DEX-P99RS

Re: DEX-P99RS

Postby nervewrecker » September 15th, 2011, 10:16 pm

well I am seeing the suggested price as $1349.00

I am seeing the Bit One for approx $800.00 & RF 3sixty.2 for $699.00, if we multiply by 6 thats approx $4800.00 & $4200.00 respectively.
Add in a head unit & thats about say $1500.00 - $2000.00.
If we say $4000.00 for a processor & $1500.00 for a head unit then thats a total of $5500.00 & one will still need a laptop. A good laptop should be within the $3000.00 range if I am not mistaken so thats $8500.00.
Considering simplicity & ease of installation as well as the ability to tune without having to plug in an external device i'd say that $8750.00 may very well be a damn good price if you looking for the features I am looking for.

*rubs chin*

Soundstream_626 I think it may be an improvement to what I currently have lol, each time I have to start from scratch, find folder & file so if it so much as starts back in the same folder I will be happy. I only have 50 - 100 files per folder though.
I'll miss dual usb though :cry: :cry: :cry:

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » September 16th, 2011, 9:56 am

the display looks pretty basic i doh see whats all the fuss about.

Postby SR » September 16th, 2011, 10:20 am

you wouldnt until you can understand all what it can do

and well worht the price considering the equipment you will need to purchase separatley to get the same functions and processing power

Postby nervewrecker » September 16th, 2011, 11:01 am

D.S.S wrote:the display looks pretty basic i doh see whats all the fuss about.

I dont like how it looks like a rectangular block though :lol:
But its sexy.
Any info on if the volume knobs fall of though?

sr, pm me a little more info with respect to warranty, installation (if I can DIY) etc.

Postby SR » September 16th, 2011, 11:07 am

no warranty if DIY

cannot be held responsible due to peoples carlessness (not saying you)

never had a problem out of the box or with any of the units we have sold so far from pioneer

all the units i deal with are brand new from pioneer dist from the states and not from other sources that sell b stock etc at reduced costs

installation is just like any other head unit
must have some clearance in the dash for all the rca cables if going 4 way active thats the only down side as in some vehilce it will be a tight fit but proper wiring techniques will ensure this isnt a problem
again if yuh jes shoving the deck in the dash..........

volume knob falling off ..............roflmao surely you jest

Postby nervewrecker » September 16th, 2011, 11:19 am

There is a lot of space behind my current unit for the rca's to fit.

I will look at the dimensions later & see if its any different from my current unit.

I have heard of rare cases of 880prs knobs & others falling off *bites nails*....I know one competitor without the knob too :lol:

pm me the installation cost nah.

Postby SR » September 16th, 2011, 11:25 am

knob falling off indicates abuse of sorts

dimensions are standard its jsut the space required at the back for the wires

Postby nervewrecker » September 16th, 2011, 11:29 am

Well then I shouldnt have to worry about volume knob falling off, I hardly ever touch mine. :mrgreen:

Postby SR » September 16th, 2011, 11:32 am

$150 labour to install once your wires are already run however depending on your setup you would need to ensure eveything else is configured correctly

my own setup is not running the active xover on the unit
i just have front stage and sub due to the configurations i chose to run
talk to soundstream626 as well he did his own isntall without any issues

to b honest this unit is not for the basic user and one needs to understand its processing power and configurations to get its benefits based on your requirements

we sold one last year to a guy who insisted on running the deck tru a pre amp and was complaining about it didnt sound good etc

a cost was quoted to the guy to troubleshoot his system and he never came back and was most upset when he was advised that he did not need the pre amp and his configurations were wrong

Postby nervewrecker » September 16th, 2011, 11:51 am

Anyhow, I really dont trust myself to install such a costly piece of equipment much less give up the warranty.

& no, its not for basic everyday use. I have been looking around for quite awhile for processors to do what I want but upon running the numbers it seems that this unit may cost me less & have more of what I want. I dont need it right away though but will need it in the near future.

the RF3sixty.2 is $3300.00 btw.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 16th, 2011, 12:42 pm

^^^ or you could talk to rave, and try to pry a dex p9/q9 combo from him... ;)

Sully

Postby Sully » September 16th, 2011, 2:34 pm

nervewrecker wrote:well I am seeing the suggested price as $1349.00

I am seeing the Bit One for approx $800.00 & RF 3sixty.2 for $699.00, if we multiply by 6 thats approx $4800.00 & $4200.00 respectively.
Add in a head unit & thats about say $1500.00 - $2000.00.
If we say $4000.00 for a processor & $1500.00 for a head unit then thats a total of $5500.00 & one will still need a laptop. A good laptop should be within the $3000.00 range if I am not mistaken so thats $8500.00.
Considering simplicity & ease of installation as well as the ability to tune without having to plug in an external device i'd say that $8750.00 may very well be a damn good price if you looking for the features I am looking for.

*rubs chin*

Soundstream_626 I think it may be an improvement to what I currently have lol, each time I have to start from scratch, find folder & file so if it so much as starts back in the same folder I will be happy. I only have 50 - 100 files per folder though.
I'll miss dual usb though :cry: :cry: :cry:

You have US to sell at $6TT to 1USD? If so I buying.

Postby SR » September 16th, 2011, 2:48 pm

http://www.crutchfield.com/s_130DEXP99R ... 30&tp=5684

$1200 us before shipping and duty

at 6.43 exchange rate = $7716TT before shipping and duty

Postby nervewrecker » September 16th, 2011, 6:16 pm

its a rough average sully, like how they estimate amps power output by fuse rating * 10.

Sully

Postby Sully » September 16th, 2011, 8:34 pm

nervewrecker wrote:its a rough average sully, like how they estimate amps power output by fuse rating * 10.

Ironic that you mention that the rule of thumb for estimating current is to multiply the fuse rating by 10. It's the same thing to calculate the landed price of an item in Trinidad if purchased in the US.

US price * 10 for landed price in T&T.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 17th, 2011, 1:14 am

nerve you have to multiply by 10 to get the true price of the item landed here eh......

TriniStore.biz

Postby TriniStore.biz » September 17th, 2011, 2:29 pm

does anyone have used to sell?

Postby nervewrecker » September 17th, 2011, 11:42 pm

US$ price * 6 sometimes work up to the price (take for example the p99 & the alpine type r subwoofers raptor used to sell). its not always US$ * 10 plus I was kinda 'undervaluing' it & its still working up to almost the same amount as the p99.

take for example the RF 3sixty.2, US$699.00, TT$3300.00.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 18th, 2011, 7:08 am

dat looks easy to install.check me when u ready

wishes i didnt have loan to pay

Sully

Postby Sully » September 18th, 2011, 4:36 pm

nervewrecker wrote:US$ price * 6 sometimes work up to the price (take for example the p99 & the alpine type r subwoofers raptor used to sell). its not always US$ * 10 plus I was kinda 'undervaluing' it & its still working up to almost the same amount as the p99.

take for example the RF 3sixty.2, US$699.00, TT$3300.00.

That could work sometime, but not very often. The cases that would work:
1. You're shipping by taking it in a suitcase.
2. You severely undervalue the product for customs, and they believe you.
3. You're purchasing from a distributor who got the product really cheap (why they got it cheap, I'll leave that for another topic.

Either way each of the above methods don't really take into account the true value of bringing in a product via legitimate means.