Re: Fiberglass build

Postby Mr_Carz » May 18th, 2010, 9:42 am

nice work man (Y)

dj cas

Postby dj cas » May 18th, 2010, 2:48 pm

waiting for ah call to pass and hear it...cyah wait...

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 19th, 2010, 2:46 am

The build came to a little pause when we ran out of fiber glass and was sort of busy (can add some laziness to that) to go and buy some. However, I bought some yesterday and will be resuming later today(when I wake up).

So far, the side walls of the enclosure was coated with 3 layers of fiber glass and resin each and a further 3 layers is still to come. Depending on how strong the walls will become, more might be added. Don't have any current pictures off hand right now but will post some later.

Postby Morpheus » May 19th, 2010, 3:08 am

Where u got the resin and stuff to buy?

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 19th, 2010, 2:09 pm

Morpheus wrote:Where u got the resin and stuff to buy?

In a boating store between NAPS Boys and the San Fernando General Hospital. Across the road from it should have a Rituals Coffee Shop.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » May 19th, 2010, 2:18 pm

Think the name is Corsa Marketing or something so

Postby 3stagevtec » May 19th, 2010, 5:46 pm

^ Yup, Corsa Marketing Ltd..

3 Layers on the sides

One angle grinder later..

Test fitting the enclosure..

Success, leg room aplenty!

Factory storage still functional.

All that's needed now is to add a few more layers to the sides and ensure all joins are air tight.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » May 19th, 2010, 6:25 pm

looking great

Postby Morpheus » May 20th, 2010, 1:59 am

cvt-7_RR wrote:
Morpheus wrote:Where u got the resin and stuff to buy?

In a boating store between NAPS Boys and the San Fernando General Hospital. Across the road from it should have a Rituals Coffee Shop.

Ok cool thanks

Firewall

Re: Fiberglass build (updated pg2)

Postby Firewall » May 20th, 2010, 8:15 am

how come you just glass to the edges in the beginning?
because now you will have to go through and do the edges now and make sure you don't get any bubbles forming

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 20th, 2010, 8:19 am

i just have one question.....what happens when yo have to fit 3 ppl in the backseat?

do you take it out?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » May 20th, 2010, 9:21 am

how u planning to finish it?

carpet and sponge, leather, or filler and paint ?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 20th, 2010, 10:15 am

Firewall wrote:Think the name is Corsa Marketing or something so

X2 corsa marketing for the best service/ cheapest prices on fiberglass in south. They have branches in chagaramus and Tobago(iirc). Plus some hawt Chicks work there!

jeff

Postby jeff » May 20th, 2010, 10:24 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:i just have one question.....what happens when yo have to fit 3 ppl in the backseat?

do you take it out?

when i did a similar experiment in a van the person in the middle had to "open dey leg" thats all :mrgreen:

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » May 20th, 2010, 11:49 am

vids?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » May 20th, 2010, 11:56 am

how much cuft you got?

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » May 20th, 2010, 6:39 pm

southside connections wrote:how much cuft you got?

Also if you were to port it how would you go about doing it?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 20th, 2010, 6:56 pm

jeff wrote:
SmokeyGTi wrote:i just have one question.....what happens when yo have to fit 3 ppl in the backseat?

do you take it out?

when i did a similar experiment in a van the person in the middle had to "open dey leg" thats all :mrgreen:

^ what he said.. the box is actually built so that a 3rd person can sit 'over' the enclosure without it getting too much in your way..

anyhow you look at it, the middle rear seat passenger would already have their feet placed on both sides of the hump on the middle of the vehicle.. so it's not as intrusive as you might think..

Firewall wrote:how come you just glass to the edges in the beginning?
because now you will have to go through and do the edges now and make sure you don't get any bubbles forming

I don't understand the question..

infinite_RPM wrote:vids?

Once completed, yes..

southside connections wrote:how u planning to finish it?

carpet and sponge, leather, or filler and paint ?

most likely it will be carpet but I will confirm that when I finish construct it..

depending on how it looks inside the vehicle, filler and paint maybe another option..

I haven't measured the volume as yet as there are some small holes where some panels join.. As soon as I get them sealed up, I'll measure the volume by filling it with water..

I don't believe in the packing peanuts method..

Stay Tuned wrote:Also if you were to port it how would you go about doing it?

I have a piece of 2.75" flexible tubing and a flared end to go with it.. I was thinking to run the port external along a crease below the front edge of the seat.. In that location, it will not interfere with rear passengers and allow me to not loose any internal volume..

southside connections

Postby southside connections » May 20th, 2010, 9:11 pm

you should fill it, it can help by adding adding mass to areas, also it helps with sealing the box perfectly

Postby 3stagevtec » May 20th, 2010, 10:15 pm

southside connections wrote:you should fill it, it can help by adding adding mass to areas, also it helps with sealing the box perfectly

good point!

southside connections

Postby southside connections » May 20th, 2010, 11:27 pm

yea, even if the box is to be carpeted, i still send it by the body shop for filling

also, consider using 1-2 layers of dampening on the inside also, plus a loose polly fill, and you good to go!!

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » May 21st, 2010, 12:11 am

southside connections wrote:yea, even if the box is to be carpeted, i still send it by the body shop for filling

also, consider using 1-2 layers of dampening on the inside also, plus a loose polly fill, and you good to go!!

It would take away from his volume.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » May 21st, 2010, 8:53 am

correct but considering the stability of the enclosure walls, it may be a good option if areas are a little weak and need a little more added mass

also, the pollyfill can work wonders if used correctly

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 21st, 2010, 9:35 am

looking good so far

i feel u might end up fillering it to get it smooth - might really be easier to just let a body shop or upholstery shop sort out d final finish unless u prefer d DIY method ...

southside connections

Postby southside connections » May 21st, 2010, 10:38 am

3stage, i recommend the time saving method-

body shop/straightner

Postby 3stagevtec » May 22nd, 2010, 1:11 pm

Approximately 0.688cu.ft total.. :D

Stay Tuned

Postby Stay Tuned » May 22nd, 2010, 3:44 pm

So ported it is then, but where? Pics?

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 23rd, 2010, 1:04 am

Alright... The enclosure now finish build. Still have to add the port and carpet it, but that "shouldn't" be a hard job, or take long. Anyway, the pics. It's does not look that much different from the previous pictures...

This side will be against the back seat:

Care to guess what side this is? (don't answer this :? )

Inside the enclosure. If you watch carefully, the side walls are 6 layers thick and 1 layer of cloth. Is it strong? Yes... Yes it is. :)

All the corners were properly sealed with fiber glass inside the box (It is kind of hard to see in the picture). The thin strip coming down the side wall is my idea of bracing. Had some remaining fiber glass and to not waste it, "I tried ah ting."

My views on a fiber glass build?
IT'S NOT EASY!!
Yes, slapping some fiber glass up and painting it with resin does not sound hard and I was thinking that when I now started the build. However, the amount of time and patience required for a build like this is insane. We are talking about over a week if you are new to this kind of build. And this is my first try at it.
If you ask someone to build something like this for you and they call a high-ish price, chances are, it's worth it.

Later today I will add the port and try to get in a video...

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 23rd, 2010, 1:24 am

Stay Tuned wrote:So ported it is then, but where? Pics?

3stagevtec wrote:I have a piece of 2.75" flexible tubing and a flared end to go with it.. I was thinking to run the port external along a crease below the front edge of the seat.. In that location, it will not interfere with rear passengers and allow me to not loose any internal volume..

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » May 25th, 2010, 9:29 am

very nice work man
keep it up!