DC Level 4 sub?

Crawlerz

DC Level 4 sub?

Postby Crawlerz » February 16th, 2011, 11:56 am

The dc level 4 subs...how do they sound?...looking to go single 18....is it worth it?

ChristianRD

Re: DC Level 4 sub?

Postby ChristianRD » February 16th, 2011, 8:01 pm

Crawlerz wrote:The dc level 4 subs...how do they sound?...looking to go single 18....is it worth it?

Normel

Go with L'Oreal.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 16th, 2011, 8:08 pm

they sound great..

go for it..

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » February 16th, 2011, 8:31 pm

Opinion is one thing but the only way to know is to buy it and try it.

unknown person

Postby unknown person » February 16th, 2011, 8:34 pm

DC perform awesome...if you going with level 4 18's you won't be disappointed...nicest thing about it, it can be upgraded to level 5 softparts so it can be used in both SQ and SPL as well ^^

Postby 3stagevtec » February 16th, 2011, 10:13 pm

tip, use around 7cu.ft net volume and tune it relatively low.. around 34Hz should do the job..

that sub pumps out massive bass even in a low tuned enclosure.. and is amazing for just a 1000W driver..

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 17th, 2011, 9:33 am

I think we burped a single Level 4 15 in Rene's car off Stetsom 4k's and it was fine.

jeff

Postby jeff » February 17th, 2011, 6:53 pm

ive burped 2 lv 4 10s on a hifonics maxximus and a autotek 4k and they were fine :D

once your box is built correctly and your install is proper you will have no issues

rel bess subs!

unknown person

Postby unknown person » February 17th, 2011, 8:43 pm

3stagevtec wrote:tip, use around 7cu.ft net volume

7cu ft you say?
why so much airspace?
it have any kind of graphical chart or calculations to show if all that space is necessary for a DC level 4?
just asking.

unknown person

DC Level 4 sub?

Postby unknown person » February 17th, 2011, 9:45 pm

I'll give you a proper tip crawlerz
6 cubes for ported and
4 cubes for sealed....not 7 cubes for ported

MONGO

Postby MONGO » February 17th, 2011, 10:49 pm

18's move alot of air and imo sound better tuned low...with more airspace sub plays on the lower end and bass is cleaner and solid.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 17th, 2011, 10:56 pm

unknown person wrote:I'll give you a proper tip crawlerz
6 cubes for ported and
4 cubes for sealed....not 7 cubes for ported

I see you are good at quoting specs...

http://www.dcsoundlab.com/woofers.html

but note that those are 'suggested' figures.. and my recommendations are from experience..

anyone familiar with those subs or even those who spend time on the DC forum will know that they can work in enclosures as large as 9cu.ft..

and you recommended a sealed enclosure!? lol..

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » February 18th, 2011, 12:55 am

DC subs are gr8 subs...i hav worked wit a few lvl2, lvl3, lvl4, lvl4 xl.....all are beast :D
all was impressive but i was shocked wit the lvl2's.....rated 300rms and sounded really gr8 wit gr8 power handling so just imagine for a lvl 4 :twisted:

made some pretty nice scores to, 148.9db wit d dam cd skipping, and 149.6 wit a flash drive

RustyWCA

Postby RustyWCA » February 18th, 2011, 3:05 am

Great to see all the fantatic reviews on our subs!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 18th, 2011, 5:49 am

loudsound wrote:DC subs are gr8 subs...i hav worked wit a few lvl2, lvl3, lvl4, lvl4 xl.....all are beast :D
all was impressive but i was shocked wit the lvl2's.....rated 300rms and sounded really gr8 wit gr8 power handling so just imagine for a lvl 4 :twisted:

made some pretty nice scores to, 148.9db wit d dam cd skipping, and 149.6 [img]wit%20a%20flash%20drive[/img]

In a show or home?

Crawlerz

Postby Crawlerz » February 18th, 2011, 8:57 am

Well i bought it...DC level 4 18"....cant wait to put it inna coffin and try it out...will keep you guys up to date :)

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » February 18th, 2011, 9:11 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
loudsound wrote:DC subs are gr8 subs...i hav worked wit a few lvl2, lvl3, lvl4, lvl4 xl.....all are beast :D

made some pretty nice scores to, 148.9db wit d dam cd skipping, and 149.6 wit a flash drive

In a show or home?

d las two show las yr.....mk curry duck and mk charity event in couva

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Postby 3stagevtec » February 18th, 2011, 12:00 pm

Crawlerz wrote:Well i bought it...DC level 4 18"....cant wait to put it inna coffin and try it out...will keep you guys up to date :)

no pics?? boo!

what vehicle is it going in by chance?

Crawlerz

Postby Crawlerz » February 18th, 2011, 12:42 pm

going in ah prado :D will post d pics wen d coffin finish build 8-)

Postby 3stagevtec » February 18th, 2011, 12:48 pm

What amp you powering it with? Nice vehicle to house that monster!

Crawlerz

Postby Crawlerz » February 18th, 2011, 12:57 pm

soundstream 2200D tower series....daz d bassline mids 2 12" rcf looking for 2 N850 drivers and a sweet mids amp to make dem bark

Postby 3stagevtec » February 18th, 2011, 1:28 pm

2 12"s for low mids! I can feel the midbass thumping already!

Crawlerz

Postby Crawlerz » February 18th, 2011, 1:37 pm

yup..but i need a good 2 channel 2 relly rock dem

Postby 3stagevtec » February 18th, 2011, 2:06 pm

^ btw, is this for personal or competition use?

dig around in the classifieds.. there are some sweet deals out there..

Crawlerz

Postby Crawlerz » February 18th, 2011, 2:40 pm

is for both competition an personal....yea im in the process of looking

Postby 3stagevtec » February 18th, 2011, 5:27 pm

if you had mentioned competition, I would have recommended the level 4 XL.. just for the extra edge..

that aside, the level 4 18" I played with never failed to impress..

unknown person

Postby unknown person » February 18th, 2011, 8:22 pm

RustyWCA wrote:Great to see all the fantatic reviews on our subs!!

DC FTW bro ^^...never had any complaints from my clients who have them

MONGO

Postby MONGO » February 19th, 2011, 8:47 am

Crawlerz, good to see u get a good sub finally.
good luck with the build and install.

Crawlerz

Postby Crawlerz » February 20th, 2011, 8:16 pm

finish wit the box...sounds reallllllll bess but still ha 2 break in...pics will be up soon!