Jeremy09

Car audio advice thread

Postby Jeremy09 » October 7th, 2021, 4:57 pm

Uncle doing an upgrade to his front doors
He has some nb1 tweeters already.
Am using this term figuratively for the ones who had experience with different midrange/midbass speakers.
Whats he loudest and most tonal pro audio 6.5" that he can get in 4ohm around 125-150rms on a budget?

david12

Re: Budget 6.5"

Postby david12 » October 7th, 2021, 5:08 pm

What's his exact budget?

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » October 7th, 2021, 6:08 pm

david12 wrote:What's his exact budget?
I believe he said $1000 for a pair. He looking for something new thou

fred594

Postby fred594 » October 7th, 2021, 6:53 pm

Faital Pro 6fe200

david12

Postby david12 » October 7th, 2021, 6:57 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:
david12 wrote:What's his exact budget?
I believe he said $1000 for a pair. He looking for something new thou
Yeah, I got the impression that it was new speakers he was looking for. If it's strictly pro audio then the above mentioned Faital Pro 6fe200s are a good option and they're under budget. I would advise against the use of pro audio speakers in a car but that's just what some people know and accustomed to. For the speakers you can contact Rovin, I believe I saw him advertising them on his FB page.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » October 7th, 2021, 8:45 pm

I need them to be 4ohm configuration. Fitals are 8ohm. Was looking into timpano mr6 bullet or the deafbouce Sylvester. Wondering which will be more tonal but able to get loud cleanly

david12

Postby david12 » October 7th, 2021, 9:03 pm

There are 4ohm 6fe200s...
Screenshot_20211007-205121_Chrome.jpg

Re: Budget 6.5

Postby Rovin » October 7th, 2021, 9:59 pm

op occasionally buys stuff from me & knows about my 4ft x 12ft long mids speakers demo wall so i guess he just asking opinions of others which i have no problem with

yrs ago i used to carry 4 ohm faitals fe200 speakers but 99% of customers want to bridge 2 8ohm speakers for max loudness from their amp so i only carry 8ohm

in 4 ohm loud mids i have powerbass xl , orion cobalt & timpano mb slim, i wont lie & say any is world's loudest but they sound good to me ... :| .... taste is subjective so anybody can come listen to them in my demo wall & choose what they like

Postby timelapse » October 9th, 2021, 6:47 pm

What kinda power (rms) you looking at?

Postby Dave » October 9th, 2021, 6:56 pm

Not sure if this is something you wish to consider
viewtopic.php?t=762863

Postby rollingstock » October 11th, 2021, 9:27 pm

Any sub or just door speakers?

Postby timelapse » October 12th, 2021, 1:31 pm

I literally just came home from by Rovin to install my brand new JL Audio C2 components.
The excite is much
Rovin has lots of 6.5 speakers to choose from and will demo it for you

Postby rollingstock » October 12th, 2021, 4:37 pm

Best thing you could have done. Get rid of those nb1. And some full range speakers that could handle the lower frequencies if you don't have a sub. A lite sound deadening on the doors and you good.

Postby timelapse » October 12th, 2021, 6:32 pm

rollingstock wrote:Best thing you could have done. Get rid of those nb1. And some full range speakers that could handle the lower frequencies if you don't have a sub. A lite sound deadening on the doors and you good.
I is not the op.

Postby Rovin » October 12th, 2021, 6:38 pm

in about ah 1.5hrs time or less after he bought it, ah man done screw in his speakers & send me a pic yes :shock:

he eh even tune it yet & he is a happy camper , he buy good thing so im glad for him :) , looking forward to a update on his build thread & a demo when he finished ... 8-)

david12

Postby david12 » October 12th, 2021, 9:15 pm

Rovin, you selling C2s?

Postby Rovin » October 12th, 2021, 10:02 pm

david12 wrote:Rovin, you selling C2s?

yes & all of C1 models too

timelapse today bought pair of c2 6.5 comps i had in stock [will have to restock that] , still have a pair each of c2 6.5 coax & 6x9 coax ...

david12

Postby david12 » October 13th, 2021, 7:14 am

Rovin wrote:

timelapse today bought pair of c2 6.5 comps i had in stock [will have to restock that] , still have a pair each of c2 6.5 coax & 6x9 coax ...
Cool, a friend of mine wanted a set I'll tell him to contact you

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » October 13th, 2021, 8:10 am

Yes, he has a sub. I personally dont like the nb1, really stabbs up your ear. Umm i believe he wants to keep them soo is juat some 6.5s in the door. Am leaning towards the deafbounce sylvesters, $800 a pair.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 13th, 2021, 9:39 am

Rovin wrote:

I have the same to install,
Yuh think a deck could push those?
Cuz i aint ready for the amp yet

david12

Postby david12 » October 13th, 2021, 9:44 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Rovin wrote:

It should be decent given that they are a pretty efficient set. That's just my opinion

Postby X_Factor » October 13th, 2021, 9:58 am

Jeremy09 wrote:Yes, he has a sub. I personally dont like the nb1, really stabbs up your ear. Umm i believe he wants to keep them soo is juat some 6.5s in the door. Am leaning towards the deafbounce sylvesters, $800 a pair.
You can check out the stevens audio 6s from safe and sound

Postby *KRONIK* » October 13th, 2021, 10:15 am

david12 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Rovin wrote:

It should be decent given that they are a pretty efficient set. That's just my opinion
Aite
Will give them a try weekend

Postby Rovin » October 13th, 2021, 10:32 am

david12 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Rovin wrote:

i will agree with this ...

Postby *KRONIK* » October 13th, 2021, 10:45 am

I have a RD900/5 to install for the C2s
But my installer fell ill and i needed a amp rack built, so i was holding off till he got better, but TBH, i think i gonna start the install myself yes
Everyday just watchin the equipment pack up and collecting dust.....
Rel frustrating yes

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2021, 11:49 am

*KRONIK* wrote:I have a RD900/5 to install for the C2s
But my installer fell ill and i needed a amp rack built, so i was holding off till he got better, but TBH, i think i gonna start the install myself yes
Everyday just watchin the equipment pack up and collecting dust.....
Rel frustrating yes
Hossie, I went from awful pro mids speakers to a set of C1.My zesser neighbor practically begged me to sell him it.I thought those were good.The C2 is a whole different ball game.I am still playing around with tweeter location, but my ears are very happy.No noticeable difference in the woofer,but the change from aluminum to silk dome tweeters is amazing.
I used to have the older version of the C2 in my Ek3 some years ago.Did not realize how much I missed them
On a slightly negative note, solder your wires to the woofer,the terminals kinda easily bendable when you using the spade terminals

Postby *KRONIK* » October 13th, 2021, 12:48 pm

Well i going from stock (10 year old paper cone) to the C2...so i know it gonna be an improvement

I was actually gonna make over new connectors as i bought some tinned copper spade terminals for that purpose
Or have some XT30 connectors
If i'm forced to solder, i will use those on the inside if the door

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2021, 2:43 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Well i going from stock (10 year old paper cone) to the C2...so i know it gonna be an improvement

I was actually gonna make over new connectors as i bought some tinned copper spade terminals for that purpose
You sound deadening? Makes a heap of difference as well.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 13th, 2021, 3:09 pm

timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Well i going from stock (10 year old paper cone) to the C2...so i know it gonna be an improvement

I cant, unfortunately
Door internals has some surface rust i need to attend to, so i hold up on the sound deadening for now
But i already have a box of xfire pro mat and a roll of siless CC foam for when the vehicle comes from repainting.....hopefully in early 2022

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2021, 6:06 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:

I cant, unfortunately
Door internals has some surface rust i need to attend to, so i hold up on the sound deadening for now
But i already have a box of xfire pro mat and a roll of siless CC foam for when the vehicle comes from repainting.....hopefully in early 2022
Dem c2 capable of playing 40hz tones.I just saying...