Test and tune Tuning Challenge (NEW DATE) FEB 13TH 2011

silent_riot

Test and tune Tuning Challenge (NEW DATE) FEB 13TH 2011

Postby silent_riot » January 12th, 2011, 8:15 am

Guys,

I am planning a tuning challenge at the next test and tune BUT would need a volunteer car which has a simple tunable sound Q system.

The system should be Sound Q oriented with 2 way components up front and a sub, with a deck which had sufficient processing (i.e. at least 7 bands of EQ, crossover and time alignment, and accessible gain or level controls) ...something like an 800/880prs or 9887 would be perfect.

I do NOT want anything too complicated and all out active systems are NOT required.

The plan is that attendees will be grouped randomly into teams, and the teams will be given a time limit to tune the car.
Before each team enters the car, a neutral person (either myself, the judge or the car owner) will reset the deck (and amp if necessary) settings.
Details of the system will be given beforehand to the teams.

The team will be given the allotted time to tune the car, and upon completion a judge will score the car using a score sheet.

So let me know if anyone is willing to volunteer their car for tuning.

Jonathan
Last edited by silent_riot on January 24th, 2011, 9:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

silent_riot

Re: Test and tune Tuning Challenge Jan 30th 2011

Postby silent_riot » January 12th, 2011, 9:00 am

As for the normal test and tune part of the event, meter rental costs will be as follows:
SQ/Gallery - $30
SPL/Bassboxing - $20

The event will be run via PRE-REGISTRATION
Any registration on the day will cost more.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 12th, 2011, 11:24 am

nice!

GLWV!

Postby nervewrecker » January 12th, 2011, 11:58 am

when & where can we meet you to pay?

& what exactly is metered in the SQ section?

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » January 12th, 2011, 8:57 pm

slacker_jack wrote:when & where can we meet you to pay?

& what exactly is metered in the SQ section?

I'm guessing it's RTA for the SQ part.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 13th, 2011, 9:05 am

^^Yes, correct.
Things are moving along smoothly...venue confirmed, tuning car available.
We have some other issues to iron out before I can reveal them.

Also note, that DE AUDIO is kindly lending us an Imprint kit for the test and tune event.
This means that those of you with Imprint capable alpine head units will be able to get Imprint tuned! I will have to verify which kit is being lent, and will let you guys know.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 13th, 2011, 9:23 am

There is a lot more in store for the ICE Club this year.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 13th, 2011, 11:25 am

will be there to spectate ...

Postby 3stagevtec » January 13th, 2011, 12:31 pm

Need to RTA my system.. should be there..

Postby X_Factor » January 13th, 2011, 3:35 pm

sounds good

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 17th, 2011, 6:30 am

casper

Postby casper » January 17th, 2011, 8:23 am

will b there

Kasey

Postby Kasey » January 17th, 2011, 8:51 am

WHERE?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 17th, 2011, 8:56 am

It's in McBean, Couva.

The invite was sent out on facebook, if you didn't get it, join the FB group and check the group's events.

Sully

Postby Sully » January 17th, 2011, 10:12 am

silent_riot wrote:It's in McBean, Couva.

The invite was sent out on facebook, if you didn't get it, join the FB group and check the group's events.

And for people like Rovin who don't use facebook, but do use TriniTuner, any information to be provided here?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 17th, 2011, 12:37 pm

I'll post what I can, but I recommend that whoever is really interested to join the facebook group.

Postby SR » January 17th, 2011, 1:10 pm

not everyone wants a fb account

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 17th, 2011, 1:14 pm

SR wrote:not everyone has friends

w3rd

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 17th, 2011, 1:23 pm

i prefer to meet & talk my real friends in person or if we cant meet up then on d phone rather than on d interwebz

... 0X 0X 0X

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 17th, 2011, 1:42 pm

Thanks for the info, Rovin.

For those who are attending, please confirm here. We should be finalising the membership package once we meet with the vendors this week.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 17th, 2011, 1:43 pm

ent u have my email so just send me it ....

Lance

Postby Lance » January 17th, 2011, 2:05 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:i prefer to meet & talk my real friends in person or if we cant meet up then on d phone rather than on d interwebz

... 0X 0X 0X

That's contradictory given the fact you use an internet forum as the medium to post that comment. :lol:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 17th, 2011, 2:10 pm

For those who are enquiring about facebook (http://www.facebook.com), I'll try to keep this quick without straying from the topic.

In the past, I've been criticized for having events that were (too) private and not open to the public, I'm sure you can find some posts on this same forum about it. At an ICE club meeting, it was decided that we will not promote the club through emails, but rather through a new facebook page and the forums, and that's what I did. The goal is to get more people interested, and encourage knowledge about car audio.

In addition to being more open, FB allows better tracking of attendees for events, and information is available to ALL, and rather than having one person collate all this information through the dozens of emails, the information is available via a few clicks. Coordination is much simpler and accurate i.e. less mistakes on my part.

I know I cannot please everyone, and I will take the heat for the club's preferences.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » January 17th, 2011, 8:48 pm

Nice. I confirmed. Will be there.

Postby nervewrecker » January 17th, 2011, 10:42 pm

evolution7tt wrote:Nice. I confirmed. Will be there.

ditto. 8-)

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 18th, 2011, 7:56 pm

I support the FB Notifications and stand by the decision to maintain a FaceBook page.

People's choice to avoid FB are personal.

The ICE Club can't please everyone, all the time.

Thanks

Sully

Postby Sully » January 18th, 2011, 8:12 pm

I do not support the facebook ONLY. I agree that it's a personal choice to to avoid facebook. If the ICE club chooses to not allow those who do not use facebook then that's up to them.

The ICE club obtained contact information for each person during the first meeting, I do not see why this was done if the only means of contact will be via facebook.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 18th, 2011, 8:28 pm

One of our supporting vendors (R&K Imports) has already committed to a 25%+ storewide discount (special conditions apply).

To apply for membership and find out more about these discounts and other benefits, please attend the Test and Tune event on Jan 30th.

Lance

Postby Lance » January 18th, 2011, 8:29 pm

silent_riot wrote:One of our supporting vendors (R&K Imports) has already committed to a 25%+ storewide discount (special conditions apply).

To apply for membership and find out more about these discounts and other benefits, please attend the Test and Tune event on Jan 30th.

Sweetttt... Nice Going

Postby SR » January 19th, 2011, 11:04 am

Sully wrote:I do not support the facebook ONLY. I agree that it's a personal choice to to avoid facebook. If the ICE club chooses to not allow those who do not use facebook then that's up to them.

The ICE club obtained contact information for each person during the first meeting, I do not see why this was done if the only means of contact will be via facebook.

i agree

especially when you are looking to grow the sport of sq and educate the masses

what about those who either dont have access to the internet(yes that is still a factor) as well as those who dont log on as regular as others