Car audio in house

Pablo660

Car audio in house

Postby Pablo660 » February 4th, 2014, 9:31 am

I wanna set up a std setup in the house
Deck n 2 amps but amps are 35x2 and 25x2 amps. I was thinking to buy or build a power supply at 12v that rating but they range from 15-25 hundred.

Could I use a car battery and charger
Like them music carts ?

zoelikescheese

Re: Car audio in house

Postby zoelikescheese » February 4th, 2014, 9:38 am

just put the music aside until you get a car

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » February 4th, 2014, 10:37 am

Dunno if I getting a car soon, using father in law van :s and next wifee vehicle is a company lease

Sooo was planing to build a tool storage unit for garage and install music in it

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » February 4th, 2014, 10:39 am

Well might cancel that idea as I jus repair my denon 1709 (bad regulator) so klipch 6.2s back online lol
But still would like suggestions on this
Thanks

Postby Rovin » February 4th, 2014, 10:50 am

use ba3 & chajah ... :)

Postby nervewrecker » February 4th, 2014, 10:56 am

If you compare the costs and risks involved in running a 12v system in house you will realize it makes more sense to get an av receiver or some Gemini GPA amps.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » February 4th, 2014, 3:25 pm

Now this is car audio in house. This was my old setup with a 50 amp power supply on 2 amplifiers,deck and preamp, one 12" sub and 2 6x9's.
If you can get a 30 amp power supply you'll be fine.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 4th, 2014, 6:33 pm

-Get a microwave transformer

-Replace the secondary winding with the required turns to make around 10.5Vrms AC (when u rectify it you will get around 13.8VDC [the rectifier does consume like 1V] , which is the voltage to charge the average 12V battery)

-Get some heavy duty industrial rectifiers (like this : http://www.parts-express.com/400v-25a-b ... r--050-060 )

Connect yo shiet like so :
The capacitor optional, cud just use the battery and done.

If the average microwave transformer draws 10A @ 115V = 1150W
then the output at 13.8V will be 83.33A (max)

Your house electricals have to be able to handle 1150W of power tho, so if yuh house bun down doh blame me.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 4th, 2014, 7:21 pm

another thing I wanna try is opening up the amp, and bypassing the DC-DC portion , and just use the microwave transformer to provide the power directly to the amplification circuit

it should be more efficient that way. Instead of converting 115VAC to 12VDC to whatever voltage the amp needs, just bypass the 12Vdc part entirely

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » February 4th, 2014, 8:23 pm

I meant a 50 amp power supply or higher. My mistake

Postby skylinechild » February 4th, 2014, 9:50 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:-Get a microwave transformer

-Replace the secondary winding with the required turns to make around 10.5Vrms AC (when u rectify it you will get around 13.8VDC [the rectifier does consume like 1V] , which is the voltage to charge the average 12V battery)

-Get some heavy duty industrial rectifiers (like this : http://www.parts-express.com/400v-25a-b ... r--050-060 )

Connect yo shiet like so :
The capacitor optional, cud just use the battery and done.

If the average microwave transformer draws 10A @ 115V = 1150W
then the output at 13.8V will be 83.33A (max)

Your house electricals have to be able to handle 1150W of power tho, so if yuh house bun down doh blame me.

DAMN you just give the man power supply building 101.
few things to consider
1. the capacitor IS necessary as it smoothens the waveform- if connected to an oscilloscope you'll see its not pure.the amps will not like this and may cause damage later on.
more capacitors the better.

2. buy a cheap voltmeter and connect it just before you attach your output terminals- to see how much you can get.

3. connect a variable resistor to vary your voltage. if youre the tech type why not include some additional circuitry to vary the amperage

4. you will also need a bleeder resistor - to bleed off the charge from the capacitor when your unit is turned off. in this regard instead of using a resistor you can use a 12v computer case fan-it will continue to spin a couple secs after the unit is off - bleeding out the voltage- as well as keeping the unit cool.

5. fuses- you will need a fuse on the input as well as output to ensure your unit doesnt trip your breaker- and if your equipment shorts out- your unit wont be damaged.

gofe777

Postby gofe777 » February 4th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Just buy ah computer power supply ( $100 for cheap one ) or buy one with higher wattage an get an electrician to wire in an on off switch for u!..

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » February 5th, 2014, 7:59 am

gofe777 wrote:Just buy ah computer power supply ( $100 for cheap one ) or buy one with higher wattage an get an electrician to wire in an on off switch for u!..

how a computer power supply going to power an amplifier?
you just wanted to post something ent?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » February 5th, 2014, 9:53 am

Thanks I like the write up for the power supply build, I know a bit of electronics but it's been a long time lol
Like the idea of the microwave transformer, what about a bridge rectifier from an alternator to level out the dc and yes I belive it makes sense to put caps on the circuit.
I got multimeters and the outlet I may use close to panel box and unloaded really
Any one with a busted microwave to sell lol

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » February 5th, 2014, 9:54 am

I saw the computer power supply but 10 amps lol , I don't trust plus those wires would fry under load

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 5th, 2014, 10:55 am

I try using computer power supplies aready (3 of them in parallel)

They work okay but the voltage dips down to 10V at medium power levels. I was running a small amp too .-.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » February 5th, 2014, 11:49 am

Pablo660 wrote:I saw the computer power supply but 10 amps lol , I don't trust plus those wires would fry under load

yeah you will destroy your equipment

Sanjstar

Postby Sanjstar » February 5th, 2014, 12:04 pm

I also used an old computer power supply on my rockford mono block amp.....powered an hx2 punch 12"....used a stereo reciever for the mids tho which i then piped the output channel to the mono block....the voltage was 11.5 tho but that doesn not matter....the current value matters....and you will have to go relli loud to damage anything as ur power supply or amp will trip if u juiced it too much....you have to rell mess up your connections to blow something....and a car sub in a house relli kicks since its an enclosed region, so i doubt u will wana crank it all the way!

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » February 5th, 2014, 5:55 pm

I also used PC Power Supplies. I had some laying around (Im a pc tech) One for mids&highs and Two for bass and it rel use to knock. But then I realized that its better to use house music in house and car music in an actual car.

Btw @cjsplayboy If you not sure about things you don't have to contribute. It does nothing to the equipment. Once you push the system too hard, the amplifier would draw too many amps and you could blow the Power Supply. (Facts to take into consideration when getting the power supplies)

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 5th, 2014, 6:14 pm

cjsplayboy have a slight point, One of my powersupplies did malfunction and was giving out 18V :lol:
PC PSU's rel complex so it better to go with a more simple solution, less points for failure

Sanjstar. Both voltage and current value matters bhai :lol:
Power= Voltage*current ... if you want cake yuh hadda put een all the ingredients or else the cake will not output the rated power

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » February 5th, 2014, 6:23 pm

@ruffneck 18V :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

That is thing to burn down houses. Most are not designed to output so high.

Sanjstar

Postby Sanjstar » February 5th, 2014, 6:25 pm

Yuh have a point there ruffneck....but ent when choosing a battery for music we look at the ampage...cuz 12V standard, the ampage isn't P=IV, V constant so power dependant on I...respect

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2014, 7:11 pm

You need a "regulated" power supply, not just a basic recitified circuit like described above.

A pc power supply will work but is only good for 7amps or so.

I have a real 47amp power supply if you are interested.

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2014, 7:45 pm

But ent most amps 18v stable?

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 5th, 2014, 7:54 pm

Sanjstar wrote:Yuh have a point there ruffneck....but ent when choosing a battery for music we look at the ampage...cuz 12V standard, the ampage isn't P=IV, V constant so power dependant on I...respect

not talkin bout car batteries, we talkin bout PC PSU's

both go hand in hand bhai, with PC PSU's the voltage dips REALLY low under heavy load, so you need an insane amount of PSU's in parallel to pick up the slack. It just not worth it at the end of the day

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2014, 9:09 pm

Dip simply means they cant push enough amps.

Putting power supplies in parallel is not a good idea.
If there are slight differences in voltage,
There will be cross currents between the power supplies which they are not designed for...

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 6th, 2014, 1:25 am

agree with you fully pugboy

About the regulated powersupplies too
The circuit from those regulated powersupplies look easy enough to copy/modify to handle more current too :D

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2014, 4:43 am

yes, however a regular transformer regulated power supply becomes very expensive and heavy once you cross 10amps.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » February 6th, 2014, 7:38 am

yeah i think people getting tied up with amperage and wattage

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » February 10th, 2014, 8:10 am