rallymac

Postby Rallymac » April 11th, 2007, 11:25 am

Hey Nuf Noise now Fellas

Yeah we didnt get the Bajan turnout to the event as we have hoped but that will not stop me from going to barbados for thier event, Our event still needs move to a level that we have our buddies in the Caribbean wanting to come because of several factor : Quality of Stage which we are steadily getting their with : orginisation which is getting better event by event : competition, now we can compete against the best once its not a WRC car and we are steadily getting new drivers into the Club, I see very shortly a Boom in the Level of Competition Cars in our Sport , Both Ainsley and myself are moving up to new Rallycars within the next year or two Group A spec units of course.

Ainsley Makinen and the One Oot will be representing Trinidad & Tobago in Barbados next month at the Rally Barbados so there you go !!!
Now all we need is some money :cry: :cry: :cry:
It is going to be a costly trip for us just as it is for the Bajan to come down here even if we get free shipping
Our budget for getting their, Tarmac wheel and Tires accomodation for the Service crew and our selves and to convert our Rallycars to Tarmac spec (Shocks , Brakes , Swaybar ) Fuel, Food, RUM, BEER, MORE RUM, etc 85,000 TTD fellas

So help we nah
Donations please you name on a prominent location on the Rallycars

We going B'DOS !!!!!!!!!

poddy

Postby poddy » April 11th, 2007, 1:09 pm

De man name really Selwin in truth

he piping off part of he paintwork an all

yuh good boy real good.....

Rallymac

Postby Rallymac » April 11th, 2007, 1:56 pm

Selwin Say yu good fren give you dicount poddy

Zandolie

Postby Zandolie » April 11th, 2007, 1:56 pm

Yuh see why I start this thread....:lol: :lol:

Postby wagon r » April 11th, 2007, 4:06 pm

despite all the talk .....

...yuh know we in Bim to lime and cheer you guys orn.. :mrgreen:

poddy

Postby poddy » April 11th, 2007, 7:56 pm

Selwin Say yu good fren give you dicount poddy

De "Focus" gone down or reach hire purchase yet :?: :?: :D :wink:

flat 100

Postby flat 100 » April 11th, 2007, 9:45 pm

Ainsley Makinen and the One Oot will be representing Trinidad & Tobago in Barbados next month at the Rally Barbados so there you go !!!

I am??? :shock: :shock: Well yes, thank GOD for trinituner. I t have any thing else you might want to let me know OVER THE FORUM

poddy

Postby poddy » April 12th, 2007, 5:56 am

Doh forget John P should be there too

I am??? Well yes, thank GOD for trinituner. I t have any thing else you might want to let me know OVER THE FORUM

Hate when that happens

flat 100

Postby flat 100 » April 12th, 2007, 6:41 am

Poddy I Was jus joking with One Oot, I'm looking forward going Bim for RB07, it's something we should've done awhile now.

Postby wagon r » April 12th, 2007, 7:04 am

^.....yuh not alone with dat one boss....

flat 100

Postby flat 100 » April 12th, 2007, 12:50 pm

Doh forget John P should be there too

Tell me if Simon Jean Joseph(hope i spelt name correct) really drives John's spec c, will he be representing T&T also, yuh know poddy how much confusion it have on those bajan and jam sites about who John really represents.

poddy

Postby poddy » April 14th, 2007, 5:58 am

I think he cleared that up once and for all, both in J & B they know who he represents :fist: , the yardies jus trying to hold on to his birthrite a little bit now. :oops:

But the boy races for Trini land
[else we will send him packing] :lol: :lol:

hope yuh could really go Bim an race though will be good for everyone, except for yuh pocket dat go suffer some.

Postby gt4tified » April 16th, 2007, 11:00 am

Banzai Rastafarai wrote:at least 14 of ous from chuna side going up....

Rasta, allyuh organizing this privately or wah allyuh doing? I interested. BTW, TTRC reps, allyuh organizing anything for allyuh own ppl (non-competitors)?

Return to “TTRC - Rally”