Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

Brian Steele

Re: Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

Postby Brian Steele » May 2nd, 2023, 9:25 am

Did you click on the image in the previous message in this thread? It expands to full size. At least on my PC...

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 2nd, 2023, 1:26 pm

yeah I seeing it clean and clear on my end too

Postby sMASH » May 2nd, 2023, 6:13 pm

I did, and that's the screen shot fir it.

Saved the pic to the fone, snd it opened properly

6ft total psth length? Or so.

U have a sine sweep response curve?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » May 2nd, 2023, 8:20 pm

I have a page up about the project at http://www.diysubwoofers.org/projects/other/POC7/

There's an FR graph there, but it's not an accurate one because it was taken in my garage.

The linearity of this build is something else. Can only handle 100W though before hitting 10% THD, because it's a cheap PA speaker with only 5mm Xmax.

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2023, 9:05 am

I was watching the dropp off at 45hz and was saying oh geed.
But then realized thst was at over 100db's

At 90 dB ur getting 28hz... Not bad at all.

Since i more concerned about bass, i like the consistent response along the curve for the bass portion.

I was watching the midbass and mids comb pattern and got an idea.
was wondering if ur willing to modify the enclosure to try some experiments to see how they would affect thst comb pattern

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » May 3rd, 2023, 4:38 pm

sMASH wrote:I was watching the dropp off at 45hz and was saying oh geed.

Look at the scale. This build is +/- 2.5 dB from 42 Hz to 100 Hz. The passband is probably a little bit lumpy due to proximity effects from nearby walls. Considering that Hornresp does not include the effect of box losses, it's performing as I expected.

sMASH wrote:At 90 dB ur getting 28hz... Not bad at all.

I wouldn't use this design anywhere near that frequency. Fb is ~42 Hz, LOL. The driver is essentially unloaded below that point.

sMASH wrote:I was watching the midbass and mids comb pattern and got an idea.
was wondering if ur willing to modify the enclosure to try some experiments to see how they would affect thst comb pattern

Are you referring to the response above 200 Hz? If I was concerned about that, I'd probably opt for a different type of design, e.g. a more tapered line to drive those resonances up in frequency to where they can be more easily dealt with by stuffing part of the line.

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2023, 7:29 pm

Brian Steele wrote:
sMASH wrote:I was watching the dropp off at 45hz and was saying oh geed.

Look at the scale. This build is +/- 2.5 dB from 42 Hz to 100 Hz. The passband is probably a little bit lumpy due to proximity effects from nearby walls. Considering that Hornresp does not include the effect of box losses, it's performing as I expected.

sMASH wrote:At 90 dB ur getting 28hz... Not bad at all.

I wouldn't use this design anywhere near that frequency. Fb is ~42 Hz, LOL. The driver is essentially unloaded below that point.

sMASH wrote:I was watching the midbass and mids comb pattern and got an idea.

Are you referring to the response above 200 Hz? If I was concerned about that, I'd probably opt for a different type of design, e.g. a more tapered line to drive those resonances up in frequency to where they can be more easily dealt with by stuffing part of the line.
But if ur interested in abusing this box to play around with the meter... I got some ideas.

Postby Rovin » May 7th, 2023, 2:12 pm

something different ...

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2023, 4:38 pm

https://youtu.be/Nq4KWMBR8Yg

Bsrevids hsve a video series out where he testing out various enclosures.

It seems, 6th is the way for me. T line good bit too big

Btw, i set off a car alarm two cars away, with the 300rms 8", in the flared horn

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » May 7th, 2023, 10:38 pm

sMASH wrote:It seems, 6th is the way for me. T line good bit too big

Unless you're building a "bass whistle", the overall volume of a TL should be only slightly bigger than a vented box designed for the same driver. Go bigger and you just gain more output around the resonance frequency.

6th orders are winning the barevids contest because they are higher order designs that provide some gain and load the driver at more than one frequency. Vented alignments and TL alignments only load the driver at one frequency.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » May 7th, 2023, 10:52 pm

Rovin wrote:something different ...

Not really a horn. More likely a 1/4 wave resonator. A true bass horn will need to have a path length and mouth diameter comparable to the lowest frequency the horn is being designed to produce. At 35 Hz, the effective radius of the mouth would need to be 3 meters, which is a bit big to fit in most cars :-).. Most of what you see people say are "bass horns" are just 1/4 wave resonators.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 8th, 2023, 8:14 am

Brian Steele wrote:
sMASH wrote:It seems, 6th is the way for me. T line good bit too big

Unless you're building a "bass whistle", the overall volume of a TL should be only slightly bigger than a vented box designed for the same driver. Go bigger and you just gain more output around the resonance frequency.

6th orders are winning the barevids contest because they are higher order designs that provide some gain and load the driver at more than one frequency. Vented alignments and TL alignments only load the driver at one frequency.

That's why I love 6ths

You can engineer it to have two peaks or a wide flat plateau

In another thread I was saying I'd design a 6th to have a peak at the exact dip in my car's bass response.

Winisd makes it so easy too, you can just click and hold and manipulate the box volume/tuning in real time and see the frequency response change, again in real time. It's an art to master, really love it.
(Not sure if horn resp can do this, but it would be cool)

Then I throw the values into BassBoxPro and fine tune the design some more because it can take other parameters into account. Stuffing etc.

(Wouldn't choose it for an SQ build though, I think on Brian's site self he was saying it isn't good for transients)

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2023, 7:51 pm

Yesh, the spread of the two peaks is what i might be into.

I will dedicate some time to design a t line, snd tryyyyyyyyy to model it in horn rsp. But that software bummies me.

Frequencies i looking st is 20hz to 35hz...

Would let s higher tuned enslosure handle the 40hz and above.

I really came to post this pic from hexibass

FB_IMG_1683655671456.jpg

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » May 9th, 2023, 8:04 pm

sMASH wrote:I will dedicate some time to design a t line, snd tryyyyyyyyy to model it in horn rsp. But that software bummies me.

This might help... http://www.diysubwoofers.org/tls/

Hexibase's designs look interesting, but I don't agree with some of the stuff he says ("3rd order" subwoofer alignment? Really?) and the designs look overly complex. For example, that picture you posted, I'd just use two drivers in a vented or TL design instead, fix any issues with DSP, and enjoy good bass and better integration with the midbass drivers in my car.

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2023, 8:18 pm

On thr topic of overly complex designs...

Can u put differently tuned ports in the same enclosure?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » May 9th, 2023, 8:22 pm

sMASH wrote:On thr topic of overly complex designs...

Yes, but why would you? You'd still end up with one Fb anyway, and one vent working better than the other.

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2023, 9:42 pm

Ive seen lil tests with people 6th orders.
And no real air movements away from the tuning frequencies.
So was thinking, could thst work in one enclosure.

But i was thinking about passive radiators,

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 10th, 2023, 11:19 am

Brian Steele wrote:
sMASH wrote:On thr topic of overly complex designs...

Yes, but why would you? You'd still end up with one Fb anyway, and one vent working better than the other.

Yeah, I think it would be an average of the responses or just outright catastrophic cancelation within the resonating chamber.

But we can try it. Might discover something new.

Postby Rovin » May 10th, 2023, 11:51 am

yrsssssss ago i tried doing 2 different port tunings on a basic simple ported box jes to hear for myself what wud happen - u tend to hear d higher freqs more pronounced over d lower 1s, so imo it doesnt make any sense but hey i got to experiment & experience in real life rather than jes taking what random ppl posts on d interwebz ...

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2023, 2:29 pm

Rovin wrote:yrsssssss ago i tried doing 2 different port tunings on a basic simple ported box jes to hear for myself what wud happen - u tend to hear d higher freqs more pronounced over d lower 1s, so imo it doesnt make any sense but hey i got to experiment & experience in real life rather than jes taking what random ppl posts on d interwebz ...
I was thinking thwt, soooo the idea is, to max out the lower tuned radiator , and make the higher tuned one, smaller to keep it balanced.

I had tried wirh winisd to get some low tunes, but there tends to get a big valley between the port tune and the roll off of the sub.

So, wss thinking, to put another port to fill in that gap.

The thing is, u dont reslly see air movements away from the port tune, sooooo, In my head it could work

I getting ideas.. Realll content to fill that youtube channel.

Postby Rovin » May 10th, 2023, 2:32 pm

go watch HEXIBASE channel, u will get even more ideas ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 10th, 2023, 4:22 pm

sMASH wrote:
Rovin wrote:yrsssssss ago i tried doing 2 different port tunings on a basic simple ported box jes to hear for myself what wud happen - u tend to hear d higher freqs more pronounced over d lower 1s, so imo it doesnt make any sense but hey i got to experiment & experience in real life rather than jes taking what random ppl posts on d interwebz ...
I was thinking thwt, soooo the idea is, to max out the lower tuned radiator , and make the higher tuned one, smaller to keep it balanced.

I had tried wirh winisd to get some low tunes, but there tends to get a big valley between the port tune and the roll off of the sub.

The thing is, u dont reslly see air movements away from the port tune, sooooo, In my head it could work

with 6th order bandpass you mean pa?

Yeah it's an art and a science. To get a flat top, (ie wide bandwidth) you'll have to sacrifice loudness. Or you'll have to use insanely large volumes or port lengths especially if your plan is to dig low.

Is all tradeoffs and compromises.

If is a regular ported box, then nah, I doh see that working na bai

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2023, 12:27 pm

Rovin wrote:go watch HEXIBASE channel, u will get even more ideas ...
Bro, that's whst got me fired up, lol.

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2023, 12:29 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
sMASH wrote:

with 6th order bandpass you mean pa?

Yeah it's an art and a science. To get a flat top, (ie wide bandwidth) you'll have to sacrifice loudness. Or you'll have to use insanely large volumes or port lengths especially if your plan is to dig low.

Is all tradeoffs and compromises.

If is a regular ported box, then nah, I doh see that working na bai
Yeah, long large ports fir lows. And smsller one for the higher bass.

When I get time to screw around with the software I'll screen shot the concept.

Could use the same 8" to keep the driver consistent.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 12th, 2023, 8:44 am

Actually sometimes 6th orders does have you doing it the other way around :lol:

Small port for the lows because the volume ends up being too small for that chamber , because if you use a regular sized port it will be exTREMELY long

Is relllll fine tuning 6ths need. But very fun once you get the hang of the WinISD cursor dance :)

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2023, 7:37 pm

I get a demo of time lapse jl sealed system todsy...

Friggin ting impressive. Clean, loud, punchy, deep, shaking.
Image coming from the a pillars, i thought was 2" mids, asked whst the hpf set at, he say 2k.
I say what! Fully expecting it to be 500hz,,, but is tweets.
He get the image above the dash.

Couldn't experience the left right alignment cause we didn't have time to run those kinds of trscks.

Bass... It hitting everytinggggggvbvb
High bass, lowbass, midbsss, sub.

Anu ting from acoustic to rebassed, chopped snd slowwed... The system handling it.

Some notes kinda inaccurate, but it a good trade off for being able tackle the full spectrum. With 1 sealed 10 and door midbass.

Fully impressed.

Postby Rovin » May 13th, 2023, 7:44 pm

u know how long i waiting for times to gimme a demo, maybe bout a yr now, man like he disappear from tuner too ...

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2023, 8:00 pm

Rovin wrote:u know how long i waiting for times to gimme a demo, maybe bout a yr now, man like he disappear from tuner too ...
For a personal system/not park and pound, u really dont need more thsn thst. Yhe quality of the music is good fir daily pleasure

U hadda hold a lil clinic,,, like a test an chune.

I went one a time by Karti, and i think u pulled up with the xxx build

That my first time hearing sq... Was not impressed by those systems tho.

Postby Rovin » May 14th, 2023, 2:36 pm

me ?, i not qualified or certified trained to hold any sort of clinic - other ppl are & they do have clinics, u shud join d iasca or meca ppl fb page for notifications when they have stuff going on

well look at that didnt know u at d time & how u were there, videsh\soundstream 626 on here was d guy with d 12 xxx not me, iirc i had a 12 idmax in those days

karti former store was located not far from me so i went there lots of times when they had meets, even across d road in price club carpark i went to some of d iasca meets there & when other promoters had normal carshows there too

most systems built for sq sound really nice if u know\appreciate what good stuff supposed to sound like but dont expect it to sound spicy or bass heavy to what most daily trinis are accustomed to ...

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2023, 5:20 pm

Rovin wrote:me ?, i not qualified or certified trained to hold any sort of clinic - other ppl are & they do have clinics, u shud join d iasca or meca ppl fb page for notifications when they have stuff going on

well look at that didnt know u at d time & how u were there, videsh\soundstream 626 on here was d guy with d 12 xxx not me, iirc i had a 12 idmax in those days

karti former store was located not far from me so i went there lots of times when they had meets, even across d road in price club carpark i went to some of d iasca meets there & when other promoters had normal carshows there too

most systems built for sq sound really nice if u know\appreciate what good stuff supposed to sound like but dont expect it to sound spicy or bass heavy to what most daily trinis are accustomed to ...

Noooo. Just as an organizer...
The middleman fir sq men, and new sq men.

Not as a professional. Just a facilitator.