WTK: CLASS D AMPLIFIER TO PUSH 4 10" SA SUNDOWNS

slickrick777

WTK: CLASS D AMPLIFIER TO PUSH 4 10" SA SUNDOWNS

Postby slickrick777 » December 29th, 2012, 10:42 am

well currently have a taramps 3500 on 4 of these...but I think they need a lot more power...ne suggestions?...Taramps 5k, 6.5k, etc?

Re: WTK: CLASS D AMPLIFIER TO PUSH 4 10" SA SUNDOWNS

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 29th, 2012, 11:27 am

why do you think they need more power? what is the rating per sub in relation to the amp you're currently using.

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » December 29th, 2012, 1:17 pm

i would love to see what people are going to recommend on these 4 subs :D

southside connections

Postby southside connections » December 29th, 2012, 2:02 pm

powerbass xa4000d or a pair or 1500.1asa'ss

this would be the best price vs performance compromise

dean_mootoo

Postby dean_mootoo » December 29th, 2012, 3:07 pm

the sundown saz 3500d would be the perfect amp

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » December 29th, 2012, 10:03 pm

3500 rms should be perfect

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » December 30th, 2012, 9:36 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:why do you think they need more power? what is the rating per sub in relation to the amp you're currently using.

i'm running a Taramps 3500D...the subs are rated at 800rms each, but research has shown that they take alot more power...here is the specs to the amp I currently have...

http://www.taramps.com.br/en/produtos.p ... &prod=1358

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » December 30th, 2012, 11:13 pm

what is the electrical system

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » December 31st, 2012, 10:55 am

noyztoyz wrote:what is the electrical system

well did the big 3 upgrade...running stock alternator, 120amps...and running 2 xs power d3100 batteries, one in the engine bay and one in the back!

ward one

Postby ward one » December 31st, 2012, 1:27 pm

what ohmage are the subs?
and which model taramps do you have 1 ohm or 2 ohm?

what are your listening patterns? park and play for long hours? just a daily play system?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » December 31st, 2012, 1:32 pm

Subs are dual 4's...d taramps is the 1ohm version...well d most I does play for is about 20 minutes...or 3-4 tunes...and d va n does always b idling!

ward one

Re: WTK: CLASS D AMPLIFIER TO PUSH 4 10

Postby ward one » December 31st, 2012, 1:40 pm

slickrick777 wrote:Subs are dual 4's...d taramps is the 1ohm version...well d most I does play for is about 20 minutes...or 3-4 tunes...and d va n does always b idling!

well is the subs are dual 4 u can either wire them to 2 ohms or to 0.5 ohms. at 2 ohms this amp claims to do a Maximum Output Power @ 13.8 VDC - 2 OHMS - 2611 WRMS. and with voltage drop expect around 2000rms give or take a little. (12.5V rating)

so ur subs not getting no 3500 rms.

what u need is a 2 ohm or 0.5 ohm mono that actually does what is says. sum nice 2 ohm mono's are kicker 2500, crossfire vr2000d, crossfire vr4000d, rockford power T2500.1BDCP (must be a BDCP model).

some nice 0.5 ohm mono's are Lanzar optidrive (2k and 3.5k), dd ( m3a,m4a), American bass 120.1, orion 2500, crescendo amps, sundown audio amps.

but with your electrical i will recommend staying above 1 ohm.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » December 31st, 2012, 5:47 pm

and ill step in n throw in the skar sk2500.1 to that list .5 ohm stable also :)

ward one

Postby ward one » December 31st, 2012, 7:18 pm

OffshoreMarketing wrote:and ill step in n throw in the skar sk2500.1 to that list .5 ohm stable also :)

sorrie i forgot lol. :oops:

this is very simular to the sundown audio 2500.1

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » December 31st, 2012, 7:23 pm

lol i jes kixin man but yes it s i would say

ward one wrote:
OffshoreMarketing wrote:and ill step in n throw in the skar sk2500.1 to that list .5 ohm stable also :)

sorrie i forgot lol. :oops:

this is very simular to the sundown audio 2500.1

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » January 1st, 2013, 12:03 pm

ok so I basically bought the wrong version taramps for this system?...all four subs are dual2 4ohms, so what you guys saying is that I would have been better off getting the full 3500rms by getting the 2ohm version taramps?

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » January 1st, 2013, 12:06 pm

Atomic 5k

ward one

Postby ward one » January 1st, 2013, 12:08 pm

slickrick777 wrote:ok so I basically bought the wrong version taramps for this system?...all four subs are dual2 4ohms, so what you guys saying is that I would have been better off getting the full 3500rms by getting the 2ohm version taramps?

oh b4 u said the subs were dvc 4ohms. if they are dvc 2 ohms then they can be wired to 1 ohm. and therefore the amp should be putting out max power.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » January 1st, 2013, 12:09 pm

yup jus confirmed, all subs are dual 2...but on another note, how much power allyuh think ah should be jamming on these to get maximum performace without damaging d woofers though?

southside connections

Postby southside connections » January 1st, 2013, 12:19 pm

power doesn't damage speakers, people do

ward one

Postby ward one » January 1st, 2013, 12:35 pm

slickrick777 wrote:yup jus confirmed, all subs are dual 2...but on another note, how much power allyuh think ah should be jamming on these to get maximum performace without damaging d woofers though?

depends on bass enclosure (box), electrical system and listening patterns (type of music, how long u play it for, etc) .

to be honest with you i think i true clean supply of 3500-4000rms should be more than enough (25% headroom with amp).

firstly, u must know the output u are currently getting from this amp. don't rush to change anything, have the system checked out and be advised from there.

venomz

Postby venomz » January 16th, 2013, 3:52 pm

southside connections wrote:power doesn't damage speakers, people do

i know you what you just did there...

MONGO

Postby MONGO » January 17th, 2013, 3:42 pm

Postby SR » January 17th, 2013, 7:04 pm

rule of thumb

you should always have 20% more power than what your load can handle rms

Postby nervewrecker » January 17th, 2013, 7:23 pm

100% agree.

K. Gosine Audio wrote:

x50 + clipping.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » January 29th, 2013, 1:04 pm

bump!

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 29th, 2013, 1:08 pm

You asked your installer?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » January 29th, 2013, 1:08 pm

1st installer said Taramps, second installer said Taramps again...

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 29th, 2013, 1:11 pm

You have any requirements wrt space etc?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » January 29th, 2013, 5:15 pm

well already took out the back seat to accommodate the boxes for the 4 10" sundowns...so space is not a problem..lol