Navara music

davey868

Navara music

Postby davey868 » March 27th, 2020, 1:01 am

Good day fellas. Forgive me if this seems to be a reoccurring question. I have a Navara D40 2013 twin cab and I'd like to put some music in it. It's my first vehicle and I don't know much about car audio. Now hold alyuh horses and continue reading.

I don't have the monies to pay someone as I'm paying a medical loan for a major surgery my wife had and plus the van loan. The more I can save, the better.

The guy I bought the van from left a old Orion amp 700 watts and an eq. In the set up. The deck is a Pioneer Mix track? Or something so.

I just want a decent sound from possibly just door speakers if I can without having to go and installation sub etc. Any suggestions? I really appreciate all the advice I can get. Be safe and may God watch over you and your loved ones in the face of this virus. :wink:

evolution7tt

Re: Navara music

Postby evolution7tt » March 27th, 2020, 4:05 pm

I have a D40 as well. I’m currently doing my system.

Right now, all I have are 8” in the front doors and tweeters in the dash, and it sounds way better than I expected.

If you already have an amp, use it.

You can make adapters to fit the 8" in the front doors.

3784A108-89C8-4C3A-8015-EE6DE3211602.jpeg

FA5872B9-2AC0-4946-84A0-4E3B9A6B9DD0.jpeg

davey868

Postby davey868 » March 27th, 2020, 9:36 pm

Thanks bai evolution. What brand of 8" and what's the cost so? Also, what's the gold coloured paper about? I eh know anything about auto audio.

Postby nervewrecker » March 27th, 2020, 10:10 pm

davey868 wrote:Thanks bai evolution. What brand of 8" and what's the cost so? Also, what's the gold coloured paper about? I eh know anything about auto audio.

It's sound dampening material. Used to reduce vibrations and resonances. It also adds viscoelastic mass to the metal allowing it to flex and not be a brittle mass that contributes to distortion.

This was a former vehicle of mine. I used the Digital Designs material as it was some of the thickest around then and I just so happened to be passing by the dealer.

Long story short, it makes your door be like a big sealed enclosure so you can use speakers that can give you a response into the lower frequency regions giving you a fuller sound up front.

Current vehicle, no subs installed.

A sub installed.

Sounds comfortable to listen to all day long.

The guy above has a navara and he can better guide you in the right direction. A good system does not have to be expensive.

I got an 80prs kicking dog for $1400.00

The mid bass for $1200.00 (complete set) JBL c608 GTI Mkii

Tweeters, Hybrid audio L1V1, $500.00

Mids amps, powerbass ass 400.4, was like $850.00 BNIB

Bass amp JBL MSA 5001, $149.99 USD

Image dynamics 175 watt 10", like $450.00 each, on sale BNIB

MISC wiring etc approx $1k

Sound dampening - 6 sheets at $150.00 each.

Most men yapping about this that and who know about music sit in my vehicle and wanna throw away their whole system afterwards and start over. FYI, the navara guy is one that mentored me for years.

Postby Rovin » March 28th, 2020, 2:00 pm

1st question i ask anybody who ask me for\about a system is : u want to hear it INside ur car or OUTside ur car ?

depending on d answer u guide them accordingly ...

davey868

Postby davey868 » March 28th, 2020, 3:18 pm

I wanna hear it inside the van.

Postby Rovin » March 28th, 2020, 7:25 pm

i personally wouldn't bother with rear door speakers, sound deaden both front doors & put a good pair of coaxial speakers which wud be about 500\pair , or component speakers if $ allows , u can power either with just deck power , i wouldnt recommend cheaper economy level speakers - u get what u pay for , i have some ads in car audio for sale section u can check out to get an idea

post model no of both deck & amp so tuners can advise u further ...

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » March 28th, 2020, 9:51 pm

davey868 wrote:Thanks bai evolution. What brand of 8" and what's the cost so? Also, what's the gold coloured paper about? I eh know anything about auto audio.

That’s a Dynalab 8”. $10US on Parts Express.

An easier fit would be to use a good quality 6x9, since the OEM speaker in the front door is that size. The gold you see there is sound deadener as Nerve said. It makes a huge difference, if your budget allows.
It’s $100 per sheet. You can get an excellent quality 6x9 coaxial for $550.

Nerve, thanks for the kind words. You have experimented with everything over the years. Much props to you. Your system is seriously good sounding.

davey868

Postby davey868 » March 28th, 2020, 11:04 pm

Rovin bro I appreciate your input. I'll do just that God willing in the morning. I was told the amp isn't good though it works, as the fuses aren't in it etc. I've been scouting for a good amp and I came across a brand called Skar Audio......seems to be a pretty good brand....

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2020, 11:24 pm

Went by a tuner today, all I can say....opportunity for this man.

http://www.dls.se/en/car/prod.html?produkt=en_1128

Saw this laying around. Price beyond attractive. I actually contemplated getting it and letting the JBl go. But that's a hard decision. I think i'd quicker let got of the morel elates I have.
Saw a lot of other stuff. One of my worker might make a whole system from stuff he saw there.

I learned well from the men that guided me. If it weren't for you guys i'd probably have a boss 4 channel, a pair of eminence, power acoustic pwm20 and a pair of pioneer 12". That was all I aspired to own.

Rovin also played a part in showing me the way.

If I get a letter to knock during the lockdown I may make a turn by you. Doubt I taking any though.

Postby SR » March 29th, 2020, 8:37 pm

The up6i are new or used?

Postby nervewrecker » March 29th, 2020, 8:45 pm

SR wrote:The up6i are new or used?

Used, very good condition.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 31st, 2020, 10:55 pm

post ah deal, something could happen.

morels self

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2020, 11:09 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:post ah deal, something could happen.

morels self

If you went where I went and see what I see, yuh flip.

Employee with the blue swift done realise he building a whole system from in dey.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 1st, 2020, 1:08 am

Take it from me, a navara door needs PROPER sound treatment on it.

I had 6x9 jbl 639 in the front and the matching rear.

And after sound proofing the doors I went from high mids sound to proper midbass on just 50rms each.

If I were to recommend, change the front 6x9 to 6.5s and put a tweeter in the pillars or in the factory dash location.
The location of rear door speakers hides all the sound traveling to the front so you don't need it.

Go for decent components up front and then see if u want anything more

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » April 3rd, 2020, 6:32 pm

Put these in today for my D40. So the front speakers are all in.

Time do to the sub. Amps are already in.
491F9C93-A792-43CF-9A80-F4262121E5A5.jpeg
2FE8A0C2-C3E6-4A2F-B209-16A9DE0DD49C.jpeg