Re: Car audio advice thread

Postby SR » November 11th, 2022, 7:44 pm

There is
SQ sound quality and audiophile
SQL sound quality loud
Gallary aka just loud.

Iasca Caribbean has been trying to encourage towards the SQL for the loud playing men by setting standards with its "crowd pleaser" competition format that uses a combination of the following

A tonal accuracy score sheet judged by trained judges
A measuring system that measured the average spl of the system while being judged. This measurement device is placed in front of the vehicle at a set distance.

All systems are scored using the same test track thus making it fair to all competitors

After this round the competitor then has 2 more rounds to play what every they like as loud as they like to "win" the crowd.
There is nothing that can be done if a competitor walks with a crowd to win this part of the competition.

We have been doing this as an official iasca format for almost 10 years now.

We are currently looking at making changes for 2023 to make the format even more competetive

Postby *KRONIK* » November 11th, 2022, 8:09 pm

This is good info

I never knew

Postby timelapse » November 12th, 2022, 7:09 am

I wouldn't doubt that Steele is considerate on hikes with his Bluetooth.So no problem there

My problem:
I go in the bush to get away from civilization, only to hear one set of loud soca music coming from somebody backpack.It is annoying af.Not to mention, I really need to hear people up ahead and in the back, especially if the word snake is being used in a particular manner.Time and place is a concept that a lot of people cannot understand.
Ffs, I went to a cremation in Waterloo and I could swear it was a car show I went.

Postby Rovin » November 12th, 2022, 11:25 am

i agree with u, allyuh shud make that a mandatory rule when u taking ppl on private hike jobs , make dem put their phones on vibrate too ...

Postby timelapse » November 13th, 2022, 6:55 am

Rovin wrote:i agree with u, allyuh shud make that a mandatory rule when u taking ppl on private hike jobs , make dem put their phones on vibrate too ...
It is a mandatory rule with us.The phone calls aren't an issue.Half the time there's little to no reception.
With us there's no:
Alcohol
Smoking
Vaping
Loud music
Horse play
And recently,pets.

Postby Rovin » November 13th, 2022, 2:48 pm

i know we side tracking here but i dunno why some ppl does feel d need to carry ur pets with u all about, leave them home cause i sure d animal must be want a lil bit of alone time for he self ...

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2022, 7:52 pm

Rovin wrote:i know we side tracking here but i dunno why some ppl does feel d need to carry ur pets with u all about, leave them home cause i sure d animal must be want a lil bit of alone time for he self ...
Doing the new york Beverly hills ting.

Postby timelapse » November 14th, 2022, 9:59 am

Rovin wrote:i know we side tracking here but i dunno why some ppl does feel d need to carry ur pets with u all about, leave them home cause i sure d animal must be want a lil bit of alone time for he self ...
Typical never see come see behavior.Everybody hadda know you have a husky.
The day I carry my Akita in the bush, everybody else will vacate the bush

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 15th, 2022, 9:48 am

timelapse,

Wais the problem with pets tho?

(Sorrz if we going off topic here a bit)

Postby timelapse » November 15th, 2022, 1:10 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:timelapse,

Wais the problem with pets tho?

(Sorrz if we going off topic here a bit)
Long story short,mapapire was spotted.While everybody else was trying to avoid the snake,Mr Husky start aggravating it until it got aggressive.I end up having to pick up the dog and forcefully tote it out of the bush.
Picnic and beach,pets fine.In the middle of the northern range, unless you hunting,your pet is a liability to itself and others.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 15th, 2022, 2:59 pm

yeah true, fair enough

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 2nd, 2022, 8:21 am

Fellas have some time this weekend and i feel i want to plug that port/hole in that headrest box. It 1.25", whats the easiest way to plug with little to no damage to the box incase i have to sell.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 2nd, 2022, 10:41 am

Ok i find a way to plug it neat.
Sealing this will do what now?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » December 2nd, 2022, 11:53 am

So you did it and now asking what it will do ? Seems car audio is trail and error on your end.
Anyway, spiders wont be able to enter the enclosure cavity now.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 2nd, 2022, 2:20 pm

kavaninho wrote:So you did it and now asking what it will do ? Seems car audio is trail and error on your end.
No bai. I ent do it yet. I find a neat way to do it

Postby Rovin » December 2nd, 2022, 5:53 pm

kavaninho wrote:So you did it and now asking what it will do ? Seems car audio is trail and error on your end.

Postby sMASH » December 4th, 2022, 6:25 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:
No bai. I ent do it yet. I find a neat way to do it
Try it and see what results u get...

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 5th, 2022, 11:14 am

lmaoooo

If the box was playing midbass, you'd see a reduction in midbass

If it was playing mids like every other trini music system, you will notice nothing.

Also by chance, do you wind down your glass and blast music driving thru residential neighborhoods?

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » December 5th, 2022, 1:19 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:lmaoooo

If the box was playing midbass, you'd see a reduction in midbass

If it was playing mids like every other trini music system, you will notice nothing.

Also by chance, do you wind down your glass and blast music driving thru residential neighborhoods?
Nah... does cah take the loud music in my head to long na, was just for shits snd giggles.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 7th, 2022, 8:09 am

okay good

but yeah, next thing to try is to fill the box with damping material. Wont explain why, it wud be more fun for u to hear the difference ur self

Postby timelapse » December 8th, 2022, 7:36 pm

Fill the box with curry powder.

david12

Postby david12 » January 9th, 2023, 5:55 pm

Fellas lemme put a little life into the Car Audio section...

Any suggestions for decent lower powered 8 inch subs like 150 RMS. I feel I asked before but I think I want to try something I've been planning for a while. Budget friendly would be nice so no 8W1. Thanks in advance.

Postby rollingstock » January 9th, 2023, 6:38 pm

Arc 8, ID8. Comparable, 150rms. Can play low. But will easily bottom out.
DD 508 is a decent sub, would play relatively low in the right enclosure and get "loud"

Audiopipe have some decent 8's. And the elektra R8. Both would be fairly budget but play well.

Incriminator I8 is a decent capable little sub but not sure how available they are now.

Postby X_Factor » January 10th, 2023, 12:27 am

i have a single new sb acoustic 8 dvc 2ohm, 400rms( same owners of adire audio when they re launched)
I brought 10 for a build but end up selling them. Was keeping one but really have no use for it
500.00 pm if interested.

david12

Postby david12 » January 10th, 2023, 12:48 am

rollingstock wrote:Arc 8, ID8. Comparable, 150rms. Can play low. But will easily bottom out.
DD 508 is a decent sub, would play relatively low in the right enclosure and get "loud"

Audiopipe have some decent 8's. And the elektra R8. Both would be fairly budget but play well.

Incriminator I8 is a decent capable little sub but not sure how available they are now.
Thanks always rollingstock. Considering the Arcs or even the RF P2s but leaning more towards the Arc. Only problem is exactly as you mentioned. Lower powered sub geared to play low should mean a softer suspension system. I'll check through the TS parameters and make a final choice.
X_Factor wrote:i have a single new sb acoustic 8 dvc 2ohm, 400rms( same owners of adire audio when they re launched)
I brought 10 for a build but end up selling them. Was keeping one but really have no use for it
500.00 pm if interested.
I'm thinking 2 8s but that sub is almost perfect. Not too familiar with the brand but I think I heard it mentioned already. I'll keep it in mind.

Postby Rovin » January 10th, 2023, 1:15 pm

how long is ur low budget though like $500ish or less ? , maybe audiopipe will fit that budget

for me personally i will never want to so little for bass even if its for HT for car woss yet, its just not enough, lowest wattage bass i ever used is 400rms, anything under will leave me wanting more ... 1k is where i like to be

as RS say IA i series i do have 1 or 2 previous model 8s & 10s bnib in stock dual 4 , very robust strong built subs , will easily handle double rating though putting a bunch of extra power on some subs wont yield u anything extra after a certain point ....

Postby rollingstock » January 10th, 2023, 2:06 pm

I at 2k RMS on a pair of 8's

david12

Postby david12 » January 10th, 2023, 6:08 pm

Rovin wrote:how long is ur low budget though like $500ish or less ? , maybe audiopipe will fit that budget

for me personally i will never want to so little for bass even if its for HT for car woss yet, its just not enough, lowest wattage bass i ever used is 400rms, anything under will leave me wanting more ... 1k is where i like to be

as RS say IA i series i do have 1 or 2 previous model 8s & 10s bnib in stock dual 4 , very robust strong built subs , will easily handle double rating though putting a bunch of extra power on some subs wont yield u anything extra after a certain point ....
Was thinking at maximum $2000. Originally I was thinking 4 8's that's why I said 150rms each but I already have a dual 8 box and I think 2 200-300 RMS 8s would be good enough. Not looking to spend alot more so building a second box is not really in the plan. My 10" right now is perfect but I want to try something new and experiment a little.

Rovin, if you have the Incriminator 8s in D2 I'll keep it in mind and let you know.

Postby rollingstock » January 10th, 2023, 9:18 pm

What amp you have for bass?

Depending on that, could advise you.

Just sayin up front I partial to DD

david12

Postby david12 » January 11th, 2023, 8:47 am

rollingstock wrote:What amp you have for bass?

Depending on that, could advise you.

Just sayin up front I partial to DD
It's a Gemini pro amp I bought from Steve's. Can't remember the exact model but I dynoed it at 575 rms. Yes it's for HT.