Car audio advice thread

Re: Car audio advice thread

Postby rollingstock » February 8th, 2023, 9:47 pm

Sealed is like putting a restrictor plate on your F1 engine intake manifold, and then trying other tricks to make power.

Postby sMASH » February 8th, 2023, 10:02 pm

Gladiator wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Sealed is for the pretentious type. The type that smells the cork before drinking the wine. My wine comes in a box.

Sealed with the correct amplification and processing is marvelous though...
I feel, u Wil get more impact FUL bass from a fold up fan being waved vigorously, than a sealed.

Postby rollingstock » February 8th, 2023, 10:31 pm

Or a 12" zebra in a pigtail bucket lined with flash band and a 3"pvc port 9.5" long.

Postby Rovin » February 9th, 2023, 11:09 am

like i said b4 i used to run sealed yrsss ago but it just lacks output, rolls off too much & not pronounced enough at d deep end

a sub that was designed to play real low & obviously a good box design will deliver those lows with authority & smoothness ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 10th, 2023, 1:01 pm

Gladiator wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Sealed is for the pretentious type. The type that smells the cork before drinking the wine. My wine comes in a box.

Sealed with the correct amplification and processing is marvelous though...

How's that Cabernet Sauvignon tasting Glads? :lol:

Postby timelapse » February 11th, 2023, 8:17 am

Also,the true SQ shottas is IB

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » February 11th, 2023, 11:51 am

Fellas, srs thing, no clowning, that means you timelapse... recommendations for a coaxial or component 6.5 that will work efficiently and sound decent overall on headunit power. No Subwoofer in the system so something that would sound good playing everything. Budget around $800 for a pair

david12

Postby david12 » February 11th, 2023, 12:42 pm

The OP has surfaced

I can't remember the exact price of the JL C1's but they're definitely around that budget. Really efficient and sound damn good on lower power.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » February 11th, 2023, 1:51 pm

david12 wrote:The OP has surfaced

I can't remember the exact price of the JL C1's but they're definitely around that budget. Really efficient and sound damn good on lower power.
I think rovin have? Not sure hopefully he could chip in

Postby sMASH » February 11th, 2023, 2:47 pm

Got some Memphis by rovin, was really good off the deck.
Would be better on a small Amp. And with these nsno amps, it wouldn't be much hassle to do
Or, run them high pass off the deck and put a small sub.

Postby Rovin » February 11th, 2023, 2:54 pm

jeRAJme i see u selling out ur bassline & raj headrest boxes - watagwan ?

memphis i dont get again but i do have JL C1 comps & orion xtr comps , $900\pair for either 1 ...

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » February 11th, 2023, 2:56 pm

Rovin wrote:jeRAJme i see u selling out ur bassline & raj headrest boxes - watagwan ?

memphis i dont get again but i do have JL C1 comps & orion xtr comps , $900\pair for either 1 ...
Looking to sell the tiddaz. So i selling out. Butt i want a lil some to hold on to till i sell. The buyer go benefit a lil

Postby Rovin » February 11th, 2023, 3:26 pm

well put it in til u ready & take it back out b4 u sell, when that time reach buy a cheap pair of soundsteam coax for $250\pair to sell with d car ...

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » February 11th, 2023, 3:38 pm

Rovin wrote:well put it in til u ready & take it back out b4 u sell, when that time reach buy a cheap pair of soundsteam coax for $250\pair to sell with d car ...
Make sense.. question, the doors deaden decent, will i get ok bass from the c1s? And will i have to get those pvc rings or they come with something to mount them to the door? The mdf rings i make mash up.

Postby Rovin » February 11th, 2023, 4:23 pm

yes u will get a decent midbass, its a opportunity for u to listen & appreciate what good sound is

i have d nissan door speaker adapters in oem shape hard plastic $100\pair ...

Postby sMASH » February 11th, 2023, 7:20 pm

Rovin wrote:.

What is ur opinion on the eminence delta 10's compared to other 10's available?
Thinking about that for Midbass. Are other brands better? How bout the output?

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » February 11th, 2023, 7:39 pm

sMASH wrote:

Heard d das them pretty good for midbass.

Postby rollingstock » February 11th, 2023, 8:17 pm

sMASH wrote:

Depends on budget and power. But for the price the deltas are probably the best budget.

Postby rollingstock » February 11th, 2023, 8:21 pm

The beyma 10cmv2 is great on midbass, less than 300rms each and around $700.

Postby sMASH » February 11th, 2023, 9:32 pm

rollingstock wrote:The beyma 10cmv2 is great on midbass, less than 300rms each and around $700.
Tnx
I don't want to be going an trying 10 different Speakers.

At least this will make a short list.

And compared to the regular 18 song and ds 18... What's the difference in performance?

Postby rollingstock » February 12th, 2023, 1:23 am

18 sound very loud and annoying to me. DS18 have different models but I've never used them extensively to really compare them. Beyma is solid and reputable. Never had a bad experience with them, same with the DD's. Can't go wrong with those.

Postby rollingstock » February 12th, 2023, 1:24 am

What amplification you have and intended use?

Postby sMASH » February 12th, 2023, 7:25 am

rollingstock wrote:What amplification you have and intended use?
Amplification will depend on what model 10's I find suitable.
So far, the deltas are in mind.

I will audition the beymers.

Depending on which giving what I looking fur then I will decide.

Postby Rovin » February 12th, 2023, 12:08 pm

ent u have ur own thread bai

havent messed with any mnm speakers in yrs, iirc they arite but nothing outstanding, good for low budget at d time - dunno what they go for nowadays

all good manufacturers have specs & response graph so check those out

i personally like faitals especially for their low mid & light weight neo magnets which a huge plus instead of 15lbs of other ferrite speakers , i used their 300 & 500 series - i like them alot ...

Postby timelapse » February 12th, 2023, 3:35 pm

Jeremy good sir
I recommend the C 1s.They are made to run from headunit power.I had those for a bit before upgrading to the C2s.I just needed something with a slightly higher power rating.
When you changing car, keep the C1s.Just make sure you don't damage them.

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » February 13th, 2023, 9:27 am

timelapse wrote:Jeremy good sir
I recommend the C 1s.They are made to run from headunit power.I had those for a bit before upgrading to the C2s.I just needed something with a slightly higher power rating.
Want to mount the c1 tweeter here, at an angle. Want to minimize damage also. Any recommendations. Tiida has no spot for a tweeter
20230213_092247.jpg

david12

Postby david12 » February 13th, 2023, 11:39 am

If that's the case, and it's a definite temporary install, the coaxials might be a better idea.

Postby Dave » February 13th, 2023, 11:48 am

Shame of you David12...the Rockford separates you did and found the mounts on AliExpress to give an OE finish should be drawn upon.

See if the attached pic is your mirror back and don't install and have it looking botched.
Jeremy09 wrote:
Want to mount the c1 tweeter here, at an angle. Want to minimize damage also. Any recommendations. Tiida has no spot for a tweeter
912943384.jpeg
david12 wrote:If that's the case, and it's a definite temporary install, the coaxials might be a better idea.
912943384.jpeg

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » February 13th, 2023, 12:21 pm

Dave wrote:Shame of you David12...the Rockford separates you did and found the mounts on AliExpress to give an OE finish should be drawn upon.

See if the attached pic is your mirror back and don't install and have it looking botched.
Jeremy09 wrote:
20230213_092247.jpg
david12 wrote:If that's the case, and it's a definite temporary install, the coaxials might be a better idea.
912943384.jpeg
Gosh that go look ugly in that tidda...anyway i could get like little pods or angle mounts for the c1s?

david12

Postby david12 » February 13th, 2023, 2:05 pm

Dave wrote:Shame of you David12...the Rockford separates you did and found the mounts on AliExpress to give an OE finish should be drawn upon.

Jeremy09 wrote:
20230213_092247.jpg
912943384.jpeg
That's plenty to do and source for a temporary fix. If it was permanent then I'm all for it. Keep it stealthy if the car didn't come with a factory 2 way.