some help plz

Mark Divr

some help plz

Postby Mark Divr » January 27th, 2009, 11:01 am

i'm running a 4 channel kicker amp...only using three channels for midds rite now..(saving for the sub)..
i experience a "pop" when i switch off the headunit..and a little engine noise while playing...this recently occured..never had this problem...

so i checked...1)all gound wires..except for the headunit ground
2)correct impedence on channels
3)voltage into the amp

all these things checked out ok...
i realize though..when i reduce the gain..the "pop" is minimized.

is something wrong with my amp???
should i ground the rca's?
throw some dynamite into the car..and blow it up???? (last resort)
thanx in advance..

Mark Divr

Postby Mark Divr » January 27th, 2009, 9:34 pm

i have also done the big three upgrade.....soo am jus stumped :cry:

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » January 27th, 2009, 9:42 pm

throw some dynamite into the car..and blow it up

yeah fsure the noise will stop :lol: :lol:

but try this drop a different signal on the amp ....like i use a lil MP3 player thing and see if you still get the pop ......what bout the wiring ??......does the rca and the power wires meet anywhere along the lines ?

don't relly know what it is since i get that problem with ah boss ch1000 that i deal with..........everyone say it has no soft turn on donno bout that na so i leave it ......also they tell meh to run a relay on the remote wire ....donno how to do that so i jus leave it as no soft turn on but this jus happened to you so can't say!!!

Mark Divr

Postby Mark Divr » January 27th, 2009, 9:51 pm

i think it has to do something with the remote wire..not sure..cuz if i fiddle with it..it distorts the sound a bit...
and yes..the rca and power wires crossin a lil bit ..i have to neaten that up...lol.. i cud try that if is anything..

QUESTION...when i turn on the amp..it goes into protection for like 2 sec then comes off..and plays normally...is this normal..for the protection light to come on???

mazda machine

Postby mazda machine » January 28th, 2009, 6:52 am

since ur power and rca's crossin at sum point.i think u shud re-wire the system.plus try a diff set of rca cables to verify if that is the problem.

Mark Divr

Postby Mark Divr » January 28th, 2009, 7:10 am

^^notable point...will check..!!!

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » January 28th, 2009, 7:23 pm

"and yes..the rca and power wires crossin a lil bit"

well fix that first

"when i turn on the amp..it goes into protection for like 2 sec then comes off..and plays normally...is this normal..for the protection light to come on???"

is the amp getting the correct ohm or going lower that does cause the protection light most of the times and as for the remote wire change it .........it rell cheap $2-5 ah yard !!!

edhardy

Postby edhardy » February 4th, 2009, 9:34 pm

Change the source unit and see if that helps first.
Then check the other components. imo.

riadb

Postby riadb » February 4th, 2009, 10:38 pm

when i turn on the amp..it goes into protection for like 2 sec then comes off..and plays normally...is this normal..for the protection light to come on???"

yes this is normal startup procedure for almost most amplifiers nowadays..

Change the source unit and see if that helps first.

heard u using a pioneer HU, i would highly recommend u check it firstly