how does you bass travel (direction)

-bushman-
Location: trying to drown a goldfish in an aquarium full of water

how does you bass travel (direction)

Postby -bushman- » November 14th, 2008, 4:48 pm

I noticed that my bass travells from the side of my car rather than from the front when the windows down & the doors closed but my frens cars, thier bass travells forward mostly. you dont hear me as much wen Im comming towards you (mind you my frens bassline consists of amps gains set to max & thier subs full of distortion & clipping)

with the doors open my bass travells equally to the front of the car & the sides.

something wrong with mine?

Pinkcorolla

Postby Pinkcorolla » November 14th, 2008, 4:58 pm

i dunno wey my bass duz travel but neighbours windows n pots duz b shakin. Is ur enclosure ported? what direction is ur port firing? is your trunk sealed up? Backdash Ported?
Last edited by Pinkcorolla on November 18th, 2008, 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 14th, 2008, 6:49 pm

have to say what type of vehicle (wagon?) also port and sub placement forward / rear?

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » November 14th, 2008, 6:58 pm

it depends on yh vehicle and yh enclosure and placement in yh car !!!

riadb

Postby riadb » November 14th, 2008, 7:05 pm

cabin design togeher with enclosure placement and port firing direction...

subs & ports that face forward tend to throw more to the side of the vehicle while subs & ports facing the trunk tend to throw more to the front of the vehicle.

sedans will have a different dispersion to hatchbacks/wagons..

Don't make this a problem...If you like your system the way it is and how it sounds don't let these trivial judgements get to you :wink:

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 15th, 2008, 9:31 pm

I not lettin the trivial judgements get to me nah lol, Its jus that I apprantly underestimated my system, I usually find that I hardly hear it when I come out the car to open the gate to drive in home but people always complaining of my music. thursday night by the time I reach home mom by the gate waiting with her arms folded, how did she know I comming home, well she obviously hearing me from god knows how far way.
Friday I'm in traffic playing my music moderately loud & positive that nobody hearing it outside the car 3 youths passing by talking bout the song I playing (3suns - carnival darling) & telling me it sounding good, I wondering how can they hear it?

I was wondering how can the same system that I barely hear from 30 feet in front the car be heard from 300 feet away from the side of the car (when place dead quiet).

I guess port firing direction, enclosure placement & cabin cabin design affects it for real.

I guess I will have to listen to some other cars like mine & see if thier bass travells like mine.

Pinkcorolla, I hav no backseat & no my backdash not ported.

riadb, I have a new account, my last one get messed up by me, you already know my system :D . you heard it when I had the pwm20 preamp, I got rid of that a few months ago & have an xover like what you bought for your system.

riadb

Postby riadb » November 15th, 2008, 9:51 pm

niceeeeeeeeeeee

crossover works great ent?? :lol: :lol:

maybe nex time i see u yuh i could get a demo :wink:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 15th, 2008, 10:02 pm

u shud be glad its 'traveling' like that since some cars have more than u & it not going anywhere .... :mrgreen:

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 15th, 2008, 10:25 pm

riadb boy, since the first time I see it in tripple R I know I wanted one, I had my mind set on it.

(...Rovin...), if i had known it does travel I woulda never wind down my glass dem @ all

but I guess it has something to do with a good enclosure design too :wink:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 16th, 2008, 12:04 am

maybe I missed it but how again is your enclosure placed?? subs firing to rear of vehicle? ports on sub mount face of enclosure? etc etc?

There's a very comprehensive write up somewhere about placement of enclosures....lost the link though, will try to re-locate the url.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 16th, 2008, 12:28 am

not the article I'm thinking of but very similar.... Woofer Box Aiming - by Eddie Runner

some other interesting stuff........ http://www.installer.com/tech/

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 16th, 2008, 11:56 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~, thanks for the post, im opening it to do some reading now.

my sub is facing forward & the port facing forward as well. its in my trunk & it try to keep the enclosure near the back of the trunk (the front is only a few inches from the backseat though). the enclosure slides up about a 6" forward wen I mash brakes.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 16th, 2008, 12:11 pm

the enclosure slides up about a 6" forward wen I mash brakes.

use your jack to jam it

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 16th, 2008, 12:22 pm

the amp is there, there is a piece of mdf under the trunk mat that the amp is screwed down to, this keeps it from sliding up to the amp.
the jack & a 2 liter bottle of water are on either side of the box to keep it from moving sideways & destroying my trunk insides.

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 16th, 2008, 7:47 pm

riadb wrote:niceeeeeeeeeeee

crossover works great ent?? :lol: :lol:

maybe nex time i see u yuh i could get a demo :wink:

xover wuckkin nice, i love it :D

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » November 18th, 2008, 11:21 am

As dj Q said, put your jack on top of the box and raise it to brace against the under of your back dash.....that should do the trick

riadb

Postby riadb » November 18th, 2008, 11:42 am

i doh recommend dat at all nah....too much rattle

Postby SR » November 18th, 2008, 11:44 am

i like how my bass sounds INSIDE my car

riadb

Postby riadb » November 18th, 2008, 11:45 am

bass sounds INSIDE my car

me too :lol:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 18th, 2008, 2:39 pm

too much rattle

what the hell is that :?

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » November 18th, 2008, 8:30 pm

true...there may be rattling....but lil dampening an u on like corn

theblitz

Postby theblitz » November 18th, 2008, 9:09 pm

man i surprised this thread still here and not deleted yet :?

Once your vehicle not rattling like mad to annoy ppl outside the car why do you care where the bass goes outside? Design the damn thing to listen to inside nah- no headrest pods, no flares and 8" facing outside the window. Really pointless :|

You still haven't stated what kinda car it is... sedan or hatch/wagon? Another thing is to get the output you desire is not always practical, for space reasons.

I personally am running 15's in a sealed enclosure for space preservation and CANNOT complain about the loudness and quality of the bassline inside the car. Its not too loud outside but heck... thank god it ain't annoying :roll:

markzz

Postby markzz » November 18th, 2008, 9:14 pm

huh..all this stress to keep yuh box from sliding? :|

i floored my trunk with mdf and made a bracket for my box to fit it.. :)

it dont slide and go nowhere :mrgreen:

everything else is built around that... iz drive hard so cant risk stuff sliding all over the place and getting damaged an making annoying sounds also risking damage to your equiptment.... :oops:

also securing your install properly is really important in case of god forbid the possibility of an accident... things loose inside your car even your trunk are very dangerous cuz they can become cause of physical harm to yourself or passengers in your vehicle...

Play it hard but play it safe guys.. Safety first! :wink:

theblitz

Postby theblitz » November 18th, 2008, 9:19 pm

things loose inside your car even your trunk are very dangerous cuz they can become cause of physical harm to yourself or passengers in your vehicle...

8", 10", Flares, helmets, briefcase........ lol list goes on

Dem damn taxis with loose speakers on the rear dash are potential projectiles.

Imagine a solid eminence flying at the back of your head at 100km/h :shock:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 19th, 2008, 7:44 am

I still don't understand why a car would rattle :?

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 7:54 am

theblitz wrote:Once your vehicle not rattling like mad to annoy ppl outside the car why do you care where the bass goes outside? Design the damn thing to listen to inside nah- no headrest pods, no flares and 8" facing outside the window. Really pointless :|

You still haven't stated what kinda car it is... sedan or hatch/wagon? Another thing is to get the output you desire is not always practical, for space reasons.

I hav no pods or anything loose to fly around bro :?

its a sedan.

I dont know how you guys want me to deaden my backseat? that is what rattles....

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 19th, 2008, 8:21 am

How yuh supposed to deaden sponge :lol:

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 8:48 am

soak it in water :lol:

riadb

Postby riadb » November 19th, 2008, 8:58 am

-bushman-, it's not the seat that's rattling it's the hooks that the seat is mounted on..

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 19th, 2008, 9:15 am

mine does hit the metal frame in the back after the air pushes out & the seat comes back in place, its really annoying. with the seat inside the back dash rattles as well.