2009 Corolla - SQ Edition

Firewall

Re: Essque

Postby Firewall » September 1st, 2020, 9:19 pm

Will update this soon. Hit a few snags and changed some things, but the build is done

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 2nd, 2021, 10:48 pm

Okay let me see if I can finish this.

So, from where we left off........

Initially, my plan was to mount the midrange in the a pillar and the tweeter in the sail panel.
The rings were cut for the midrange and tweeter respectively.

The A pillar was measured, marked and cut.

Wooden dowels were cut and hot-glued in place at the desired angle.

Checked to make sure the speaker had clearance

The cloth was stretched, secured with "krazy glue" and the resin applied.
The resin I initially used never cured. (I would not recommend using this brand)

After some advise from more experienced pros, I removed the uncured mess and cleaned the pillar with "gun-wash"

The cloth was then re-stretched and using the normal polyester resin, I tried again.

This is the result after trimming and rough sanding the pillar after the resin cured

This pic was taken from the drivers seat looking directly at the pillar. From this, it became evident that while the midrange would be positioned properly, the tweeter in the sail panel would need to be built out. While entirely possible, I decided that it would start to look way too bulky. As a result this design was ditched, and it was back to the drawing board.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 3rd, 2021, 12:47 am

Starting over, I decided that both the midrange and the tweeter would be on the A-Pillar.
They were put as close to each other as possible on the same plane.

Rings were recut as one piece

Test fitting the speakers

A strip of PVC was stapled to the outside of the ring to create a recess. Another piece of wood was cut to fit inside this. This will later be made into the grill.

Test fitting into the A-Pillar

Cloth stretched and trimmed.

Resin and Mat applied and trimmed.

Has some air bubbles, but that won't cause any issues.
The back is also reinforced with milkshake

Test fit in the vehicle

Filler, Sand, rinse repeat......

These are not going to be painted, they will be covered in leather(ette?) so they don't need to be perfect.
Test covering to make sure the imperfections do not show. They don't.

Would have to end up doing a seam.

At this point, I redid the dashboard which was flaking, and had the pillars covered as well (not the greatest)
Pillars finally installed
(you can see the seam, needs to be re-glued and stitched)

The midbass was a simple swap as the door was previously prepped.

And that is the front stage installed in the car.

Postby Rovin » March 3rd, 2021, 11:17 am

hmm i say like this man forget to post or lost interest in d project

looking good

where u aimed them at - seatbelt or headrest on d opposite side ? ...

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 3rd, 2021, 8:10 pm

Rovin wrote:hmm i say like this man forget to post or lost interest in d project

looking good

where u aimed them at - seatbelt or headrest on d opposite side ? ...
Lol. Didn't forget.
This was finished since some time last year.
Was looking for a free hosting site for the photos since photobucket not letting you host for free anymore.

The two points I initially looked at aiming the speaker (map light and cab light) kinda got scrapped with the initial design.

They are now mounted about 30 degrees off axis.
This was done for 2 reasons.
1) The off axis speaker response was reasonably smooth within the passband that I intended to cross them.
2) The pillars became a lot slimmer and unobtrusive than the original design.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 3rd, 2021, 8:39 pm

Ok.

With the front stage complete, I focused on the sub/amps.
The wires for the 3way front stage were previously run in preparation for this, so that was a tremendous ease.

Testing fitment to make sure the sub and amps would fit where I wanted it to fit.

Yes, the trunk is dirty, but eyeballing it indicated that it would fit comfortably.

Moving forward, I built an amp-rack to house the 3 JL amps, Mosconi 6to8, fused power distribution, wire distribution and fans.
The JL amps were stacked using the stacking kit for the HD amps.
These are way too expensive for what they are. Looking back, I could have accomplished the same result using threaded rods and locking nuts.

This is what I came up with.
The fans, remote etc would be wired when placed in the car.

the RCA's were labelled and heatshrunk for identification.

Somewhere along the line the plan changed and the mosconi was sunk in the dashboard.

In the same vein of plans changing, the sub also changed from 1 to 2.
Last edited by Firewall on March 4th, 2021, 7:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 3rd, 2021, 8:58 pm

The infinite baffle build in the trunk started. The underside of the back dash was completely deadened, and all holes sealed.

The frame for the infinite baffle was started.

The baffle was constructed using 2 layers of 3/4" mdf.
The sides were fit as closely as possible, and closed cell foam was used to ensure an air tight seal.

You can see the amp-rack behind the baffle.
It would have cleared, but as plans seem to do, the layout was changed.
This was because with a view to servicing and access, changing fuses etc. would have been too difficult when the sub was mounted.

Finished product:
Carpeted, and finally changed that blasted dangling led strip.

This layout is more conducive to servicing and troubleshooting.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 3rd, 2021, 9:00 pm

Well that's it for the build pics.
I have a couple to walk through the gain matching between the deck, mosconi and amps.

Re: 2009 Corolla - SQ Edition

Postby X_Factor » March 4th, 2021, 11:37 am

what xo point does the cap give u on the tweet?

Postby Rovin » March 4th, 2021, 11:45 am

looks neat 8-)

questions :

did u seal off d rear dash speakers holes

how low can d sub comfortably\effectively play

does it cause d trunk lid to rattle

& when u have d seats up it sorta becomes\reacts like a sealed enclosure ? even though it wont be perfectly sealed off ....

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 4th, 2021, 8:06 pm

X_Factor wrote:what xo point does the cap give u on the tweet?

Honestly that is a question that I could have better answered during the build.
Basically followed Mark's video.

Think I ended up going with a 12.5uF Nippon America. I will check it back and let you know.
Also, it is something that if I get a better quality one I will change it.
As it stands, I do not know if the cap is poly or electrolytic, bipolar or not.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 4th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Rovin wrote:looks neat 8-)
Thanks

questions :
did u seal off d rear dash speakers holes
Yes. the rear speaker holes were sealed using 1/2" mdf blanks, then sound deadener was applied from the trunk side

how low can d sub comfortably\effectively play.
didnt really do any sweeps to pinpoint a frequency, but it plays mostly everything I throw at it.
Haven't touched the eq as yet though, so I guess I still have the flexibility to eq in any low end response.
Link me a song to try and I will let you know.

does it cause d trunk lid to rattle
Thankfully not as much as I expected.

& when u have d seats up it sorta becomes\reacts like a sealed enclosure ? even though it wont be perfectly sealed off ....
With the seats up, It doesn't sound very audibly different to me, just a bit quieter.

Postby Rovin » March 5th, 2021, 11:37 am

u really want me link u a song to test :twisted:

i feel u didnt get to hear d stuff i played when it had d sq event by d bbq place , i live in d 15-25hz zone :twisted:

anyway look for d ultra low version of rob dougan : clubbed to death ... doh mind is a ole song but multiple freqs in it shud give u good idea of what ur sub bass can\cannot do, if u dont hear\feel anything in d 1st 5 seconds well u already missing out :wink:

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2021, 11:43 am

Subscribed for updates

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 5th, 2021, 1:59 pm

Rovin wrote:u really want me link u a song to test :twisted:

i feel u didnt get to hear d stuff i played when it had d sq event by d bbq place , i live in d 15-25hz zone :twisted:

anyway look for d ultra low version of rob dougan : clubbed to death ... doh mind is a ole song but multiple freqs in it shud give u good idea of what ur sub bass can\cannot do, if u dont hear\feel anything in d 1st 5 seconds well u already missing out :wink:
I only heard X_Factor car in that meet with the Bramha 12".

I will try it out and let you know.

Postby X_Factor » March 5th, 2021, 2:58 pm

^ and imagine rovin sub was tuned wayyy lower!!

Postby Rovin » March 5th, 2021, 5:32 pm

^^^ur sub have d potential to drop low too , it just needs a suitable enclosure

Firewall, whenever u in my area & u have a hr or 2 to spare we can take a listen to each others ride ... 8-)

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » March 9th, 2021, 9:24 am

I'm pretty sure with those subs and this install, there's absolutely no shortage of low bass.

Amazing build Firewall. Superbly done!

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 11th, 2021, 9:22 pm

Rovin wrote:Firewall, whenever u in my area & u have a hr or 2 to spare we can take a listen to each others ride ... 8-)

Will definitely take you up on this when I get some time.

evolution7tt wrote:I'm pretty sure with those subs and this install, there's absolutely no shortage of low bass.

Amazing build Firewall. Superbly done!

Thanks man!!

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 11th, 2021, 10:09 pm

Headunit reaches maximum volume without clipping, using 1000hz and 40hz 0db test tracks.

The input gain on the mosconi was then set, ensuring that the unit would not receive a clipped signal from the headunit and mute itself.

The gain on the amps was set using the method outlined in the video.

If I remember correctly, it was set up as follows:
The volume was set to 35 on the headunit (just to have some headroom) and the amp gains set using the same test tones.
Each speaker recieved the following approximate power:
Tweeters - 50w
Midrange - 75w
Midbass - 100w

After listening for a few weeks, I felt the midbass punch was lacking and readjusted the midbass to receive 200w each. All is now more in line with my expectations.

Please bear in mind that these power ratings are using test tones.
The speakers will not see anything near that on music.

I have not touched the eq or the time alignment as yet.
I may try to fiddle with the time alignment or just take it to someone to do a complete tune on it, but as of now, that the end of the process.

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2021, 10:42 pm

if you have it can you share it with me. I lost it and need to add it back to my collection.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 8th, 2021, 7:03 pm

if you have it can you share it with me. I lost it and need to add it back to my collection.

Massive throwback!
I have this track saved as the matrix theme, but it's potato quality 192k.
I'll go look for a flac

altec

Postby altec » August 8th, 2021, 10:10 pm

Good luck, all I found were 320 mp3s

Postby Rovin » August 8th, 2021, 10:11 pm

was supposed to reply to his but i 4get my bad

its a rebassed version we talking about here they made 10+yrs ago that dips into low 20s possibly teens too

i believe my copy of it is decently clean but i fraid dem upload sites so nerve when business opening back up on 16th if u in my area come for it ...
Last edited by Rovin on August 9th, 2021, 12:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 8th, 2021, 11:34 pm

Is it the decaf rebass?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n9nwqO2ko58

I have a fuckton of decaf downloaded, will have to search because the labelling is chaotic

Postby Rovin » August 8th, 2021, 11:59 pm

cud very well be a decaf cause 10+yrs he was probably 1 of d few doing rebass songs

i always say i will build something for in my house to play\test such notes but that video u posted seems like a slowed version, d 1 i have is normal speed, i suspect like other songs ppl made slowed versions too

phil collins in d air tonight 20hz rebass around that time too was another very popular 1, i used to play it in my store & car for demos & surprise alot of ppl ...