Discuss do you belive this generation lacks proper knowledge

nigel1977

Re: Discuss do you belive this generation lacks proper knowl

Postby nigel1977 » April 7th, 2012, 5:46 pm

^^^The wanting to know more, and the desire to want to change requires a major culture change. We aren't ready for that, as a people. Not nearly ready.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 7th, 2012, 8:30 pm

...and sadly, that is the reason for quite a lot of our local problems.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 7th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Ignorance..

I have come across that far too often when dealing / assisting some people with their car audio systems. Some guys just not interested in full bandwidth sound at all. A classic example is a small 'gallery' system I did for one guy, on completion I found it sounded pretty loud and well balanced.. the guy eventually found out that raising the HPF on his midrange allowed him to get the system to play much louder, so now his mids play from ~250Hz up.. and his bass is from 80Hz down..

He can be heard from quite a distance away and he is very pleased with the performance he is getting. To him, that system is working great and he doesn't want to change anything..

It's not always about lack of knowledge..

Postby meccalli » April 8th, 2012, 6:44 am

All bass all highs. boom and sizzle.This is what the majority of local systems on the street, at the bar, beach river...etc..sounds like to me at an eq/freq range standpoint.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 8th, 2012, 9:03 am

3stagevtec wrote:Ignorance..

I have come across that far too often when dealing / assisting some people with their car audio systems. Some guys just not interested in full bandwidth sound at all. A classic example is a small 'gallery' system I did for one guy, on completion I found it sounded pretty loud and well balanced.. the guy eventually found out that raising the HPF on his midrange allowed him to get the system to play much louder, so now his mids play from ~250Hz up.. and his bass is from 80Hz down..

He can be heard from quite a distance away and he is very pleased with the performance he is getting. To him, that system is working great and he doesn't want to change anything..

It's not always about lack of knowledge..

Folks involved in change management use this model:

Awareness – Do you understand why the desired change is needed? (what will be the result of the transition?)
Desire – Are you motivated to make the desired change?
Knowledge – Do you know how make the desired change happen?
Ability – Have you been given the right information and training
Reinforcement – Do you have a system of encouraging or keeping the change in place?

In the example above, while the customer may have the information, there is no desire to change, because he believes, and has accepted that louder is better.

Culture.

Postby SR » April 8th, 2012, 12:26 pm

well said

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » April 8th, 2012, 4:05 pm

Any Fixes? Long term, Short term.

Plain and simple Education/ Information availabilty is not cutting it.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 8th, 2012, 5:42 pm

What would be nice is to see how many people with the "louder is better" type system bothered to even read as much as this thread AND think about it. :)
You can't force people to learn about anything if they don't want to. While it might bother you, it really is pointless because you're thinking "I could teach this guy how to make his system sound better!" and he's thinking "This system sounin bess!" and that's good enough for him. Who's the one actually unhappy about it?
Granted that SR has to judge them and hence has no choice but to hear it. But for others here?
The best you can do is let people know that the information exists and you are willing to help if THEY decide on their own that they want to learn more.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 10th, 2012, 10:51 am

People are generally happy with what they know already.

Learning new stuff, that has no percieved benefits requires a different mindset.

Louder is better... is sold by car show promoters, installers, river limes, medford's, bars, beaches, on the roads in traffic, 24-7...

Where is SQ sold? Between 8 - 12:00 on a Sunday morning every few months in Samars or Reinzi...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 10th, 2012, 11:14 am

if ppl want to be loud or deafen themselves hey let them be but i think d point is at least let it sound good & clear not just blasting loud at d expense of it being distorted & irritating , if a next vehicle is louder than u (for whatever reason) it makes no sense overdriving\distorting to keep up

it may not be what some ppl are into but a properly installed , well tuned musical gallery vehicle can actually be a good thing ...

supanats

Postby supanats » April 15th, 2012, 7:54 pm

Let me start by saying that I LOVE CAR AUDIO!!!
I have stopped attending mobile audio events, mainly because the SQ of some vehicles, not all, has dropped while the decibels just got louder. Whatever happened to reproducing a musical recording the way it was meant to sound right out of the studio?
Some of these vehicular aberrations have even been judged in some events!?
We need help.

Re: Discuss do you belive this generation lacks proper knowledge

Postby Rovin » February 18th, 2022, 12:04 pm

searching for something came upon this 10yr old thread, really good discussions back in d day ... too bad alot of ppl in here no longer around on tuner

Postby timelapse » February 18th, 2022, 1:21 pm

Hence my skewed sense of sq.I have studio ears

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 28th, 2023, 10:06 am

Rovin wrote:searching for something came upon this 10yr old thread, really good discussions back in d day ... too bad alot of ppl in here no longer around on tuner

A year+ later and still no more responses :"(

Facebook groups really kill the scenes in some ways boy.

But I'll never miss how easy it is to retrieve info from a forum vs facebook comments via searching.

And I think it has gotten worse since 2012. With so much access to information, the wrong info usually reaches the researcher first.

THere's always one dumb person to comment first "yeah dan 18 songs is d best car speaker" , and because he comments first he is also believed first.
And all the man wanted was a nice small system to listen to some gospel.

=====================================================================

Also the DIY aspect of the game has kinda died out too with technology getting so much more better. No one here even builds crossovers or physically accounts for time differences anymore. Can just set up a mic and the system can tune itself.

As devices get smarter, we get dumber.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 29th, 2023, 8:19 pm

^^^^^^ that last line rings so true!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2023, 9:27 am

Car audio and this generation amounts to

1: Some huge rear loaded flare boxes for mids

2: Sub enclosures tuned to 60hz and they calling that bass

3: Playing at least 5 songs over and over in every show they go because that's all they could play.

4: for every 25 vehicles, you would find 1 vehicle with a tonal bassline

Postby Rovin » May 30th, 2023, 1:40 pm

^^^^ i too said all of that over 10yrs ago & get plenty angry words

that horse has left d barn ages ago so spend ur $ as u fit & how u like ur system & who like\doh like let them build theirs ....

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 31st, 2023, 9:17 am

It's the same as speed men

No body cares about being able to take a corner or actually put power down to the ground

As long as men hearing a sututututu and it could do a burnout, dey feel dey car fast.

Same with loud music, as long as d mids clapping and wares/galvanize shaking in the house, is a quality system to them.