noyztoyz

Anyone have a directed bitwriter

Postby noyztoyz » January 20th, 2010, 5:08 am

Have an orion HCCA D1200 with 2 30a fuse, is a mono,
It needs re-programming with the directed bitwriter

it works well, but is not responding properly to its gain knob,

AT minimum gain it gives good bass output but when the gain is turned up the bass only very very slightly increase, and this is only so when the amp is on slave,
when on master it plays bass extremely soft, again unreponsive to the gain knob.
Last edited by noyztoyz on January 28th, 2010, 2:02 pm, edited 3 times in total.

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » January 20th, 2010, 11:39 am

:shock: nevr heard this.this is interesting

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 20th, 2010, 11:42 am

ask smalls ...

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 20th, 2010, 5:53 pm

i haven't seen or heard from smalls in ages,

Lance

Postby Lance » January 20th, 2010, 6:42 pm

This is indeed strange. Slavery was abolished in 1833/4 and the amplifier still prefers it.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 20th, 2010, 6:54 pm

machines..

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » January 20th, 2010, 7:19 pm

has a mind of its own :lol:

theblitz

Postby theblitz » January 20th, 2010, 9:21 pm

That's the ESP protection on the orion and directed D1200/D2400 models, but I do not know how the security is enforced. I never even bothered to connect it.

The amps are documented poorly in the manuals about the feature.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 20th, 2010, 9:55 pm

I was told by someone that these amps have circuitry to be hooked up to car alarm systems and when removed they will function like this unless they are reset or somn.

Yuh could remote start this amp?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 20th, 2010, 9:57 pm

boy me in know

It seems so advanced

i feel it go transform into something just now

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 20th, 2010, 10:01 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Ill buy it :D

Why not just drop it by smalls? Might see it in a month or two but he might find the allspark within..

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » January 21st, 2010, 11:18 am

Vtec Vigilante

Postby Vtec Vigilante » January 21st, 2010, 12:12 pm

Is it an external gain control connected to the amp via a telephone type cable, or are you talking about the gain control knob that is fixed to the amp?

Postby rollingstock » January 21st, 2010, 12:42 pm

GAIN LOCK
Through the ESP port on the amplifier while using a Directed Bitwriter, the gain setting can be locked out to prevent the gain adjustment from being changed.

REMOTE GAIN CONTROL
Connection of the optional RGC2 remote mountable gain control, which is included with all HCCA amplifiers, allows variable adjustments of the gain from the driver's seat. The RGC2 is only active when the crossover is set to low-pass.

Hope this helps.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 21st, 2010, 1:26 pm

the amp was sent for repairs already and it came back as nothing is wrong with it, everything inside is good and untampered with.

right this is what i was waiting to hear, rollingstock,
who has the directed bitwriter to sort me out?

Postby rollingstock » January 21st, 2010, 2:14 pm

noyztoyz wrote:right this is what i was waiting to hear, rollingstock,

that one somebody else go have to help you out with, sorry :lol:

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » January 21st, 2010, 4:09 pm

noyztoyz wrote:the amp was sent for repairs already and it came back as nothing is wrong with it, everything inside is good and untampered with.

right this is what i was waiting to hear, rollingstock,

Was the amp purchased locally?

Contact Sound and Security in valpark 662-3007. They are supposed to have a bit writer or at least have access to one. However if the amp was purchased abroad, the serial number may have been registered else where and Sound and security would not be able to access it.

Remember this was a security feature on their amplifiers to prevent use with theft. Its possible you may have a stolen amp on your hands..

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 21st, 2010, 4:26 pm

I got it from abroad, removed from a customers vehicle, by my employee, just like a thief would remove it,

but neither they nor the customer seemed to be aware of this security feature on the amp.

So what am i supposed to do now?

tanap

Postby tanap » January 23rd, 2010, 11:58 pm

send me a pm or u have my number i can sort u out

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 28th, 2010, 2:02 pm

bump

Postby SR » January 28th, 2010, 5:21 pm

noyztoyz wrote:I got it from abroad, removed from a customers vehicle, by my employee, just like a thief would remove it,

but neither they nor the customer seemed to be aware of this security feature on the amp.

if you have proof of purchase of the amp from an authorised dealor you can take a copy of it to an authorised dealor locally and they will be able to unlock the security feature

there is a reason for this feature on the amps and it seems the original installer enabled it

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 28th, 2010, 6:54 pm

i dont have that document, i cannot get that, i acquired this almost 2 months ago, i cant remember who.

i need the amp unlocked for sale.

some1 must have one, this is not a stolen amp.

Postby SR » January 28th, 2010, 7:54 pm

noyztoyz wrote:i dont have that document, i cannot get that, i acquired this almost 2 months ago, i cant remember who.

i need the amp unlocked for sale.

some1 must have one, this is not a stolen amp.

was it purchased locally?

if so the serial number can be confirmed locally and can be unlocked

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 28th, 2010, 8:39 pm

no i get all these things from abroad.

t&t tech

Postby t&t tech » January 28th, 2010, 8:41 pm

I know exactly what you speak of! i know of a local company who has one but they may not be willing to get into that specific aspect of it!

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 28th, 2010, 9:37 pm

well what company is this?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 29th, 2010, 11:50 pm

i dunno what all this is about yes, i know thats policy with the amps because it was a feature to prevent theft. But i bought this amp used over the phone from a guy in the US months ago. I dont have that receipt u guys want..

anyway i made contact with a guy with a bitwriter today he said he will do it and he didn ask for no receipt or anything,

10 minutes later some1 came and took the amp as it was, he said the gain seemed to be set in just the right position for his system so it will work bess. Glad that dun..

Postby SR » January 30th, 2010, 8:24 am

noyztoyz wrote:I got it from abroad, removed from a customers vehicle, by my employee, just like a thief would remove it,

Postby SR » January 30th, 2010, 8:24 am

noyztoyz wrote:i dunno what all this is about yes, i know thats policy with the amps because it was a feature to prevent theft. But i bought this amp used over the phone from a guy in the US months ago. I dont have that receipt u guys want..

anyway i made contact with a guy with a bitwriter today he said he will do it and he didn ask for no receipt or anything,

10 minutes later some1 came and took the amp as it was, he said the gain seemed to be set in just the right position for his system so it will work bess. Glad that dun..

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » January 31st, 2010, 5:11 pm

That feature is a particularly neat trick especially for daily installers who have the general public to deal with, simply because people will always go back and adjust gains from the way the installer did and normally this leads to problems, having the setting locked away, is a great way of deterring this from happening! Just in case any body was wondering! LOL!