XS Power + Huge Buss Bars

sundownz

XS Power + Huge Buss Bars

Postby sundownz » April 29th, 2009, 9:58 am

* I have just a little bit of aluminum here.

* Front brackets to hold them in place will be aluminum angle just like the bars.

* Allen bolts + lock washer + brass washer (have one on both sides)

* This is where the wires will connect for the amps, grounds, flux caps, etc

I think I'll be able to get a couple of amps of current from this bank :)

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 29th, 2009, 10:04 am

very nice

just gotta be carful to not drop like a spanner across it or else ...... :onfire: ..... :lol:

sundownz

Postby sundownz » April 29th, 2009, 10:11 am

Indeed :) My amp rack will cover the + side completely so I will be safe when that is installed.

RawVoltage

Postby RawVoltage » April 29th, 2009, 12:39 pm

very cool & creative :wink:

sundownz

Postby sundownz » April 29th, 2009, 5:42 pm

* Wires installed onto bars

* Taped over the ends of the + bar near the chassis

* Flux Caps and SAX-50.4 on bottom amp rack

* Only the "-" bar is exposed

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » April 29th, 2009, 5:43 pm

lol. i too afraid to do that yes. lookin good there sundownz

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 29th, 2009, 6:54 pm

veddy nice !

i bet once u neaten up those wires & fix back everything ppl wont even know those batts r there ... :)

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 29th, 2009, 7:24 pm

what goin in the trunk??? nighshades or z15's?

sundownz

Postby sundownz » April 29th, 2009, 7:33 pm

Two Nightshade 15s :)

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 29th, 2009, 7:38 pm

be careful

0awg

Postby 0awg » April 29th, 2009, 10:27 pm

this install is strictly for spl?

if so, from what i understand copper is a better conductor of electricity than aluminum (lower resistance), wouldnt it be better to use some copper strips instead of those aluminum angle for better electrical flow? I know it might only be a fraction of a db but in a competition man does lose by 0.1db & thing.

a fella just asking here eh, doh bash meh. :oops:

Pirate

Postby Pirate » April 29th, 2009, 11:57 pm

the copper would be better, but more expensive... (also copper screws and washers are available)
:twisted:

Mr MTX

Postby Mr MTX » April 30th, 2009, 12:04 am

nice idea.....but i honestly fraid to do dat yes...

Leffy

Postby Leffy » April 30th, 2009, 5:13 am

WOW..................... Very unique :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

RawVoltage

Postby RawVoltage » April 30th, 2009, 8:41 am

i rel likin dem amps :wink:

sundownz

Postby sundownz » April 30th, 2009, 8:43 am

0awg wrote:this install is strictly for spl?

if so, from what i understand copper is a better conductor of electricity than aluminum (lower resistance), wouldnt it be better to use some copper strips instead of those aluminum angle for better electrical flow? I know it might only be a fraction of a db but in a competition man does lose by 0.1db & thing.

a fella just asking here eh, doh bash meh. :oops:

Yes, copper would have been better - but I was able to get more than two times the aluminum for less money so I simply over-sized the aluminum to achieve the same result with less money.

sundownz

Postby sundownz » April 30th, 2009, 8:44 am

Thanks all - I will post SPL results soon when the woofers go back in!

0awg

Postby 0awg » April 30th, 2009, 8:54 am

sundownz wrote:Thanks all - I will post SPL results soon after I murder the meter!

fixed.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 30th, 2009, 9:45 am

pioneer wrote:thaz very sweet, honestly i never saw that done before :shock:

:shock: Pios, you ok??

xeon

Postby xeon » April 30th, 2009, 9:49 am

3stagevtec wrote:
pioneer wrote:thaz very sweet, honestly i never saw that done before :shock:

:shock: Pios, you ok??

lol.....ah man in love with d install daz all :D

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » April 30th, 2009, 10:42 am

Yea its a nice piece of work, jus gotta be careful

audioholic big D

Postby audioholic big D » April 30th, 2009, 10:45 am

Lookin real nice bro ...i wanna try dat!!!

Sully

Postby Sully » April 30th, 2009, 1:43 pm

Did you put any though into copper plating the aluminium bars? If you think about the skin effect of the way electricity flows, then it should be a lot better than just using aluminium.

Copper plating should be relatively easy as copper sulphate is cheap, and you already have some batteries (you can also use a battery charger) for the electrolysis process.

Another option is to use brass. The copper content in brass is a lot better than just using aluminium, and should be a lot better than just plain aliminium. The downside is that making that thing ouf of brass may set you back a good bit as well.

a little louder

Postby a little louder » April 30th, 2009, 6:06 pm

this was done in a few cars here already
but you would not know cause its covered (unless you were part of the team doing the installs)