wtk: preamp

boss_specialist

wtk: preamp

Postby boss_specialist » February 17th, 2011, 3:08 pm

What is the purpose of having 2 preamps installed in a system????

from the deck to preamp 1, from preamp 1 to preamp 2......... that's how its conected

Wouldn't that damage preamp 2 ??

Re: wtk: preamp

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 17th, 2011, 3:10 pm

Bling factor?

maybe one preamp has a feature that the other doesnt and vice versa thus combines to make 1 super preamp?... idk much bout the damaging part

boss_specialist

Postby boss_specialist » February 17th, 2011, 3:29 pm

cuz to my knowing is that ah preamp is designed to take ah low voltage in!

Postby 3stagevtec » February 17th, 2011, 4:27 pm

boss_specialist wrote:cuz to my knowing is that ah preamp is designed to take ah low voltage in!

not all of them.. audio control preamps can handle relatively high voltage inputs..

but it is completely silly to run one preamp into another.. doing so will usually overload the input circuit on the 2nd preamp and cause distortion.

also, if a preamp has a max output of, say 10V.. adding two (or more) in series will still give you a maximum of 10V of line drive, and not 20V+ like what I heard some people saying..

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 17th, 2011, 4:45 pm

A few gallery cars are seen piggybacking processors in a similar fashion eg. 6XS into Matrix, which really isn't necessary...not sure if this is what the OP is talking about...

5forward

Postby 5forward » February 17th, 2011, 5:58 pm

Im not sure eh,but i dont think those car show men connect it like that.I think they run the front or rear output of the deck to preamp 1 and run the sub output to preamp 2...which makes more sense than preamp 1 to preamp 2

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 17th, 2011, 8:10 pm

this is what ppl used to do long time (sometimes even up to now too) when :

their deck didnt have much processing

amp or amps on board processing wasnt all that

couldnt afford a good xo & found it cheaper to just buy 2 power acoustik pre for small $

see their padna do it , found it looked oh so cool , didnt know any logic behind it yet they followed suit

ur friend who "knows more about car audio than u " insists on it

correct me if i wrong .... :|

boss_specialist

Postby boss_specialist » February 17th, 2011, 9:05 pm

3stagevtec wrote:not all of them.. audio control preamps can handle relatively high voltage inputs..

but it is completely silly to run one preamp into another.. doing so will usually overload the input circuit on the 2nd preamp and cause distortion.

also, if a preamp has a max output of, say 10V.. adding two (or more) in series will still give you a maximum of 10V of line drive, and not 20V+ like what I heard some people saying..

ah have ah feelin that d person was thinkin that he would get a higher output

dman

Postby dman » February 18th, 2011, 7:36 am

question : currently i am using a power acoustik pwm20 i am looking to upgrade i have 2 options change my headunit or my pre amp

what would be considered sound accurate or frequency accurate unit i would like a 1/2din unit with built in crossover

and if i was to change the headunit i would like a usb model with bluetooth what would be a good model to look at

Postby 3stagevtec » February 18th, 2011, 12:39 pm

dman wrote:question : currently i am using a power acoustik pwm20 i am looking to upgrade i have 2 options change my headunit or my pre amp

what would be considered sound accurate or frequency accurate unit i would like a 1/2din unit with built in crossover

and if i was to change the headunit i would like a usb model with bluetooth what would be a good model to look at

what head unit do you have now? what's your budget?

dman

Postby dman » February 18th, 2011, 4:34 pm

well the car is a daily driver and may be used at times by other people so i am trying to keep my budget as low as possible

dman

Postby dman » February 18th, 2011, 4:35 pm

i would say about 1000 - 1200

Postby 3stagevtec » February 18th, 2011, 5:26 pm

Some really reliable decks from my experience comes from JVC.. They are simple to use and some have some impressive specs..

http://mobile.jvc.com/product.jsp?pathId=54

they have some that will more than fit your budget and will not 'blow' like some Pioneers.. I had Pioneers where the CD eject failed and the grounding blew.. happened on more than one occasion.

Since I switched to JVCs, I never experienced a single failure..

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 18th, 2011, 7:21 pm

since we gone off topic, I wanna ask a realllllllly n00b question

wats the difference between a parametric eq and a preamp :oops:

dman

Postby dman » February 18th, 2011, 7:28 pm

dman

Postby dman » February 18th, 2011, 7:31 pm

3stagevtec i have the following deck

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=354404&start=0

Postby 3stagevtec » February 18th, 2011, 7:41 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:since we gone off topic, I wanna ask a realllllllly n00b question

graphic EQs tend to affect single frequencies..

parametric EQs can affect other freqs around the center EQ frequency..

that's how a parametric EQ looks. a graphic will be ALOT narrower.. (google graphic vs parametric EQ for more detailed info)

a pre amplifier is NOT an EQ. it's just that most pre amplifiers tend to come with built in equalizers.

The autiocontrol matrix is an example of a pre amplifier without any built in EQs..

Pre amplifiers just amplifier the signal before it reaches an amplifier.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 18th, 2011, 8:20 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:since we gone off topic, I wanna ask a realllllllly n00b question

graphic EQs tend to affect single frequencies..

parametric EQs can affect other freqs around the center EQ frequency..

that's how a parametric EQ looks. a graphic will be ALOT narrower.. (google graphic vs parametric EQ for more detailed info)

a pre amplifier is NOT an EQ. it's just that most pre amplifiers tend to come with built in equalizers.

The autiocontrol matrix is an example of a pre amplifier without any built in EQs..

Pre amplifiers just amplifier the signal before it reaches an amplifier.

ohhhhhhh, kool,,, I just that I see preamps with built in eqs and i get confused

Wolfstein

Postby Wolfstein » February 24th, 2011, 9:38 am

boss specialist i had 2 pre connected but used one for mids and one sub. Reason i did that was to gain a louder bass when the mids volume was down. i had the volume on the head unit up all the time and control the volume with the preamps.

Wolfstein

Postby Wolfstein » February 24th, 2011, 9:40 am

Wolfstein wrote:boss specialist i had 2 pre connected but used one for mids and one sub. Reason i did that was to gain a louder bass when the mids volume was down. i had the volume on the head unit up all the time and control the volume with the preamps.

at this time i had 2 small amps a 600 and 800 pyramid so that was also another reason

5forward

Postby 5forward » February 24th, 2011, 1:11 pm

^Said that its normally used like that (1 for mids & 1 for bass) but it seems nobody paid attention :|

boss_specialist

Postby boss_specialist » February 25th, 2011, 9:19 am

Wolfstein wrote:
Wolfstein wrote:boss specialist i had 2 pre connected but used one for mids and one sub. Reason i did that was to gain a louder bass when the mids volume was down. i had the volume on the head unit up all the time and control the volume with the preamps.

at this time i had 2 small amps a 600 and 800 pyramid so that was also another reason

well ah cud understand dat .........but having 2 mmats amp, one for ah jug 15 an d other for 2 10's mids

Wolfstein

Postby Wolfstein » March 1st, 2011, 8:34 pm

boss_specialist wrote:
Wolfstein wrote:

well ah cud understand dat .........but having 2 mmats amp, one for ah jug 15 an d other for 2 10's mids

same ting man. low on mids but heavy on the bass my guess would be real heavy on the bass

boss_specialist

Postby boss_specialist » March 1st, 2011, 9:33 pm

But the man have good equipments and d mids louder dan d bass cuz d sub box build rell schupid

Wolfstein

Postby Wolfstein » March 4th, 2011, 5:41 pm

boss_specialist wrote:But the man have good equipments and d mids louder dan d bass cuz d sub box build rell schupid

maybe he just want the ole skool look

boss_specialist

Postby boss_specialist » March 4th, 2011, 6:54 pm

Whey sah! well dat lame

blood

Re: Preamp setup

Postby blood » June 17th, 2014, 1:41 am

I have a 7 band db drive preamplifier that is hooked up to the main rca outputs from my deck. My deck has a S/W output also which is hooked up directly to the rca cable from my monoblock. I have it hooked up this way because i wanted to use the S/W filters on the deck. Is there a way i could connect it to the preamp so that i could adjust the bass level without having to go into the deck settings ?

Re: Preamp setup

Postby 3stagevtec » June 17th, 2014, 10:53 am

blood wrote:I have a 7 band db drive preamplifier that is hooked up to the main rca outputs from my deck. My deck has a S/W output also which is hooked up directly to the rca cable from my monoblock. I have it hooked up this way because i wanted to use the S/W filters on the deck. Is there a way i could connect it to the preamp so that i could adjust the bass level without having to go into the deck settings ?

Use the Sub Out from the preamp instead (of the S/W from deck) and use the filters on your monoblock. That way you will get both the sub volume and overall volume on the preamp to work..