Can zero gauge be joined?

elantra

Can zero gauge be joined?

Postby elantra » October 23rd, 2011, 11:05 am

Hey has anyone ever tried this successfully? i am looking to make a joint in it an still maintain the properties of the wire " load, oxygen free etc" by means of heat shrink etc.. any help is appreciated

Re: Can zero gauge be joined?

Postby Gladiator » October 23rd, 2011, 1:05 pm

http://setsail.com/crimping-heavy-cable-lugs/

If you apply crimp lugs at both ends... bolt them together and seal with heat shrink you should be ok.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 23rd, 2011, 3:00 pm

You could use a T distribution block.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 23rd, 2011, 6:08 pm

even T&tec joins high current wire with lugs but for no special reason i just dont like d idea even with a T block too

man jes buy a new length of wire & dun yes .... :lol:

Postby Gladiator » October 23rd, 2011, 6:22 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:even T&tec joins high current wire with lugs but for no special reason i just dont like d idea even with a T block too

man jes buy a new length of wire & dun yes .... :lol:

I hear yuh... the best join is no join. I stick to this rule also. But if you have no choice I guess lugs can be a solution.

D March Guy

Postby D March Guy » October 24th, 2011, 8:49 pm

Lugs will cause resistance,so the best thing to do is to solder them together..................I've done it already

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2011, 9:20 pm

TTEC joins don't work good though, they use aluminum crimps to join and
eventually the dissimilar metals will corrode and arc off
Has happened to our house at least 3 times already

MONGO

Postby MONGO » October 24th, 2011, 9:54 pm

pugboy wrote:TTEC joins don't work good though, they use aluminum crimps to join and
eventually the dissimilar metals will corrode and arc off
Has happened to our house at least 3 times already

I wonder if it's the same thing happening by me..a few times the current cuts off for like 2 seconds and comes back on..they came to inspect it and said it was the entire connection to the meter needs changing.

Postby BrotherHood » October 25th, 2011, 2:16 pm

Electrical tape bai.. :lol:
By all means, if you have patience and can afford it, purchase a new length of wire na bro. Enough wire so you wont have this joining contempt in the future.

Postby nervewrecker » October 25th, 2011, 2:34 pm

how bout just putting an inline fuse?

Postby SR » October 25th, 2011, 3:23 pm

oh gorm
will see if i can find a pic from an install done by a shop in the san juan area

crimp ring terminals on all wires then use a nut and bolt and probably about a roll of electrical tape as a distribution block underneath the back seat close to the fuel pump

bess install the owner said till we showed him what was done

the crimps werent soledered and were also loose

every time you join a power cable be it via crimp or dist block etc there is always a small drop in voltage as well as a buildup of heat on the join due to the current flow

elantra

Postby elantra » October 27th, 2011, 10:02 pm

hey thanks for the info. havent done the joint yet. still up in the air. may end up buying a new lenght an using the other piece for grounding etc. thanks

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » November 14th, 2011, 9:34 pm

:!: :!:

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 15th, 2011, 1:39 pm

We had this dicsussion before. YOU CAN JOIN UR WIRES. I challenge anyone here to show me where the losses are when a good joint is done. Yes I know that the joint can succumd to corrosion, but thats it. If this can be mitigated, I say yes, by all means.
I mean common, how long will corrosion take to develop on a good insulated joint? Unless you washing inside ur car and having inside ur car like a dump, obviously moisture willl creep in.

Also a bad joint will cause resistance, but as long as the cross sectional area of the joint is always more than the wire, you will not have resistance issues.

I hear someone talk bout buildup of heat due to current flow. I beg to disaggree. In a series circuit, the current is always the same, i.e. the whole wire always has the same amount of current. Current flow does not cause heat. If that was the case, then eventually all wires will burn out.
Again, "as long as the cross sectional area of the joint is always more than the wire, you will not have resistance issues." And hence will not have heat issues.

The question is if it can be done or not and in my humble experience as a Electrical Technician, and a car audio hobbyist, I have done it many times, both in Industry and in my car, and have gotten great results. The main thing is to do it good the first time.

I guarantee that you ill not be able to hear any difference in the music when you PROPERLY join ur wire, or use a single length.

zaria

Postby zaria » November 15th, 2011, 3:35 pm

I faced this dilema once,then i realised in all the vehicles i read abt in the mag needed a fuseholder
within18" of the battery,which is the same as a join.

xeon

Postby xeon » November 17th, 2011, 9:25 am

Once soldered properly, just spray or paste with liquid tape (best insulation) then heat shrink or tape off for a neat finish. Works like a charm everytime.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 17th, 2011, 1:55 pm

Good discussion.

Kasey, I agree with some of what you posted, but not all.
I agree that you wont be able to hear the difference with a proper join.

However, current flow does cause heat. This is the concept of a fuse.
A fuse has a thermal limit, and the current flowing through it causes it to heat up.
At a certain current, the fuse cannot dissipate the heat as quickly as the energy comes in, and it starts to deform and "blow".

Remember also that resistance is dependent on the cross-sectional area, the length but also the RESISTIVITY of the material. So while cross sectional area of the join may be greater (let's say a distro block), if its made out of higher resistivity material, there may be considerable resistance to take into account.

Again, empirically, once a proper join is made, there would be no worries in an install.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 17th, 2011, 2:23 pm

What was meant to be interpreted by what I said, is that current flow does not cause heat, heat is caused when the electrical properties of a conductor cannot withstand the flow of electrons through it, hence causing heat to be dissipated by the said point of weakness (namely a fuse of a certain amperage rating).

All electrical wires have currents pass through them at some point in time. Once they are witihn tolerance, heat will not be generated. In my opinion, only the excess of current can cause heat, not normal flowing current itself.

Make the joint man. Zero guage wire is expensive.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 17th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Ok, I get what you're saying now, but remember any wire will still dissipate heat due to its resistance (the may not be noticeable to humans) because there are no perfect conductors.

Make the joint X2.

riadb

Postby riadb » November 17th, 2011, 3:54 pm

Get yourself some of these...

you get them for 1/0awg and 4awg

elantra

Postby elantra » November 22nd, 2011, 12:23 pm

Kasey I resptfully dis agree with u pal.
current flow is the flow of electrons. Quoted "Electron flow is what we think of as electrical current. " (from some text). Electrical IR scans on wires are done by increasing current through the conductors. I do agree with your second post. As long as within parameters of the conductor, heat will be no prob.
I made a log similar to what RIAD had there, didnt know it was sold. i made it with copper. an heat shrink, My friend didnt have cash for a new length.
I will monitor this joint as i left it exposed ( not under any mats, below seat) for heating.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 22nd, 2011, 5:21 pm

elantra wrote:Kasey I resptfully dis agree with u pal.
current flow is the flow of electrons. Quoted "Electron flow is what we think of as electrical current. " (from some text).

Am.....bro, where did I say that current is NOT the flow of electrons? I'm confused.