need ideas music in 4 door hilux

CarelessJohn

need ideas music in 4 door hilux

Postby CarelessJohn » January 24th, 2014, 4:08 pm

Ppl hear the scene i have a 4 door Hilux and i wish to upgrade the music a little but i also want the van to look as original a possible right now the van has speakers in all the door i want some bass and the music must sound real clean, give me some ideas... If i have to have a box behind the seat u must never no the box even exist... also give me some figures to work with...

Details

Re: need ideas music in 4 door hilux

Postby Details » January 24th, 2014, 5:04 pm

CarelessJohn wrote:Ppl hear the scene i have a 4 door Hilux and i wish to upgrade the music a little but i also want the van to look as original a possible right now the van has speakers in all the door i want some bass and the music must sound real clean, give me some ideas... If i have to have a box behind the seat u must never no the box even exist... also give me some figures to work with...

Postby SR » January 24th, 2014, 5:12 pm

How loud do you want it? Keeping factory deck or aftermarket
We can do totally stealth systems on your vehicle

seanviper

Postby seanviper » February 5th, 2014, 11:26 am

SR wrote:How loud do you want it? Keeping factory deck or aftermarket

Can you PM me some options from what you my have alraedy done?
Or even suggest soemthing
i looking for options that can let me be about 100-150 rms loud in each door
and a bassline to compliment it
Cuz i was looking at the 6FE200 faital pros to put in the doors
What options do you have wrt amps and bassline
Box behind seat? etc.....

seanviper

Postby seanviper » March 6th, 2014, 1:46 pm

seanviper wrote:
SR wrote:How loud do you want it? Keeping factory deck or aftermarket

Can you PM me some options from what you my have alraedy done?
Or even suggest soemthing
i looking for options that can let me be about 100-150 rms loud in each door
and a bassline to compliment it
Cuz i was looking at the 6FE200 faital pros to put in the doors
What options do you have wrt amps and bassline
Box behind seat? etc.....

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 6th, 2014, 1:52 pm

798-3884, Ask for Kapil. Tell him Kid or Heads give you the number...He is excellent in these kind of systems...Location is in South though, but the prices are extremely good.

Postby SR » March 6th, 2014, 4:53 pm

Sorry i dont use pro audio speakers
Systems are built with sound quality and clarity with stealth in mind

Just finished a 2012 ford ranger comps and coaxials 3 8" subs in a custom ported enclosure behind the seat which functions normal with a slight lock adjustment both amps fit under one seat and vehicle was full dampened no cheap wiring used minus deck and dash kit cost is over 18k 3 days work

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 6th, 2014, 5:07 pm

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 6th, 2014, 6:05 pm

fit two tens in the back of a hilux comfortably- skar vd 10's

u have plenty options to get goood sound

Keegz2130

Postby Keegz2130 » March 6th, 2014, 6:55 pm

check Kaizen autosound in curepe ... great work !!

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 6th, 2014, 7:00 pm

Sounding like a raj install

PrEd8R

Postby PrEd8R » March 21st, 2014, 11:50 am

SR wrote:Sorry i dont use pro audio speakers

Just finished a 2012 ford ranger comps and coaxials 3 8" subs in a custom ported enclosure behind the seat which functions normal with a slight lock adjustment both amps fit under one seat and vehicle was full dampened no cheap wiring used minus deck and dash kit cost is over 18k 3 days work

How in the world that cost 18k dread o.O !! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

different

Postby different » March 21st, 2014, 12:09 pm

quality comps and amps not cheap

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 21st, 2014, 12:37 pm

Very easy to believe

Postby SR » March 21st, 2014, 1:58 pm

PrEd8R wrote:

good ting not cheap cheap ting not good

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 21st, 2014, 8:33 pm

SR wrote:
PrEd8R wrote:

good ting not cheap cheap ting not good

3 8" subs in a custom enclosure
damping
wires
comps
coaxials
2 amps
labour

18k is cheap.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 21st, 2014, 11:52 pm

Just randomly....

Morel tempo comp -$1800
Morel tempo coax - $1000
Jl xd 600.6 - $2600
Jl xd 600.1 - $2200
Jbl 804 (2) - $800
Damplifier - $1200
Wires - $1000

Total - $10600

Is this equipment not good?

Working with a $18000 budget you looking at $7000 labour.

Lets exclude the box cost of say...$1000, thats still $6000, which gives $2000/day labor for a 3 day job.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2014, 12:00 am

What about head unit? Harnesses? Labour to install dampening? That doh take 1hr. When we did my hilux it took close to 8 hours to do.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 22nd, 2014, 12:12 am

Just working off what SR said earlier about no headunit or dash kit used.

What were the goals of your system? And how extensive was your damping? What layers does it consist of?

Damping is probably the most time intensive part of this entire build.
(Unless fiberglass is involved for the box)

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2014, 12:54 am

^ well then your entire build is off if you are comparing sr products to morel and jbl....infact the prices you quote for products listed are wrong....jl amps are not that cheap...

the 600x6 online is avg $599us
http://www.ebay.com/itm/JL-Audio-XD600- ... 2a38acb40c

the 600x1 is $420US
http://www.ebay.com/itm/JL-AUDIO-XD600- ... 5d496a0123

morel tempo is entry level equipment...try the virtus which is $699 us
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Morel-VIRTUS-60 ... 5d411457a9

I've heard a system similar to the one sr is speaking about the morel tempo comes nothing near that front stage...

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 22nd, 2014, 8:32 am

Morel prices may be off (higher than retail), but the jl xd prices are accurate locally.

Point I'm trying to make is this: it seems that the age old 80% install 20% equipment only applies to certain things/people/equipment.

IMO, for car audio in Trinidad......you almost never get what you pay for, be it equipment or install.

OP asked for a simple upgrade right? Do you feel that >$18k is the cheapest that can get done for? And accepting anything else is a "raj install"?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2014, 8:44 am

Comparing apples and lemons...you putting a price without knowing the equipment with the install then avging labour to prove a point....

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 22nd, 2014, 9:05 am

At the end of the day, while people fighting down prices of equipment and labour. A cheap system for a hilux could be had for 6k if youre doing it yourself.

Cheap is the word here. Its not only only an Adjective to describe the cost of a system, its a Noun that identifies a Culture.

Neither SR nor Myself never have, or ever will do cheap. There are dozens of people that dont value their time, nor experience, and these "Raj" installers are the first ones to complain about high prices and markup, and are the first one to fight down an install job and offer to "beat" the price.

There is always the option to take your business elsewhere if you don't like the price an installer quotes you. That goes for everything from a Car wash to Visits to Seamans lounge.

Why service your car at masterserve/federal (or some well established auto garage), when you can pay the service bay attendant a $40.00?

As for Firewall's analysis, I see no mention of Consumables, Tools, Materials. And if someone is charging 1000.00 to do a custom enclosure behind a Hilux seat, inclusive of Materials, good for them, I want some of whatever they are smoking.

The OP never asked for the cheapest.

Infact, a little upgrade could simply mean a mono amp, a 10" sub and new front door speakers.

handsomeRob2837

Postby handsomeRob2837 » March 22nd, 2014, 9:12 am

Well judgin from dis post^^^. D man talkin from experience. Great install job btw Firewall

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2014, 9:39 am

With deadening like that best you didn't do any...to each his own...

Wrong dash finisher used hence the gap....

Again quality come with a price...

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2014, 10:27 am

vs

that is why cost vary and some installers charge more than others....

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 22nd, 2014, 10:51 am

Lawls.....

At the end of the day, I agree with the sentiment of "to each his own".

Aaron 2NR wrote:Comparing apples and lemons...you putting a price without knowing the equipment with the install then avging labour to prove a point....

Quite true....but it can be said that quoting an average price greater than 18K for an install excluding the headunit without providing specifics isn't very helpful either.

Aaron 2NR wrote:With deadening like that best you didn't do any...to each his own...
I disagree, the damping served my intended purpose of sealing up the door and adding a little mass to the metal.

Wrong dash finisher used hence the gap....
That's the stock kit, no aftermarket kit was bought.

Again quality come with a price...
It does, but more expensive does not mean better.

nigel1977 wrote:At the end of the day, while people fighting down prices of equipment and labour. A cheap system for a hilux could be had for 6k if youre doing it yourself.

Cheap is the word here. Its not only only an Adjective to describe the cost of a system, its a Noun that identifies a Culture.

Neither SR nor Myself never have, or ever will do cheap.

That you guys style yourselves after SIS and other high end shops is great.

There are dozens of people that dont value their time, nor experience, and these "Raj" installers are the first ones to complain about high prices and markup, and are the first one to fight down an install job and offer to "beat" the price.

This is what i have a problem with. On one hand you're saying the customer has the choice to take their business elsewhere, but elsewhere is "raj" You guys have skill and experience, and as such place a value on your time, that's fine, but it reeks of arrogance to say everyone else who charges less is a "raj installer"

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 22nd, 2014, 11:05 am

And here's the door in the corolla.

Your point is slightly invalid, and a bit out of context....kinda like the earlier apples and lemons scenario. The objectives of the hilux system were plainly stated in the original thread.

Firewall wrote:This has made a huge difference over the original bare metal. Eyeballing it it looks to be about the recommended 25%, and special attention was placed of the flat portions. The ridge about halfway up seemed to be "resonating/ringing??" when lightly tapped, and since material was scarce (1.5 sheets) i tried the strips and it worked very well. Sounds solid from just those strips being applied.

Rattles in the rear are now completely gone.

Probably should have kept going huh....?

I have never compared myself to Rhyan, and never will because IMO he is THE BEST installer in Trinidad and Tobago. (attitude, knowledge and quality of work)

*edit*
I actually try to aim for his standard in my DIY's

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2014, 11:24 am

System in my hilux cost over 20k excluding headunit, subs and enclosure...SR just did a simple system for me for fraction of the cost and it sounds a lot better than the system in my hilux with mosconi processor, morel etc....

So you came here to waste down a cost by SR dinelle etc when the same shop you big up charge similar rates because of quality of work.....yes rhyan is good at his installs and quality of his work and almost similar to both sr and dinelle

Take your head out your ass for a minute and realise when people are good at what they do, they know what rate they charge for their work....who dont wanna pay..thats their prob

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » March 22nd, 2014, 11:30 am

I agree with the above posters who gasped at the 18K cost for an install.

I see no reason for anyone to be jumping on Firewall's throat, because like him, I too am perturbed by how an install that is that simple, cost $18,000. For a DIY guy, I think his install skills far surpasses some pro installers I know.

And just before this turns into a PRO vs DIY battle, people seem to forget that DIY guys work on their own vehicle, obviously no cost attached. It's the fact that people charge for quite frankly, piss poor work that has some people upset.

I also noticed that the wrong pics were posted above, comparing damping, etc. This was never the installer in question. Allow me to post the correct ones. These are all public, nothing to hide here.

The midbass was screwed into the stock plastic baffle

This was the deadening done on the door.

And of course, the secure wire run for RCAs.

There is nothing further to say. The pictures say it all. I also suspect that this was a daily driver, not built for competition, sunday morning, no biggie, I did not tune yet kinda install.

We can only speculate on the labour cost. A fraction only says so much. I see that folks are getting pretty riled up inside here.