RE US Amps XT4000DeV3.... .5 Ohm Stable?

Graphix1

RE US Amps XT4000DeV3.... .5 Ohm Stable?

Postby Graphix1 » March 8th, 2010, 5:52 pm

Anybody here tried this,i read on some forums that it works well without going into thermal protection but still want to be certain before i try it.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 8th, 2010, 6:28 pm

Why you wanna try this?

Graphix1

Postby Graphix1 » March 9th, 2010, 6:35 pm

meh coil config could either got to .5 or 2 ohms

Anthony624

Re: RE US Amps XT4000DeV3.... .5 Ohm Stable?

Postby Anthony624 » June 18th, 2010, 11:43 pm

?? is it i wana know also

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » June 18th, 2010, 11:47 pm

Anthony624 wrote:?? is it i wana know also

how much power you want to get out of the amp at this 1/2 ohm load?
max?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 19th, 2010, 8:56 pm

If you have a poor electrical system, you run a high rise of damaging the amplifier.. Lots of guys do it, but running such low impedances places alot of stress on the internal components.

Anthony624

Postby Anthony624 » June 20th, 2010, 7:06 pm

oh well nah i was just curious like if i wanted to burp for spl purposes

Postby 3stagevtec » June 20th, 2010, 10:57 pm

Anthony624 wrote:oh well nah i was just curious like if i wanted to burp for spl purposes

that's slightly different.. most amplifiers can handle the short burps used for SPL and running at the lower impedance can give you a decent advantage, especially when battling with impedance rise.

of course, the same precautions will apply.. i.e. ensure your voltage does not drop too low because you will still risk damage..

I ran a pair of Sundown amplifiers at 0.5ohm for many SPL competitions with no issues.. Have seen lots of other brands handle the 0.5ohm for SPL use with no problems as well..