how to solder 4 and 0 gauge wires?(wah u use?)

altec

how to solder 4 and 0 gauge wires?(wah u use?)

Postby altec » January 3rd, 2014, 5:28 pm

I want to solder some 4 and 0 gauge ring terminals for use in the engine bay. What can be used as a heat source? Doh laugh, but I tried heating using soldering iron and even the stove and not enough heat (ah said doh laugh eh). What are some cheap alternatives that work?

t&t tech

Re: how to solder 4 and 0 gauge wires?(wah u use?)

Postby t&t tech » January 3rd, 2014, 5:31 pm

I have used a 100w iron to solder 4 gauge onto ring terminals already, trick is to let the iron heat the strands of the wire enough, the solder will flow right through.

I never endorse connecting such large wires via solder. Use a block or something.

I only solder large wires on rings or spades after i have crimped just for that added safety.

altec

Postby altec » January 3rd, 2014, 5:41 pm

already crimped; I want additional safety.

Postby nervewrecker » January 3rd, 2014, 6:46 pm

Propane torch.

If you the adventurous type like me....pull out a few burger patties and torch that too. Works better when you drunk. :lol:

Postby meccalli » January 3rd, 2014, 8:07 pm

That or heat gun

altec

Postby altec » January 3rd, 2014, 8:37 pm

where sells propane torch in Trinidad? I have a heat gun didn't think that would have enough heat.

Postby nervewrecker » January 3rd, 2014, 9:13 pm

Heat gun won't work.

I got my torch at bhags

caliph tec

Postby caliph tec » January 3rd, 2014, 9:59 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Heat gun won't work.

I got my torch at bhags

whats price for one bro,i have 2 get one

Postby skylinechild » January 3rd, 2014, 10:01 pm

* pulls out notepad and takes notes

* makes a note to call nerve to solder the connections in the engine bay - and have patties and alco on hand

Postby nervewrecker » January 3rd, 2014, 10:03 pm

I paid like $130.00 or something but my can almost empty. Refill cheap I think, was like $30.00 iirc.

Anything tastes good when you drunk. And no, I will interfere with your stuff sober. :lol:

Postby skylinechild » January 3rd, 2014, 10:24 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I paid like $130.00 or something but my can almost empty. Refill cheap I think, was like $30.00 iirc.

Anything tastes good when you drunk. And no, I will interfere with your stuff sober. :lol:

brother man...i think you need to rephrase that last part in red....it NOT sounding right... :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2014, 10:00 am

aye aye :lol:

anyhow, here you guys are:

Quick tip: you can wrap the cable in a wet cloth before putting it into the vice grip. When the wire heats up the insulation gets kind of soft so keeping it cool keeps it from getting soft and distorting.

Good luck finding good solder though, seems most places stock plumbing solder which simply does not work and will have you f**king up ring terminals.

Patman

Postby Patman » January 4th, 2014, 10:57 am

I used a torch and 50/50 silver solder, remember to wrap the wire in a wet cloth as the insulation may get soft an deform, if it does that's no problem, I have some burning of insulation so I covered the wire with techflex and heat shrink on the end. You can use different colors heat shrink such as red and black, I assume you doing the big three?

altec

Postby altec » January 4th, 2014, 11:01 am

yeah, the big three and any other factory ground I see.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 5th, 2014, 8:37 pm

A stove is enough heat bhai

what you need is lots of flux. I check all over already, nowhere have electrical flux :(

U might hadda use plumbing flux

ModMania

Postby ModMania » January 5th, 2014, 8:41 pm

U can get flux at steves electronics, and flux will do the trick you may have to apply more than once

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 5th, 2014, 11:07 pm

well word!
thanks bhai!

I think the problem is that since u have to heat it up for such a long time, the metal does start to oxidize and the solder doh get to adhere good. The flux will prevent the oxidizing a bit.

Postby nervewrecker » January 5th, 2014, 11:25 pm

Where sells the 50/50 silver?

Postby 3stagevtec » January 7th, 2014, 10:28 pm

Propane torches are ideal for soldering the heavier gauge wires. I recommend crimping the wire 1st, since that would have the best electrical connectivity, then soldering to ensure a secure / permanent connection.

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2014, 11:02 pm

been using this for some time now, got it at bhags
http://www.amazon.com/Flo-temp-Lead-fre ... ree+solder

Patman

Postby Patman » January 8th, 2014, 9:06 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Where sells the 50/50 silver?

I took it from the welder where I work :oops:

altec

Postby altec » January 16th, 2014, 10:20 am

bought a butane torch at bhags. It came with a starter flux+solder kit for $345.00. it worked like a charm. So a next question;

Is using CCA wire from the alternator to the battery safe? I got a 5 foot length of 0 gauge cadence free. As I said before no upgrade to the alternator will be done. Saw some youtube videos showing CCA wire heating up to over 100 degrees Celsius during usage. Saw another showing CCA oxidizing to power at ring terminals.

Postby nervewrecker » January 16th, 2014, 10:32 am

Suddenly I desire a new torch :lol:

Not sure about this oxidizing but I know moisture getting in between the wire strands and under the insulation is not something good. Saw some of mine get like cigarette ash and some pure copper turn greenish black.
Never me again, heat shrink over the joints to keep moisture out.

dg216

Postby dg216 » January 19th, 2014, 1:07 pm

Sorry to throw thread off subject but can anyone tell me where I could find copper 0 guage terminal lugs locally ?? Want to do my big 3 ,getting battery month end

Postby X_Factor » January 19th, 2014, 7:23 pm

house electrical stores
bought mine at modern electrical, and its quite cheap vs buying those gold plated types @ a car audio store

dg216

Postby dg216 » January 19th, 2014, 7:34 pm

Thanks for the tip x factor i went bhags but no luck but did get some heat shrink though :)

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 20th, 2014, 2:14 pm

This is much safer, and cheaper.

Lots of stores have 100w irons.

Rave has in stock. 740-7086