sickbad

SQL sleeper

Postby sickbad » November 22nd, 2021, 6:40 am

IMG_5298.JPG
IMG_5271.JPG

Join me on a car audio journey where we get a little obsessive. Will start with highlights of what was left from the installer, I will give jack his jacket-Looks nice, sounds good. But don’t judge a book by its cover. It may not be wired to be Zapco worthy or configured for XTR equipment.

We can make it better, with the help of fellow tuners. We will improve by just Doing It Yourself. We all have had some expensive lessons so maybe we can all learn from them!
IMG_5278.JPG

Initially wanted something compact, for bass. Liked the tube design, but imported this JBL self powered unit..

Re: SQL sleeper

Postby *KRONIK* » November 22nd, 2021, 6:48 am

Insideee

Postby timelapse » November 22nd, 2021, 6:54 am

If you fiberglassing, ah dere

david12

Postby david12 » November 22nd, 2021, 7:19 am

^^^ for real that's a big space you have there for a fibreglass enclosure

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 22nd, 2021, 7:33 am

Is this a yaris? If so, we did a fibreglass sealed box on the right side of the trunk for a Morel Ultimo SC 10. If I recall, we were able to have somewhere around 0.8cuft.

Following to learn and share some knowledge too!

sickbad

Postby sickbad » November 22nd, 2021, 9:04 am

IMG_5929.JPG

I tried to solder my tips.. on bad advice, lazy many ferrule .. Then heard it’s not the path of least resistance... Don’t be a frayed get the crimp and ferruls can be found locally!

10tonne hydraulic press for the bigger wires $35usd, square crimp goes up to 8AWG $20usd, (get the hexagonal one, similiar price),$5 assorted shrink wrap

IMG_7133.JPG

IMG_7128.JPG

He tried his best!
IMG_7124.JPG

IMG_7125.JPG

Tape it, then shrink it. Better to use a torch instead of a lighter. Lighter gets black stuff on your work!
Changed all wires to “of course it’s copper” -OFC & 0 gauge ferruls to compliment. The hydraulic presses in the hex format.
IMG_7143.JPG
IMG_7054.JPG

Subwoofer leads and speaker wire. Do it right the first time!
IMG_7060.JPG

Postby X_Factor » November 22nd, 2021, 9:31 am

You can solder the regular ring terminals for 4g/0g but my process is
1) clean with alcohol and scuff the ring terminal with sand paper, dremel etc where the solder will be adhering

2) crimp terminal properly...not using a hammer and just pounding it flat

3) use a high temp solder iron..all that metal and wire has to get really hot for the solder to flow and bond properly...

I did use a piece of electrical tape on it before heat shrink but i noticed after a while the adhesive on the tape would fail and the heat shrink would eventually slide off

What is more important is sizing the heat shrink properly so that it really tightens over the wire
Or if someone is really ocd buy it with the adhesive on the inside

sickbad

Postby sickbad » November 22nd, 2021, 10:59 am

Sorry gents, no fiberglass, I’d consider it if the trunk was fully water sealed, and I have a donut in the front compartment, as it would make use of the wheel well space. Would need about 2.25 Cu . Thanks for the tips on soldering, the strands are so tight when pressed, don’t know if the extra strength is worth the additional tinning. Heard a good wire is only as good as it’s ends!
The attachment IMG_7331.JPG is no longer available
IMG_7331.JPG
thanks Allie rat for the tip of engine to chassis grounding!
IMG_7334.JPG

Did over some grounding in the back.. will use 0 gauge welding leads from modern electrical 27$ odd for 1/0 and 33$ for 2/0 .. I’ll have 2 runs of front to back 1/0 one for + and one for -.
IMG_5180.JPG

12” re xx .. was alright installer sold me in box for $2k.
IMG_5379.JPG

Sundown x10 .. heard they are good, it was also $2k used
IMG_5692.JPG
fell in love with the red woman.. Timmy from trini customs set me up with a 1” box to spec tuned to 30 lows? Also made an amp stand
IMG_6119.JPG
real talent here
IMG_7364.JPG

sickbad

SQL sleeper

Postby sickbad » November 22nd, 2021, 1:19 pm

The attachment IMG_7199.JPG is no longer available

The sub is getting power from stacked zapcos St-2000 xmi II -3900W at 2ohms.

IMG_7355.JPG

Orion XTX654
In the front doors and 2 more to be installed for the back powered by an Orion XTR 2000.4 .. really wanted headroom but suppose it could bridged -the 3rd and 4th channel to power 1000x1 and have 2 XTX in series at 800RMS.. but with no stereo/DSP

What else.. have some neo tweeters coming in the mix but would need another amp and maybe DSP to control the 6+ channels .. things getting expensive. Will have to address power soon
IMG_7199.JPG
keeping it simple
IMG_6218.JPG

Firewall

Postby Firewall » November 22nd, 2021, 5:30 pm

Sub'd

Love seeing local builds

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 22nd, 2021, 5:44 pm

Man say SQL! The amount of power I seeing here is for a Quinam. Those zapcos strapped will be a beast.

Postby timelapse » November 22nd, 2021, 5:57 pm

Was going to ask about power, but will stay tuned

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 22nd, 2021, 6:28 pm

That cell tower bothering meh

Postby timelapse » November 22nd, 2021, 8:30 pm

Thats bedliner on the amp rack?
Will it hold on fiberglass filler?

david12

Postby david12 » November 22nd, 2021, 8:34 pm

Could be this new thing, Duratex

sickbad

Postby sickbad » November 24th, 2021, 4:52 am

Have had the worst luck with power. Got a scion HO which didn’t work, and is now a paperweight, have 2 foreign used alternators acquired when the stock and eBay alt was down. I supposedly have my primary alt modified($600) for HO but never clamped it to verify..

So have this gem to install. S series 6 phase 240a Price was good.. so got 2 so one will be for sale -Brand new 240A
Calls for 2/0 welding lead front to back, I don’t mind using agm batteries to keep the costs low and if the alternator can power it all.

Lithium sounds interesting, could do with the weight reduction, I’d want 70-100ah. Will see what voltage the mechman charges at and would decide on a brand of cell that is best suited.

Postby timelapse » November 24th, 2021, 6:49 am

If it doesn't work, I would recommend Team 2lo2flo in central.
Also, where did you get the coating you used on the amp rack to buy?

sickbad

Postby sickbad » November 24th, 2021, 12:18 pm

timelapse wrote:If it doesn't work, I would recommend Team 2lo2flo in central.

Cool will check him, saw he had units for 2700 and up.

Trini customs organized that for me. But yes, looks like Bedliner, I’ve used ‘gravitex’ in the spray can format (on my bonnet (yolo))available many places, bournes rd , st James paint shop etc.

Postby timelapse » November 24th, 2021, 5:16 pm

sickbad wrote:
timelapse wrote:If it doesn't work, I would recommend Team 2lo2flo in central.

Cool will check him, saw he had units for 2700 and up.

Trini customs organized that for me. But yes, looks like Bedliner, I’ve used ‘gravitex’ in the spray can format (on my bonnet (yolo))available many places, bournes rd , st James paint shop etc.
Not the head units, the alternators

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 26th, 2021, 9:17 am

Id stick with mechman. No regrets for me. Check Rodney for mechman alts

sickbad

Postby sickbad » November 30th, 2021, 7:05 am

IMG_7520.JPG

Postby timelapse » November 30th, 2021, 7:23 am

What's that now?

sickbad

Postby sickbad » November 30th, 2021, 8:04 am

IMG_7522.JPG
IMG_7523.JPG

Channels 5+6 .. surely my wife will be impressed. No man ever said

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 30th, 2021, 9:26 am

sickbad wrote:IMG_7522.JPGIMG_7523.JPG

I'll speak my mind:
Bro why are you putting those super tweeters down low facing forward like that? :shock: :shock:

david12

Postby david12 » November 30th, 2021, 9:38 am

^why use bullet tweeters at all

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 30th, 2021, 10:30 am

david12 wrote:^why use bullet tweeters at all

i vote for a thread rename :lol: :lol:

sickbad

Postby sickbad » November 30th, 2021, 10:38 am

kavaninho wrote:

I'll speak my mind:
Bro why are you putting those super tweeters down low facing forward like that? :shock: :shock:

Because I’d rather not tote a chest of draws on my roof? Looks good sounds good- wuts the problem here ?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 30th, 2021, 10:58 am

sickbad wrote:
kavaninho wrote:

I'll speak my mind:

Because I’d rather not tote a chest of draws on my roof? Looks good sounds good- wuts the problem here ?

I understand that you are going for something loud, however, this is maybe one of the worst locations for the tweet /HF driver.
Is it coupled with a woofer down there?

sickbad

Postby sickbad » November 30th, 2021, 11:54 am

I understand that you are going for something loud, however, this is maybe one of the worst locations for the tweet /HF driver.
Is it coupled with a woofer down there?

Negative, only in trunk..

But it’s screaming ! Never had a tweeter.. nor bass so its a different experience .. need some help here

been looking at wiring diagrams with little solution, figured I’d call on the experts. If we have a bridged amp with a channel giving 1000w at 4ohms, and speakers are rated 400w at 4ohms. How can I configure 2 speakers for the 800/1000 headroom or should I be looking for 2ohm speakers to do this ?

Postby timelapse » November 30th, 2021, 11:57 am

Homeboy, Move that tweeter....
1.You not going to hear it
2.you not going to hear it

Better bet:
Buy a pair of wedge boxes.Will sound better.And you can move them around