Car audio advice thread

Re: Budget 6.5"

Postby *KRONIK* » November 5th, 2021, 5:13 pm

timelapse wrote:That's how the pioneer app works Kavaninho.
You have to input the physical distance of all the speakers from the listening position.Deck does the calculation
Wait
Waitttt
Waitttttt
It have an app?

Re: Budget 6.5

Postby Ted_v2 » November 5th, 2021, 6:05 pm

Yea, pionner arc i think? i have two in my phone, i think its the arc however.

i didn't do the midrange as i was still playing around with it, its some Hybrid L4s. I using them for midrange/highs. Me and nervewrecker did some quick setups and honestly, they sound excellent how they are, the location is okay so i don't think they need much TA, the midbass needed a little adjustment. I have some rainbow tweets to install, i was going with a 3-way setup for the front. Got the caps already but i don't think i could commit as yet. i feel some good components passive would work best for my system however, the time alignment and stuff is cool but i feel if i use the passive i could get a little more output. i using a tiny 60x4 JBL amp, so power isn't that great, i suspect that's why the midbasses ain't kicking as well.

Postby timelapse » November 5th, 2021, 7:46 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
You have to input the physical distance of all the speakers from the listening position.Deck does the calculation
Wait
Waitttt
Waitttttt
It have an app?
Hossssssss.Yuh missing out on life!!!!!

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 5th, 2021, 8:08 pm

oh, I asked because the distances would have seemed weird.
would love to hear it sometime

Postby *KRONIK* » November 5th, 2021, 8:10 pm

timelapse wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Wait
Waitttt
Waitttttt
It have an app?
Hossssssss.Yuh missing out on life!!!!!
I now went and download it
Pioneer arc

Postby timelapse » November 6th, 2021, 6:59 am

kavaninho wrote:

oh, I asked because the distances would have seemed weird.
would love to hear it sometime
Yeah the distances look very weird.Its a rough average though.Still have to tune by ear.If anybody new to the Pioneer TA,it is the opposite of conventional TA tuning.The distance measurements are not the delay amount,its a physical distance measurement.The deck calculates the delay.Less distance means more delay.Kinda counter intuitive

Postby Rovin » November 6th, 2021, 11:45 am

i guess i still in d stone age with meh ole pio 4400 dvd that still works fine , series done start over & past 4400 again , think they reach 4500 series now

yet ppl ask me what dsp i running .... its all about having good ears & tuning what u have available :wink:

david12

Postby david12 » November 6th, 2021, 12:43 pm

I feel this thread should be renamed to the Car Audio Advice Thread. You know there are the times you want to ask a small question without creating a whole thread. We could use this for that purpose

Postby timelapse » November 6th, 2021, 6:19 pm

Makes sense

Postby Rovin » November 6th, 2021, 7:22 pm

10yrs ago ICE section used to be lively but i guess ppl\life moves on

all d real sound boys pon fb :roll: , only we small fires still in here, so a lil car audio ole talk breathes life into this area of d forum & even if we clutter OP's thread i sure duane wont mind d added traffic ... 8-)

Postby sMASH » November 6th, 2021, 11:26 pm

Time lapse have sumtin, by December I gonna start sumting.
Like how donut media did high car low car, well time lapse could be high system and I will be low system.
I want to see how far I could push a ghetto install. Proper Sq hu, but every ting after is getto

david12

Postby david12 » November 7th, 2021, 8:13 am

Give us a lil hint as to what you using nah, that sounds interesting

Postby timelapse » November 7th, 2021, 2:51 pm

Mine started ghetto.It just evolving as finances permit.Thing is that I have studio experience as reference.The cheaper stuff couldn't keep up.Was either power or quality, couldn't get both.My stuff still is not as expensive as it gets.I don't compete, but I still want a level of quality.
I kept the ghetto system for use as house music.
My HU was $950 bnib from the store, lol

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » November 8th, 2021, 5:53 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:
rollingstock wrote:You shopping in the wrong place in south then.

hadda be yes IMG_3364.JPG

This doesn't look right to me. For starters, the midbass that's closer to you, supposed to be lower in amplitude.

The highs, if that's the L4 and tweeter combo, definitely HAS to be crossed lower than 1.25kHz. Time alignment seems randomly entered. I use a measuring tape to get mine sorted.

Contact me when you get some time. I'll tune the van for you.

Re: Budget 6.5/ Now car audio advice thread

Postby Ted_v2 » November 8th, 2021, 8:45 pm

:mrgreen: :D

Postby timelapse » November 12th, 2021, 4:28 pm

DSP bantons:
Do I leave the furthest channel as 0 delay for time alignment,or use tape measure values for all and tweak from there?
Unit is Expert Electronics PX 2 connect.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 12th, 2021, 11:06 pm

timelapse wrote:DSP bantons:
Do I leave the furthest channel as 0 delay for time alignment,or use tape measure values for all and tweak from there?

This depends on DSP to DSP. Different manufacturers require you to enter distance, difference, or even the time delay required. All intend the same end result, however some do the delay calculation for you whereas others may not. The manual should give you guidance if the brand is reputable.

Postby timelapse » November 13th, 2021, 7:19 am

kavaninho wrote:
timelapse wrote:DSP bantons:

This depends on DSP to DSP. Different manufacturers require you to enter distance, difference, or even the time delay required. All intend the same end result, however some do the delay calculation for you whereas others may not. The manual should give you guidance if the brand is reputable.
Manual is in Engrish.Brazilian made.I believe Banda is the parent company.Price was the determining factor in this one.I will try it both ways I guess.

Postby timelapse » November 16th, 2021, 6:51 pm

Steele, talk to mih there
Screenshot_2021-11-16-14-12-23-693_br.com.expertelectronics.expertx.jpg

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 16th, 2021, 9:41 pm

timelapse wrote:Steele, talk to mih thereScreenshot_2021-11-16-14-12-23-693_br.com.expertelectronics.expertx.jpg

Set the frequency scale to be logarithmic rather than linear - it will be more useful that way.

36dB steps are HUGE...

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » November 17th, 2021, 6:01 pm

Pioneer deck fellas, yall use the source level adjuster? I tuned my gains with it on 0. I raised it to both 1 and 2 and it clip light didn't came on.

Postby timelapse » November 17th, 2021, 7:12 pm

Jeremy09 wrote:Pioneer deck fellas, yall use the source level adjuster? I tuned my gains with it on 0. I raised it to both 1 and 2 and it clip light didn't came on.
I turned mine to zero.
While it may not clip, you might overpower your speakers if you set gains without headroom .

eitech

Postby eitech » November 20th, 2021, 9:24 am

IMG_0407.JPG

Anyone can advise me on how to go about removing this deck on a tiida

Postby timelapse » November 20th, 2021, 11:05 am

You have a clip removal tool?

eitech

Postby eitech » November 20th, 2021, 11:21 am

timelapse wrote:You have a clip removal tool?

No but go on

Postby timelapse » November 20th, 2021, 11:58 am

https://youtu.be/PeZV-XLIaD0
Removal guide.Don't attempt this with a screwdriver.You WILL eff it up and leave dig marks which is another bad grah to fix.Talking from experience

eitech

Postby eitech » November 20th, 2021, 12:15 pm

timelapse wrote:https://youtu.be/PeZV-XLIaD0
Removal guide.Don't attempt this with a screwdriver.You WILL eff it up and leave dig marks which is another bad grah to fix.Talking from experience

Kool. Thnx

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 20th, 2021, 3:45 pm

Be careful with the dash panel you remove over the radio. This usually becomes brittle in tiidas and break quite easily.

eitech

Postby eitech » November 20th, 2021, 3:57 pm

kavaninho wrote:Be careful with the dash panel you remove over the radio. This usually becomes brittle in tiidas and break quite easily.

Ok. I was considering a double din but the video shows the single. Would I get the spacer for below with the single type?

Postby timelapse » November 20th, 2021, 4:15 pm

Which do you have? Single din space or double?