Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

evolution7tt

Re: Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

Postby evolution7tt » September 5th, 2022, 8:42 am

Rovin wrote:just to keep ICE section lively : JBL FTW ...

I have the 751EZ, just one step up from this. It sure convinces me that it puts out more than the 750RMS it's rated at.

david12

Postby david12 » September 5th, 2022, 1:15 pm

Rovin wrote:just to keep ICE section lively : JBL FTW ...

Woah! That shocked me yes, was expecting a lil 50 watts over the rated power.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » September 5th, 2022, 9:16 pm

I saw that review. Damn, that's some juice. And small and cheap enough that you can probably buy and install one per subwoofer for a kickass build..

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » September 26th, 2022, 11:56 pm

Brian Steele wrote:
timelapse wrote:Random question, is there such a thing as an sq amp?

Used within its power limitations, competently-designed amps should not have any sort of "sonic signature", so IMO it should be difficult to classify an amp as an "SQ" amp based on how it sounds, particularly when the speakers that its connected to will have orders of magnitude worse THD and FR.

I had to come back to this post I made due to a recent experience I had.

I recently had to book my Alpine PDX-M12 into "sick bay" as the dodgy connectivity of the sensitivity switch had gotten just too annoying to bear (it was causing the bass to get cut and then boosted at random times). I replaced it with an old Pioneer GM-D510M that had used in a previous install. They are both class D amps, but the 510M was rated at 630W continuous into 2 ohms while the M12 is rated at 1.2kW into 2 ohms. Also, the 510M's upper limit is rated at 230 Hz and M12's upper limit is given as 400 Hz.

Now, doubling the amplifier power only results in an extra 3dB of output, so I expect that at normal listening levels, there wouldn't be much difference in performance between the two of them, particularly as I'd configured the DSP to produce the equivalent of a a ~100 Hz 30dB/octave acoustic LP response from the subwoofers.

And boy was I wrong. The Pioneer amp sounded noticeably different to the Alpine, and those differences were definitely noticed when I finished repairing the M12 (simple fix - shorted out the switch) and swapped it back in. The M12 produced bass with significantly more heft and the midbass integration was miles better than what the older Pioneer class D amp was capable of. It was basically no contest between the two. The difference was so noticeable in fact that in a few weeks time I'm going to do the swap again, but this time I'm going to do some more detailed before / after measurements, because if a difference is audible, then it should be measurable.

Postby Rovin » September 27th, 2022, 11:32 am

for me its rather easy to hear differences between amps especially when u compare budget models to higher end ones ...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » September 27th, 2022, 5:41 pm

In the past, the "differences" I thought I heard were mostly due to my imagination. Once the amplifier is competently-designed and used within its linear range, any differences were minor.

Until this time, LOL.

What can be heard can also be measured, so in a month or two I'm going to go digging around in the car again, and this time I'm walking with my calibrated mic and REW :-).

Postby Rovin » October 2nd, 2022, 2:30 pm

i eh hatin i like d look but besides d cool factor what are d other benefits of doing this ? ....

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=59 ... 3168303740

Postby timelapse » October 2nd, 2022, 5:34 pm

Better transfer of power.That cannot be for a daily driven car Too easy to short circuit

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 6th, 2022, 4:07 pm

Rovin wrote:i eh hatin i like d look but besides d cool factor what are d other benefits of doing this ? ....

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=59 ... 3168303740

Just the cool factor,,,,, if the pipes are hollow it would be a lower effective cross-sectional area than a solid wire of the same gauge :lol:

(looks damn cool tho, steampunk kinda sheit)

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 18th, 2022, 7:13 am

When you start pulling the console fascia to deal with a loose cable and a flipping screw falls into the shifter mechanism...

20221016_093509.jpg

Postby Rovin » October 18th, 2022, 10:18 am

it happens & sometimes u cant find it ...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 18th, 2022, 11:16 am

With the Tucson, it is actually easier to remove the dress panels around the shifter than it is to remove the console fascia. But I've done it so many times now that I could probably do it blindfolded now.

In the picture you can see the RCA cables from the ESX DSP that I have mounted in the dash below the deck. 1 ft. cables, six of them, that connect the desk to the DSP. The DSP has optical in capability, but the deck (an 80PRS) does not have optical out, so...

I was debating putting some fanciness in the dash to show of the DSP lights, but then reminded myself that my install is supposed to be a stealth install, so....

20221017_074801.jpg

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 21st, 2022, 9:29 am

Brian Steele wrote:When you start pulling the console fascia to deal with a loose cable and a flipping screw falls into the shifter mechanism...

20221016_093509.jpg

Murphy's law yes

every simple job is always a screw/bit fall away from being a complex job

Which reminds me, one of my screwdrivers STILL in my padnah dashboard lmao, thing just disappeared

Postby Rovin » October 21st, 2022, 1:26 pm

brian i see u does be on YT vega & dean thursday night show often , same here i doh miss an episode though i have to catch d rerun after it finish cause like i never remember d time

amongst all d ole talk there is alot of good info from dean on that show ...

Postby Rovin » November 23rd, 2022, 10:51 am

how this ice section does be so dead boi - nobody doh ha nutten tuh say\post about ... :changes:

Postby timelapse » November 24th, 2022, 6:09 am

Rovin wrote:how this ice section does be so dead boi - nobody doh ha nutten tuh say\post about ... :changes:
Everybody broke.The state of the economy is killing the hobby.

nick639v2

Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

Postby nick639v2 » November 24th, 2022, 4:06 pm

I have 2 of the SI subs to soon pick up atm.. a 15 and 12, I just need a competent box builder to do some work.

20hz and rebassed goodness is the plan next year. The 15 they say hits down to 10hz in its sealed enclosure.

[SPOILER]

[SPOILER]

Re: 3.4 Ohms
Fs: 27.9 Hz
Qes: 0.49
Qms: 3.51
Qts: .43
Le: 2.0 mH
Sd: 82.51 in^2
Vas: 29.0 Liters
BL: 23.4
Mms: 449.8 g
Cms: 72.2 uM/N
Xmax: 28.4 mm one-way via 70% BL. (56 mm total p-p linear excursion)
SPL: 92.0 dB (2.83V/1M) – 1 Ohm operation

Re: 3.25 Ohms
Fs: 23.8 Hz
Qes: 0.45
Qms: 5.83
Qts: .42
Le: 2.0 mH
Sd: 130.17 in^2
Vas: 115 Liters
BL: 20.417
Mms: 388.55 g
Cms: 115 uM/N
Xmax: 28.4 mm one-way via 70% BL. (56 mm total p-p linear excursion)
SPL: 95 dB (2.83V/1M) – 1 Ohm operation

[\SPOILER]

Postby Rovin » November 24th, 2022, 5:38 pm

well what a coincidence, i plotted that very same 15 last night for a padna looking for his next sub purchase, its a strong contender for what he wants which is deepest lows as possible at a fair price like u said rebass bisnis ....

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 24th, 2022, 7:19 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
(snip)
(snip)

(snip)

The 12" driver has a heavier moving mass than the 15" driver?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 24th, 2022, 7:29 pm

Brian Steele wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:
(snip)
(snip)

(snip)

The 12" driver has a heavier moving mass than the 15" driver?

The 15 specs was for the carbon fibre variant I think. I’m not sure.

@rovin, the 15 going sealed for sure to start in the wifey suv…
but the 12 going in storage, If you’re interested in playing mad scientist with your box skills then I’m game

Postby Rovin » November 24th, 2022, 7:55 pm

i only box build for what my shop carries

designing is d most important part where as decent carpentry is secondary , i sure u capable of doing both urself ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 25th, 2022, 8:26 am

timelapse wrote:
Rovin wrote:how this ice section does be so dead boi - nobody doh ha nutten tuh say\post about ... :changes:

Don.t need to be buying a setta new amp and speaker to experiment or research and post your findings

For example im still researching ways to modify speakers to maximize certain T/S specs.

for example ,Apparently some manufacturers put a magnet in reverse polarity behind the speaker. It works counter intuitively. You'd think that just slapping on extra magnets (In 'phase') would make the field stronger but what actually happens is that it pulls field lines away from the coil gap

So forcing the magnet in opposite polarity actually pushes away the field lines and forces it to concentrate within the coil gap.

I always thought it was to cancel the magnetic field so you can put speakers near CRT TV's :lol:

Gonna experiment with putting actual magnets on the pole piece itself now. (CREDIT ME IF YOU STEAL THIS IDEA)

Postby Rovin » November 25th, 2022, 11:07 am

^^^ i expect u have a speaker tester to check t\s right & i suppose u already know any "slight thing" u do to a speaker will affect its t\s readings , YT have videos on this subject

if u really have d time & patience to be messing with this then good luck ...

Postby timelapse » November 26th, 2022, 8:07 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Don.t need to be buying a setta new amp and speaker to experiment or research and post your findings

For example im still researching ways to modify speakers to maximize certain T/S specs.

for example ,Apparently some manufacturers put a magnet in reverse polarity behind the speaker. It works counter intuitively. You'd think that just slapping on extra magnets (In 'phase') would make the field stronger but what actually happens is that it pulls field lines away from the coil gap

So forcing the magnet in opposite polarity actually pushes away the field lines and forces it to concentrate within the coil gap.

I always thought it was to cancel the magnetic field so you can put speakers near CRT TV's

Gonna experiment with putting actual magnets on the pole piece itself now. (CREDIT ME IF YOU STEAL THIS IDEA)
I believe sMASH tried this about a decade ago.He used to experiment a lot.
Paging sMashnarine

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 28th, 2022, 8:34 am

I await the arrival of sMASHnarine Persadsingh's findings.

Have a sub I'd like to rebuild and just go crazy with.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 28th, 2022, 1:17 pm

boi I gone down a rabbit hole here.

Found this free program to simulate magnetic fields , dunno if the magnetic package free as well tho. THe main program free

https://quickfield.com/dcmag.htm

Postby Rovin » December 11th, 2022, 1:43 pm

if u were around sq scene in d early 2000's seeing 1 of these locally was like spotting a rolls royce ... class AB Mono, it had a reputation that made it a dream amp for many sq ppl

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 12th, 2022, 7:51 am

I still waiting on sMASH :oops: :oops: :oops:

Rovin wrote:if u were around sq scene in d early 2000's seeing 1 of these locally was like spotting a rolls royce ... class AB Mono, it had a reputation that made it a dream amp for many sq ppl

But hey, are there any class A mono's out here?

Postby Rovin » December 20th, 2022, 12:45 am