wtk WMD2

Modified Sound system

wtk WMD2

Postby Modified Sound system » December 18th, 2009, 10:28 pm

What cud be the expected SPL for 1 18" WMD2 sub ?
and cud the recommended box for the 18 fit in an EG8 Civic?

BTW what allyuh could recommend for a single sub to clock more than 150.0db...........taking into consideration i planning on powering it with 2 modified kickerkx1200.1, to 1 ohm and 16 volts ,amplifiers.

*And an installer to build and tune box if it cud be built in an EG8 civic trunk.*

Postby 3stagevtec » December 18th, 2009, 10:52 pm

that will be a hard fit! an 18" will be trouble to fit in any trunk car.. unless you own an old Chevy Impala or similar..

also, most 18"s will require 6 - 10 cu.ft to function properly. that plus port displacement will work up to be too much imo, especially for an EG trunk..

if you toss the back seat, you can use your trunk for the amps, batteries, processors etc.. and build the box in the back seat area of your car..

150+dB is quite possible with 1 18" and ~2000W.. it will take abit of tuning / experimentation to get there.. but definitely possible..

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 19th, 2009, 1:46 am

i recommend a grinder

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » December 19th, 2009, 6:36 am

lol its gonna be very hard with that box volume, but it can be done, nothings impossible..

Modified Sound system

Postby Modified Sound system » December 19th, 2009, 8:05 am

no well we are just speculating we want a single sub to do around 150-152db. it doesn't have to be a 18"

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » December 19th, 2009, 8:56 am

For that vehicle. it will be easier to work with a single 15"

Postby SR » December 19th, 2009, 9:14 am

build a wall

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 19th, 2009, 9:17 am

or buy a wagon instead ... :mrgreen:

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » December 19th, 2009, 10:51 am

fuzz_174 wrote:For that vehicle. it will be easier to work with a single 15"

:infinity:

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 19th, 2009, 11:12 am

fuzz don't u say that pioneer 8001 spl have potential?

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » December 19th, 2009, 11:52 am

Potential is the wrong word :mrgreen:

Personal best score with this sub is 151.5 Db with 3000rms

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... a0718d3581

Modified Sound system

Postby Modified Sound system » December 19th, 2009, 2:39 pm

excellent score with that pioneer jed. but hear nah next year planning on building a single 15 WMD2 and i really want to know who can build the box in a civic eg8 trunk with their materials and what will be the cost to tune an thing.

Postby SR » December 19th, 2009, 2:43 pm

is this for spl only?

Modified Sound system

Postby Modified Sound system » December 19th, 2009, 3:25 pm

yeah it is mostly for spl buh must have a lil street too.lol

Postby SR » December 19th, 2009, 3:38 pm

its one or the other you cant get the highest spl with a subwoofer system designed to play

as you are aiming to hit over 150 with a sub installed in the trunk of a sedan it is very difficult to get it to play proper sound for everyday "street" playing and do those numbers