Car audio advice thread

Rage Warrior

Re: Car audio advice thread

Postby Rage Warrior » April 20th, 2023, 10:14 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Is this fabric or plastic ?

But yeah hoss, Evo stik/silicone/even hot glue or wood glue would hold this smol tweety boi

Just need to prepare the surfaces and hold it in place while it cures. Yuh overcomplicating it

Hot glue holding my tweeters in place rn big man ting. Once it's not in direct contact with sunlight/heat it'll last a good while
Plastic
20230420_221243.jpg

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 21st, 2023, 11:58 am

brudda mannnnnnnnnnn look it have a space for the tweeter there :lol:

I did an install in a wingroad a time and it has the same tweeter space.

I just cut a piece of 1inch PVC pipe at an angle to hold the 1inch tweeter to direct it towards the listener (it fit perfectly) And I hot glue he arse inside d hole :lol:

better to make mistakes behind a panel than on top it bai. This A pillar shroud pops off easy too, issa nissan

yuh overcomplicating d scenes bai :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » April 24th, 2023, 10:28 am

Woi fellaz

I had my tweeters flush mounted in to the lil triangle finisher in the door

It does fall out occassionaly, what does bond well to then type of plastics?
Looks like ABS on both the tweeter cup and the finisher

Postby Dave » April 24th, 2023, 10:44 am

Epoxy plastic or the same two side red backing tape

Postby *KRONIK* » April 24th, 2023, 10:45 am

Dave wrote:Epoxy plastic or the same two side red backing tape
I studying the tape ting inno

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 24th, 2023, 11:47 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Woi fellaz

If there's a hole cut already.... Silicone or even hot glue will do the trick. Tweeters are usually the first speaker to blow in a system. Would be ketch arse to have to dig out epoxy neatly from it :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » April 24th, 2023, 11:52 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Woi fellaz

If there's a hole cut already.... Silicone or even hot glue will do the trick. Tweeters are usually the first speaker to blow in a system. Would be ketch arse to have to dig out epoxy neatly from it
Noted

I feel the tape is the way forward

Postby *KRONIK* » April 24th, 2023, 1:09 pm

Ok, so i try some bondic resin on 3 corners at the back, i go re-install the ting and see if if go hold up
Option 2 is to jam some silicone

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » April 24th, 2023, 2:47 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Ok, so i try some bondic resin on 3 corners at the back, i go re-install the ting and see if if go hold up
Option 2 is to jam some silicone
Silicone worked for me. I dont have the tweeter panels. I uninstall, applied to the tweeter and let it cure for 24hrs before reinstall...the 3m two sided tape did not work, feel off after a couple days. (Yes, surfaces were cleaned properly)

Postby sMASH » August 9th, 2023, 1:24 pm

Without creating a new thread, anywhere locally selling parts to repair square kicker speakers?

Postby rollingstock » August 9th, 2023, 1:41 pm

Like what parts. Might get the spider locally. Cone nd surround would be a no of course. The voice coil maybe. The older L7 some are compatible with the replacement soundstream 2.5" xpro coil.

Postby Rovin » August 9th, 2023, 2:56 pm

better u ask some of dem popular speaker repairmen if they have d parts or for guidance as to what will work up ...

Postby X_Factor » August 9th, 2023, 10:35 pm

sMASH wrote:Without creating a new thread, anywhere locally selling parts to repair square kicker speakers?

i doubt u getting that locally, ebay has them for around 30usd cone/suspension

i know of ppl just changing the basket and making a regular sub using the motor

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2023, 6:23 am

sMASH wrote:Without creating a new thread, anywhere locally selling parts to repair square kicker speakers?

Fuzz is the new kicker dealer...I have 2 damaged L7s doing nothing if you want to buy them

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2023, 12:21 pm

I want to use the surrounds to try out the passive radiators.

Just the surrounds am Interested in.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2023, 3:28 pm

Suspension bad in these
IMG-20230810-WA0338.jpg
IMG-20230810-WA0339.jpg

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2023, 4:51 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Suspension bad in these
How much was those new?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2023, 6:05 pm

Back in the day was 1500-2000

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2023, 8:44 pm

*have many subs already, dont need moar*

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 15th, 2023, 8:25 am

Top tip: anyone with a audiocontrol dsp, per channel eq and all pass filters are a go on the new update. As well as better Bluetooth and digital input sources

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » October 30th, 2023, 2:43 pm

Ahhh Tunerr menn,
JLs still playing nice man, you know it nice when i not here asking for advice.
But hear this. I in the market of a used car, is there a forum for some advice on that?

Postby Rovin » October 31st, 2023, 11:47 am

man like jerajmy - we might hadda stop calling u dat ... 8-)

nice to hear d JL c1 working out good for u, hopefully ur hearing & appreciating things in music coming off from ur norm of pro audio speakers

better u go on d ole talk section to ask bout cars then posting off topic here b4 d mods boof yuh ...

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » April 16th, 2024, 10:20 am

Bringing up an ole post here, ent hear from alyh ina while.

C1s with C2's crossover still going good, want to try some tuning. Still haven't got around adding an amp as yet.
My question comes as am using the deck to do everything (cheap elektra with no features). This head unit doesn't have cross over or hpf/lpf cut offs and I've been just EQing out the lower frequencies. Not sure what rolloff the deck naturally comes with but what to use as my cut off on the c1? the EQ on the deck has 31Hz, 50Hz, 62Hz, 100Hz, 125Hz, 180Hz, 250Hz and so on, all these have +/- 12.
https://www.elektramobileaudio.com/mhu-32bt-head-unit/

Postby *KRONIK* » April 16th, 2024, 11:58 am

Man like jeremy... back on the scene

david12

Postby david12 » April 29th, 2024, 12:43 pm

Guys, how important is it to take EBP (Energy bandwidth product) into account when choosing between sealed or ported? If the EBP suggests that the sub would be better suited for a sealed application, will it not perform well in a ported enclosure or vice versa?

Is it a rough guide or something to stick with?

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2024, 2:03 pm

Rough rule of thumb guide.

When u use thr calculators long enough, u get a feel of whst parameters give whst results.
What u can stretch and hiw much.

Especially with spl systems.

Sq systems where accuracy is focus, then it plays a pertinent part

TriniBimmer

Postby TriniBimmer » April 30th, 2024, 12:38 am

Fellas, good to see so many people still getting after it with their car audio setups! There's some really solid advice throughout this thread.

Jeremy, glad to hear the C1s are still treating you well. For that head unit, I'd probably set the EQ to cut everything below 100Hz, maybe even 125Hz to be safe. That should help protect the speakers until you can add an amp with a proper crossover. Keep us posted on how it goes.

And david12, I agree with what sMASH said about EBP being a good general guide for sealed vs ported. It's not an absolute rule, but it can steer you in the right direction, especially when you're looking for accurate sound quality. The modeling is really the best way to know for sure though.

david12

Postby david12 » May 1st, 2024, 3:04 pm

Thanks for the responses guys. Considering building over a smaller ported enclosure or a sealed enclosure just to try it out. The current enclosure I have was built for a physically larger subwoofer with slightly more power handling. Roughly 1.9ft³ tuned to 28hz.

Postby timelapse » November 12th, 2024, 2:36 pm

Anybody heard from ROvin lately?I hope all is well

david12

Postby david12 » November 13th, 2024, 11:10 am

For real, I find it's a while now I haven't seen him post.