Where can I get electronic parts

david12

Re: Where can I get electronic parts

Postby david12 » December 16th, 2021, 6:06 pm

Seems like we're getting a little more in depth so here's a run down of the speakers in them:

4 inch midbass
2.75 inch midrange
.75 inch tweeter

Everything is crossed over passively
tweeter has a hpf
midrange has a bpf
midbass has a lpf

Need the capacitor so the midbass will have a bandpass on it

Hoping to upgrade soon. It's only so loud this set up can get and only so much midbass a 4 inch can give and especially with 600 RMS on bass it's not really balanced. I'm hoping to upgrade to a 2 way passive set up for now and then piecing together my own 3 way set in the future and getting in on some of that active goodness!

Postby rollingstock » December 17th, 2021, 4:25 pm

david12 wrote:Would they have a bpf for the midbass?

Just checked, sorry but those are gone.

The Nippon is a 3 way but it don't think that's bandpass.

Postby rollingstock » December 17th, 2021, 4:26 pm

Pics didn't upload.

david12

Postby david12 » December 17th, 2021, 6:09 pm

It's cool bro, thanks for checking. I found what I am planning to try out and for $40 if it doesn't give me what I expect I can always try another option. Will update you all when it's in my possession.

Postby rollingstock » December 17th, 2021, 6:32 pm

You into those small drivers? I have a Buttload of those just sitting around.

david12

Postby david12 » December 17th, 2021, 6:41 pm

I'm actually thinking about setting these back and using a 6.5 component set that I was asking about, in its place. But post thing! I don't mind seeing what you have.

BTW I think I can ask this here but I was thinking of getting a set of inexpensive PA 6.5s (like some Faital 6fe200s) and silk tweeters since the room is fairly big with high ceilings. Would you all recommend this over a component set? I prefer the components and I've never dealt with pro audio before. I like DIY and this is my first time actually upgrading my mids and highs in my study/chill room. Upgrades usually come once a year when I'm feeling like doing something new, so I just want to make sure I'm choosing the right option.

Postby timelapse » December 17th, 2021, 7:21 pm

david12 wrote:I'm actually thinking about setting these back and using a 6.5 component set that I was asking about, in its place. But post thing! I don't mind seeing what you have.

BTW I think I can ask this here but I was thinking of getting a set of inexpensive PA 6.5s (like some Faital 6fe200s) and silk tweeters since the room is fairly big with high ceilings. Would you all recommend this over a component set? I prefer the components and I've never dealt with pro audio before. I like DIY and this is my first time actually upgrading my mids and highs in my study/chill room. Upgrades usually come once a year when I'm feeling like doing something new, so I just want to make sure I'm choosing the right option.
I rather the component set.The fs on the midbass tends to be lower
That being said, I will build a pair of near field monitors with some Earthquake 6.5 that I have.Still shopping around for a proper tweeter

david12

Postby david12 » December 17th, 2021, 8:50 pm

Lol I just needed one opinion. I'm settled! What kinda tweet you looking at? metal or soft dome?

I would assume soft. Check Rovin and see, maybe if I making a pass a day we could go together and we could have a mini Tuner lime

Postby rollingstock » December 17th, 2021, 8:55 pm

Using the faital 6fe100 would be the better bet. You would be surprised by them.

david12

Postby david12 » December 17th, 2021, 9:00 pm

You wouldn't believe but my future plan is to do a 3 way with those same midbasses, 3fe22s and some silk tweeters. I'll get like a Dayton DSP and 2 more of the 2 channels I have now. But I can't find those fe100s in 4 ohm anywhere. Not even sure if they make a 4 ohm.

But for now I just want an affordable upgrade

Postby rollingstock » December 17th, 2021, 9:50 pm

I don't think they come 4 ohm. Triple r is the dealer and usually has

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 17th, 2021, 10:14 pm

Yea the fe100 is only 8ohm by triple r

david12

Postby david12 » December 17th, 2021, 10:26 pm

Thank goodness that plan wouldn't have passive X overs if it did that'll be problems. I would still consider them for that future setup

david12

Postby david12 » December 17th, 2021, 10:43 pm

But I think I know what I'm getting for now. I could always post my finished results if the plan pulls through. I really want to thank everyone for the help especially the fellas that went digging in their electronics inventory

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 17th, 2021, 10:58 pm

Don't get discouraged with the 8 ohm rating. I had a PAIR on 100rms RF amp and man did it shine

david12

Postby david12 » December 17th, 2021, 11:11 pm

I could've ran them now if they were available in 4 ohm and start collecting stuff for my bigger plan but I guess I'll have to wait a little bit. Hoping to do a bookshelf speaker type build with the 3 ways. Might get a slightly higher powered 2 channel for the midbass when I'm doing that.
Last edited by david12 on December 17th, 2021, 11:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » December 17th, 2021, 11:43 pm

Dave wrote:If nerve only know who he giving advice to lol

I collecting autographs. :drinking:

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2021, 11:07 am

david12 wrote:Lol I just needed one opinion. I'm settled! What kinda tweet you looking at? metal or soft dome?

I would assume soft. Check Rovin and see, maybe if I making a pass a day we could go together and we could have a mini Tuner lime

i know u making joke but b4 anybody takes it literally we have to keep covid in mind, i prefer to see for d most 2-3 ppl at a time in my store, mask on social distancing & all d other health precautions .... :|

as for small tweeters : there are actually some metal 1s that sound good , thing is metal usually more sensitive to our ears than soft which is more laid back, ppl who listen to music loudly will lean towards d metal ... all depends on personal taste which is why i demo what i selling to customers & let their ears do d choosing

david12

Postby david12 » December 18th, 2021, 1:43 pm

Lol 3 tuners will be in that store. Chaguanas just too far man and with transport not being easily available I don't know when I coming but expect me.

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2021, 2:23 pm

u sounding like u boi dave, 2 yrs he coming & he cant reach .... :mrgreen:

Postby timelapse » December 18th, 2021, 2:39 pm

Rovin wrote:u sounding like u boi dave, 2 yrs he coming & he cant reach .... :mrgreen:
Dave's not here.
Google that.
I check Rovin already, he says is some kinda old timer thing I looking for.
Like this
264-1040_HR_0.default.jpg

Postby Dave » December 18th, 2021, 3:12 pm

Hi guise!

david12

Postby david12 » December 18th, 2021, 3:23 pm

Rovin wrote:u sounding like u boi dave, 2 yrs he coming & he cant reach .... :mrgreen:
Lol that's my boy! plenty in common. I guess it even trickles down to music. Big plans and catching we tail to actually do the upgrades.
timelapse wrote:
Dave's not here.
Google that.
Like this
264-1040_HR_0.default.jpg
Ohor you want those kinda tweeters. Hmmm I don't even know where to begin to tell you to look. Parts express is the only option for the stuff you won't get here. I heard a set of Daytons which were used to replace the originals in some monitors and a center channel. They were warm and sounded excellent. I'll see if I could get the model number

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2021, 3:57 pm

timelapse wrote:
Dave's not here.
Google that.
Like this264-1040_HR_0.default.jpg

in d 80s\90s when companies used to make a receiver that had radio, turntable, cassette powering a pair of full size 3 way speakers 12x18x30" or so dimensions with 12" for bass , around that time these shallow surface tweeters were popular in those boxes , they sort of like a modern day bullet tweeter but no cone\flared\bullet shape ... used to sound good in those days

Postby Dave » December 18th, 2021, 4:01 pm

We also alot of those pioneer reflex speakers on the back dash. Used to get loads in the bamboo for small money.

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2021, 7:17 pm

Dave wrote:We also alot of those pioneer reflex speakers on the back dash. Used to get loads in the bamboo for small money.

wow totally forget about those , my older bros had them

i guess that fad went extinct because of how easily visible from outside so ppl stole them & d hot sun without any glass tint also killed them out ...

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2021, 7:26 pm

timelapse wrote:
Dave's not here.
Google that.
Like this264-1040_HR_0.default.jpg

i now remember maybe 10yrs ago morel supremo series had a tweeter like that ... https://www.carousell.sg/p/morel-suprem ... -25882482/

like u see it recently or ur memory damn good to recall a quote from cheech & chong with d "daves not here"

like some of d side talk shift from jeremy's thread into here ... :)

Postby timelapse » December 18th, 2021, 7:44 pm

I might use the C1 tweeters that the guy didn't want.I have loads of testing to do
Thanks for wilding me up David...

david12

Postby david12 » December 18th, 2021, 7:54 pm

Too many audio threads!
Jeremy's is very informative and you could ask a question and you will get a good response. This has potential to be like a liming thread. Rock back and talk about future audio plans etc. Or if you looking for something you could come ask here.

If the idea takes off I could change the title
Last edited by david12 on December 18th, 2021, 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

david12

Postby david12 » December 18th, 2021, 7:57 pm

timelapse wrote:I might use the C1 tweeters that the guy didn't want.I have loads of testing to do
Thanks for wilding me up David...
Lol anytime! If you don't mind, when you start the project you could post about it here. I would love to see the process.