W.T.K adding another battery help is needed

CarelessJohn

W.T.K adding another battery help is needed

Postby CarelessJohn » October 19th, 2009, 4:22 pm

brethrens I wish to know two things the full diagram on how to add another battery to your car for music purposes and what exactly you have to do to your alternator to keep it charging the two i really need to know before my car burn down or something...

riadb

Postby riadb » October 19th, 2009, 4:49 pm

it should look somethin like this when you are finished

makes enough sense to you?

Postby 3stagevtec » October 19th, 2009, 10:39 pm

MS Paint FTW!

make sure and used a sealed battery for the internal battery..

and it is also recommended to stick to the same brand / type of battery when using more than one.. if not, a battery isolator is recommended..

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 20th, 2009, 2:10 am

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

repost :lol:

But riadb, you missing a fuse near the second battery that connects to the front. And the lil +ve part going back to the engine is the wiring harness right? I hope the guy don't interpret that going to ground off on the engine as well. Divali done we doh wah no fireworks :shock:

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » October 20th, 2009, 9:15 am

if i use 0\3 gauge wire for chargin purposes ONLY, wudnt dat charge the batterys faster.?..cuz i no dat the thicker wire, more dan likely u wudnt sacrifice voltage

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 20th, 2009, 9:17 am

^^ Yeh but at some point you will reach a limit... with a stock alt it probably doesn't make sense using more than 4 or 2 AWG.

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » October 20th, 2009, 9:29 am

theblitz wrote:^^ Yeh but at some point you will reach a limit... with a stock alt it probably doesn't make sense using more than 4 or 2 AWG.

but if u hav an aftermarket alt, eg : stinger 300A alt, wud u STILL USE 4AWG or 0AWg in dis case for chargin d batterys?

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » October 20th, 2009, 9:50 am

Thank you very much people thank you so much clear information...

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 20th, 2009, 10:06 am

bargin boi wrote:
theblitz wrote:^^ Yeh but at some point you will reach a limit... with a stock alt it probably doesn't make sense using more than 4 or 2 AWG.

but if u hav an aftermarket alt, eg : stinger 300A alt, wud u STILL USE 4AWG or 0AWg in dis case for chargin d batterys?

I thought it was implied, but yes a larger gauge cable may be necessary.

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » October 20th, 2009, 2:57 pm

theblitz wrote:
bargin boi wrote:

I thought it was implied, but yes a larger gauge cable may be necessary.

It is now implied :D

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » October 21st, 2009, 2:21 pm

riadb wrote:it should look somethin like this when you are finished

cud u use ground terminals for groundin off d amps and batterys, instead of usin d chasis?. jus askin :)

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 21st, 2009, 10:11 pm

What do you mean? If you mean a gounding block then of course that has to be connected to some valid grounding point.

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » November 4th, 2009, 9:26 am

instead of taking the power from battery number 2 can i used battery number1....????

theblitz

Postby theblitz » November 4th, 2009, 10:55 am

^^^ Because both batteries are in parallel it doesn't matter which one you tap off. Its assumed that the 2nd battery is closer to your equipment that's why the diagram shows that connection. Personally I would go for the shorter run of wire.

certified_dealer

Postby certified_dealer » November 4th, 2009, 3:38 pm

well in that case the front battery is closer..thanks.. 0X