E25: 6 15S build

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2021, 2:02 pm

Been at this for some time, finally reached a spot where I could create a thread as the build is almost done. Pics are not necessarily in order but you'd get the idea.

Details of build

Mids Section
8 HCCA TN-1 supper tweeters(powered by hcca 1000.4)
4 b&c de75(me 60 flares) powered by hcca 1000.4
4 b&c 10mbx64(powered by hcca 3000.4)
4 b&c 12fw76(powered by hcca 3000.4)

Bassline
6 15 hcca orion. Each pair is powered by an orion hcca 8000.1 version 2 mono.

Current supply
3 320A mechman alts
12 ct3500 vmax batteries
1 alt per bank of 4

Deck and Processing
Dbx driverack 260
Pioneer 9400bx
20210426_133759.jpg
20210426_133855.jpg
20210426_133708.jpg
IMG-20201212-WA0067.jpg
20210426_133156.jpg
20210426_133610.jpg
20210426_133105.jpg
IMG-20210326-WA0113.jpg

Re: E25: 6 15S build

Postby Dave » April 26th, 2021, 2:10 pm

Omg. Fitting to your name!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2021, 2:13 pm

Some more!!! Hoping to tune to 36hz
IMG-20200503-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20210426-WA0008.jpg
IMG-20210426-WA0004.jpg
IMG-20210426-WA0003.jpg
IMG-20210426-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20210426-WA0005.jpg
IMG-20210426-WA0007.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » April 26th, 2021, 5:28 pm

Hmmmmmm
I feel i go hear this from home by me

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » April 26th, 2021, 5:41 pm

this go gee for sure.
Like you going with a mono system

Postby Rovin » April 26th, 2021, 5:59 pm

nice to see a build of this level being shown on d local interwebz

very good equipment & i like d lowish tuning

alot of power so i interested to know how d voltage holding up ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2021, 6:11 pm

kavaninho wrote:this go gee for sure.
Like you going with a mono system

Yes sir...mono sound
Rovin wrote:nice to see a build of this level being shown on d local interwebz

very good equipment & i like d lowish tuning

alot of power so i interested to know how d voltage holding up ...

Im running the bass at 2ohms so current draw would not be as much as how a 1ohm load will be. I was contemplating a 33hz tuning but im trying to get a best of both worlds sound. This might be difficult with hcca subs but the port can be adjusted to suit...Id post more pics later this week

Postby Rovin » April 26th, 2021, 6:58 pm

just for fun, knowledge & experience of doing it : i did a similar system for myself a few yrs ago, never played it publicly, 1st & only time i tried mids box on hood :oops: , still have my boxes , very tonal not 1 note wonder aka crixpan bass, scrapped it to try something else & never got around to doing it

imo with these types of systems mids\highs was easy for me, d bassline takes alot of trial\error\testing with various songs , cuft , port area, port length etc , box placement is very critical too , as little as 3-4" forward or backward can make a noticeable difference

thats a lot of mids\highs u have there so tuning too low will result in ur mids overpowering ur bass , have to find a sweetspot tuning

current is d most important thing, make sure ur batts always fully charged anytime u testing ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2021, 8:14 pm

Noted with much thanks and appreciate the advice. Lots of consideration was given to leaving room to adjust port especially after break out phase. Next thing I end up at at 38hz lol.

I was honestly thinking I would need more mids considering the kinda thing men using out there but then I realised im tuning at the lower end of the spectrum, so the combination will work.

A lot more work was done in "boxing" of the interior of the van. Will post more pics soon.

Postby Rovin » April 27th, 2021, 12:01 pm

yup breaking in subs is super important too , i have a open steel stand i put mine in to play in free air , 100+ hrs of sine waves & sometimes subs still stiff

1 of my systems had a steel cage for d sub box

for me personally 4 10/12 speakers is plenty & any more mids is too much for me, have to stand back further to prevent killing my ears which dont make sense . i guessing some soundboys have hearing loss so they can take on hearing 8-16 mid speakers + all dem drivers bussing ur ears ...

Postby X_Factor » April 27th, 2021, 12:19 pm

you would really have to consider the lithium batteries to support that system in a more optimal way

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2021, 1:05 pm

Trying to do some research on the lithium. Need some more expertise in that arena. The trial and error then hope for the best not going to cut it. Never had issues with AGM so id use it until im satisfied with the lithium theories

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2021, 4:32 pm

I have a question bout the mids.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2021, 4:54 pm

sMASH wrote:I have a question bout the mids.

Listening

Postby SR » April 28th, 2021, 6:34 am

Lithium is not as stable as an agm

Do the research

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2021, 6:51 am

SR wrote:Lithium is not as stable as an agm

Do the research

In terms of cost...it worked out the same as AGM. One difference is weight but I got around that!. Everyone seems to have a different understanding about lithiums, even the seller for various brands more confused than anything else..shrugs shoulders.

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2021, 10:14 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Listening
How come two different sizes of mids?

What's the advantage or use in this case?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 28th, 2021, 11:03 am

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Listening
How come two different sizes of mids?

What's the advantage or use in this case?

ideally I'm working towards a 4 way mid set up. Each component has a role(different frequencies etc)

10s- midrange
12s- strictly low mid
2''- drivers highs
tweeters- well yuh know the tweeter sound

Postby Rovin » April 28th, 2021, 11:59 am

basically he is bandpassing each individual speaker to play a specific freq range , kinda like running active for in car SQ

been there done that with 4 way mids , sounds really good but takes more speakers , amps, space & current, $$$ too .... worth it imo though

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2021, 12:11 am

jess wanted to confirm, cause all the car show that had varied mids, them men them run multiple PWM 20 and 19's, and i not sure they know what or even how they trying to acheive. using the dash eq's as cross overs.... start to tell them what goin on with they own system, u get the blank stare, cause they whole clip doing the same ting.

and what is the intended cross over points for those 10's and 12's?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 29th, 2021, 12:57 pm

Getting there
IMG-20210429-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20210429-WA0004.jpg
IMG-20210429-WA0005.jpg

Postby Rovin » April 29th, 2021, 6:21 pm

can u explain whats going on in d pics & curve inside d box

i have an idea but better to hear it from u as d owner ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 29th, 2021, 7:15 pm

Boy I was doing the write then one setta covid info started coming in...

First two pics is a continuation of the "sealing" and "boxing" of the vehicle. Still has some stuff to do to neaten and get the finished product.

As per the sub enclosure, 3 separate boxes! Going to start tuning at 38hz with the end game at 36 after subs break out. Enough space is left to adjust port accordingly.

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2021, 9:38 am

wont the current draw be the same despite the impedance?

The higher impedance means less power out with same current draw.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 8th, 2021, 3:24 pm

nervewrecker wrote:wont the current draw be the same despite the impedance?

The higher impedance means less power out with same current draw.

700A @ 1
500A @2

Postby nervewrecker » May 9th, 2021, 5:02 pm

Maybe in my mind or pain affecting my way of thinking.

The power output is should be halved everytime the impedance is doubled. In order for it to stay the same when the impedance doubled current draw will have to double provided voltage is a constant. So if the impedance is doubled the current draw should stay the same was when its halved to deliver the same output which it is not.

But if you drop the impedance to half ohm on a one ohm stable amp the current draw increases.

So therefore if the increase the impedance the current draw should drop. And its not always by the same percentage.

Something not adding up here. Power in should = power out neglecting losses.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 9th, 2021, 6:14 pm

Im only quoting the booklet and le dealer. Shrugs shoulders

Postby nervewrecker » May 9th, 2021, 9:24 pm

I think I'm missing something. Got some painkillers. Maybe someone else can chime in cuz I in no state to think straight.

It has some sense to it if you ask me.

But if you increase load on a 1 ohm amp to maybe 8 ohm I can't see current consumption being reduced drastically. It should be close to the same amounts because now the amp needs a certain amount of current to overcome that resistive load.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Im only quoting the booklet and le dealer. Shrugs shoulders

Postby nervewrecker » May 9th, 2021, 11:13 pm

I overthinking things, once the voltage remains the same the current is halved when the impedance doubles. The voltage is a constant here.

V = I * R

14v = 14A * 1 ohm

14V = 7A * 2 ohm

I distorting P=IV and V=IR here. Settling in :lol:

Postby Rovin » May 10th, 2021, 4:34 pm

i feel ur overworked & not resting properly , u need some good sleep & relaxation , it almost is never exactly half of this or double of that in actuality ...
Last edited by Rovin on May 10th, 2021, 4:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.