SQ at MK's Last Car Show for 2011 *CASH PRIZES*

Re: SQ at MK's Last Car Show for 2011 *CASH PRIZES*

Postby SR » November 30th, 2011, 8:32 am

IASCA Caribbean early Membership/Renewal package for 2012 season
We will be offering the following special package for eraly renewal/new membership

Current members $100 (membership card must be presented)
Past and new members $200 (includes an SBN25 t shirt while stocks last)

this offer will be valid at the last 2 events for this year
Sunday Dec 4th Ato boldon stadium Mk promotions/Ice club event
Saturday Dec10th DEAUDIO Marabella event

current Membership expires in Dec and the new season starts in January 2012
Membership after these dates will be as follows
current 2011 members $200
new/renewal $250

Iasca membership will aslo include discounts at authorised shops across the country
A list will be presented in january

Membership forms can be collected at these events as well as any Iasca judge
forms will aslo be emailed out to everyone on our mailing list

Forms can only be submitted to an IASCA official and no longer thru a shop

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » November 30th, 2011, 8:20 pm

That is an excellent initiative. :)

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 1st, 2011, 7:32 am

Rumours are that a certain competitor is walking with his winer girls for SQ.
:shock: :shock: :shock:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 2nd, 2011, 8:38 am

2 days again...
The other rumours are true, there will be appearances of special signature edition enclosures at the show...
Can't wait!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 2nd, 2011, 11:31 am

Just a reminder for the SQ guys to reach early, so we can finish on time, and allow the soundtests, etc, to begin.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 2nd, 2011, 12:44 pm

silent_riot wrote:Rumours are that a certain competitor is walking with his winer girls for SQ.

hold up hold up, is that why lance offered me a ride :|

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 2nd, 2011, 2:29 pm

Now, it all makes sense...
Winer girls...and Chris Garcia!

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 2nd, 2011, 9:15 pm

:rofl: :lol:

Hope to see some new faces. Guys, this is the chance to see how your system would score in SQ based competition.
The last event was extremely helpful to me in that many issues were identified. I worked on them subsequently, and it helped me to achieve my second highest IASCA SQ score ever.

Definitely worth your time on an easy Sunday morning.

Siddiqah

Postby Siddiqah » December 2nd, 2011, 9:21 pm

Looking forward to this event. Will be there :D

Siddiqah

Postby Siddiqah » December 2nd, 2011, 9:33 pm

silent_riot wrote:Rumours are that a certain competitor is walking with his winer girls for SQ.

Bess :wink: ...
Will an interpretive SQ dance be done??

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 2nd, 2011, 10:57 pm

Note, there will also be a giveaway for the highest SQ score of the day.

Postby SR » December 2nd, 2011, 11:16 pm

ah hope yuh not givin away kurpal..................men mighten show up

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 2nd, 2011, 11:58 pm

^^^That's not a giveaway, that's like a lifetime debt....ewww

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 3rd, 2011, 5:31 pm

For those competing, though it is understood, I still feel the need to say it:
This is a different competition format to any other competition, with different weightings, judges and scoring.
So do not expect the same results as any other competition format. It is a new challenge.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 3rd, 2011, 8:00 pm

Sadly I dont think Ill be able to cover the SQ/ ICE club event.

No ride to reach the venue in the morn :( Hoping I could bum a ride off someone from st. Augustine side in the morn but unsure right now.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 4th, 2011, 6:50 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Sadly I dont think Ill be able to cover the SQ/ ICE club event.

No ride to reach the venue in the morn :( Hoping I could bum a ride off someone from st. Augustine side in the morn but unsure right now.

err somebody pass fuh he na

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 4th, 2011, 6:53 am

He say he coming. We go see.
I just install some new voice coil in meh ears dey, broke them in overnight.
So I inna gear.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 4th, 2011, 5:30 pm

Results:

Enthusiast Class (70pts max.)
1st Place - Jivrelle Whitehall 56 points (Highest Sense of Space Score)

Intermediate Class (80pts max.)
1st Place - Karim Khan 67 points (Perfect Imaging Score)
2nd Place - Kevin Rasheed 66 points
3rd Place - Vaughn Khan 65 points (Perfect Midbass score)
4th Place - Mario Bissessarsingh 60 points

Advanced Class (80pts max.)
1st Place - Andrew Dopson 64 points
2nd Place - Riad Baksh 59 points (12/13 Imaging Score)

Veteran Class (80pts max.) - judged from one seat
1st Place - Shazad Rahaman 65 points (Best Tonal Accuracy)
2nd Place - Dinelle Nigel Mangalsingh 64 points (Best Tonal Accuracy & Perfect Midbass Score)

Highest SQ Score of the day hamper awarded to Kevin Rasheed.

Thanks to the following:
1) Matthew Mk Khan Jr - MK Promotions as the event host.
2) R&K Imports Ltd. - now Bluewave Audio Trinidad - Prizes sponsor
3) NP Ultra Lubricants - Sponsor of a hamper for best SQ score of the day
4) IASCA Caribbean for the T-shirt giveaway.

Best Regards,
Jonathan Babulal

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 4th, 2011, 8:57 pm

Guys, let me get some feedback from the event, so we know how to plan for future events.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 5th, 2011, 1:32 am

Still stale-drunk from his stag part last night, my brother-in-law and I passed by around 3:30 or so - only to find out that judging had finished and many of the SQ cars had left for the MECA show. So we went there for awhile and returned 'round 5:45 to find the whole place filling up with cars! We stuck around until just after the 1x10" contest. I enjoyed myself (and got to meet Kurpal, busy exercising his camera), but BIL had to work very early the next day (4AM), so we left a bit earlier than I would've liked to. I took a few pics - see https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 018&type=3

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 5th, 2011, 7:43 am

^^^ I can't see the pics. It says content unavailable.
For the MK event, I was glad to say that everything went exactly as planned wrt timing - all the competitors arrived before 9:30am, and we distributed prizes and were out of the venue by 11:45am.

Also guys, our next event is the annual get together - The ICE Club Christmas Dinner.
The carded date is Saturday December 17th at Bal-tha-zaar Restaurant, Couva for 6pm.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 5th, 2011, 8:27 am

silent_riot wrote:^^^ I can't see the pics. It says content unavailable.

Fixed. For some reason the album security was set so only I could see it...

riadb

Postby riadb » December 5th, 2011, 8:59 am

event was reall nice, liked the laidback vibe of the whole thing. Was my first time competing in any sound Q event with a vehicle that wasnt even built for SQ and still managed to get a decent enough score :D Thanks again to JB and the guys for another good event.

Postby SR » December 5th, 2011, 9:12 am

silent_riot wrote:Guys, let me get some feedback from the event, so we know how to plan for future events.

veteran class and 2 seat judging only

my car is not and never will be setup for 2 seat so if this is where i will be classified as to compete i may opt out in the future

maybe a bit more detail in the what the judge is looking for in the choice of tracks also is there a set db level the judge uses when listneing and if so what is it

choice of engine on and off

range of pts in some categories may be too small to define differences between vehicles

other than that i think everything went quite well

drinks cooler was well apreciated for me especially at the other location since i had no lunch and needed the sugar boost

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 5th, 2011, 10:03 am

Good feedback.
Maybe we can set an experience level for the veterans instead.
I really would like to keep it an even playing field for the other classes, as our primary concern is to get more guys in there and help the sport grow.

Postby SR » December 5th, 2011, 11:03 am

not debating the veteran class just the single to 2 seat judging

and i do understand at the same time not to have too many categories

suggestion

i may be wrong
but wasnt the goal of the ice club to teach and encourage new and upcoming enthusiasts into sq

if so then why have a veterans category at all as the ones who fall in this class are the ones who should be imparting knowledge down to the lower classes

let the veterans compete under the international bodies instead as now we have both IASCA and MECA

threeplumes

Postby threeplumes » December 5th, 2011, 1:11 pm

it was niceeee...i know what i need to work on an i coming back to get a better score at the next event forrr sureee

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 5th, 2011, 1:27 pm

Brian Steele wrote:Still stale-drunk from his stag part last night, my brother-in-law and I passed by around 3:30 or so - only to find out that judging had finished and many of the SQ cars had left for the MECA show. So we went there for awhile and returned 'round 5:45 to find the whole place filling up with cars! We stuck around until just after the 1x10" contest. I enjoyed myself (and got to meet Kurpal, busy exercising his camera), but BIL had to work very early the next day (4AM), so we left a bit earlier than I would've liked to. I took a few pics - see https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 018&type=3

Glad you have fun bro, too bad I was on camera duty whole night or I would have spent some more time chilling with you guys.

silent_riot wrote:Guys, let me get some feedback from the event, so we know how to plan for future events.

Maybe at future events where there will be no vendors selling refreshments, you guys could provide a case of water or two and resell to cover the cost, rather than raid dopson's cooler :lol: (I might buy the case out alone since the bar ppl from MK sells you the small bottles for $6).

Other than that note, from my POV I see no issues and will be supporting the ICE club events in future.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 5th, 2011, 3:04 pm

Andrew really was the life saver. He was the only source of refreshments at both events.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 5th, 2011, 8:27 pm

Well, I found the event to be very useful in my quest for higher scores at IASCA, which is how I view the ICE events anyway. I see them as a proving ground for experimentation, instead of taking the risk at an IASCA event.

I intentionally competed that day with ZERO EQ and ZERO TA, even though it was available to me. This essentially gave me a base to work with and now I can use the judge's scoresheet and comments, to tune for IASCA.

The event started on time and ended on time. Demos were minimal, seeing that I heard almost all those cars already. It was refreshing to see some new faces there at a SQ type challenge (threeplumes and Riad), and they scored quite well.

How can this be improved? Personally, the only track I like on the list was Seal's, but the ICE executive said that new tracks would be in place for 2012. This is good. I never liked the idea of Madonna's - Rescue Me as a reference for tonality. I also agree with SR in that the points should be on a larger scale to separate competitors.

All in all, good time, good event and I got a free jersey!! (thanks to SR and IASCA)
Last edited by evolution7tt on December 5th, 2011, 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.