Re: Random Stuff in Car Audio ...

Postby SR » December 21st, 2022, 8:03 pm

I still have my A6 and TA2 tube amp

Postby Rovin » December 22nd, 2022, 11:02 am

^^^like u dont deal with\bring in anymore of their stuff ?

12yrs or more when DLS was prolly in their peak of popularly i wanted to get some stuff from u but just never got around to doing it & time went by , then few yrs later in 2016 u hear d new owners of DLS let go of d head dls designer who ended up opening his own company XCELSUS Audio & not much publicity from them with 100+ other brands around all fighting up for a piece of d SQ market share ...

Postby SR » December 22nd, 2022, 9:01 pm

You can get excelsus from safe and sound in marabella

Lance

Postby Lance » December 26th, 2022, 1:42 am

For some reason the Ultimate line never held any real value. The A6 kicks around on eBay for less than 350us often.

Certain models were knocked off by another Asian build house. So just to be careful with that.

Postby Rovin » December 27th, 2022, 1:57 pm

remember around same time GENESIS amps out of england had a very similar look to d DLS ultimate series

i though they had gone out of business but i still seeing a website up .... https://www.genesis-ice.com/

Lance

Postby Lance » December 27th, 2022, 8:17 pm

Genesis initially manufactured amplifiers for DLS under a branding arrangement. They were essentially Genesis amplifiers with a DLS badge.

Some time after, DLS started to manufacture their own line that was almost identical to Genesis in appearance. Genesis then ended the relationship with DLS.

Aside from appearance (which is near identical), the internals seem to be very different. From what I recall, the DLS shared more design similarities with the older audioart amplifiers. All in all, the genesis amplifiers predated the ultimate line by a significant number of years.

Genesis is now under new ownership. Gordon Taylor (founder it genesis) now runs a small repair and consultancy shop under the name AmpDoctor. He still services and upgrades Genesis amplifiers (along with other brands).

He also does design consultancy. The New DLS signature series was designed by Gordon (ironically).

I've been out of the hobby for a long time, but this is what I recall (open to correction).

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 9th, 2023, 1:31 pm

weys bai, nobody post in this forum since last year bai

Postby Rovin » January 31st, 2023, 11:56 am

so anybody watching steve meade 33" home theater sub box build on YT

nice to have such nice powerful cnc routering 1" birch in a single pass :shock: , expensive AF but its a long term investment ... had i not eased up on d box building 10+ yrs ago i may have been on that path by now, then again trinis doesnt always want to pay for good thing

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 3rd, 2023, 1:22 pm

must be nice

But yeah, box building is a very saturated market in trinidad. Need to be top of the line to make a decent impact

Otherwise you're better off being an installer. Anyone can buy a box off FB marketplace, not everyone can scrap down car interior and run wires/terminate properly

Postby Rovin » February 3rd, 2023, 7:39 pm

anything "car audio" in trinidad saturated, everybody padna & they bredda "know bout music" & "hooking up & chuning music" in every village & around every corner, plenty shops opening up all over selling & "doing music too" ... :|

Postby timelapse » February 4th, 2023, 8:02 pm

Wait until you have to give somebody a price quote for custom fiberglass enclosures...

Postby Rovin » February 5th, 2023, 11:13 am

fiberglass is 1 thing i rather not mess with, way too much health risks in that .... resin by itself no problem once d area well ventilated & u have a mask on

Postby timelapse » February 6th, 2023, 7:09 am

Rovin wrote:fiberglass is 1 thing i rather not mess with, way too much health risks in that .... resin by itself no problem once d area well ventilated & u have a mask on
^ All that, and men does still want to beat down my price.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 7th, 2023, 1:18 pm

Hadda pay extra to cover timelapse mesothelioma bills :'(

(or is that for asbestos? cant remember)

david12

Postby david12 » February 12th, 2023, 2:27 pm

Postby Rovin » February 12th, 2023, 2:37 pm

i just watched that video about half hr ago

their print specs on d box is exaggerated & brand stigma, wa u running dey boi : hiyanka , wat ? , hiyanka , wtf is dat

for all we know it sound arite in d video but d offkey name nuh ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 14th, 2023, 8:12 am

boy from the time I see "550/1100 Watt " I done know the scene already :lol:

No way it doing those numbers for real.

Look in the video description:
You can buy these speakers here:
https://amzn.to/NOTGONNALINKIT (affiliate link)

You could just tell he's trying to shill some product from his dropshipping biz.

it
isn't
even
amazon
branded

Postby Rovin » March 2nd, 2023, 11:12 am

2 entertaining videos to liven up d forum ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 3rd, 2023, 10:04 am

Focused , Basically the function of an LRAD but idk if it's the same principle. An actual LRAD may have some out cancelling drivers around the edges just to keep the beam focused

This could probably come in handy for Line array systems once they figure out the quality problem.

it kinda works like FM radio, whereby there's a high frequency carrier signal
click this link here because this site get too advanced to embed gifs now. the IMG tags ain't working for this either.
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/ ... -en-de.gif

[gif]https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a4/Amfm3-en-de.gif[/gif]
[gfycat]https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a4/Amfm3-en-de.gif[/gfycat]
[facebookvideo]https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a4/Amfm3-en-de.gif[/facebookvideo]
[instagram]https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a4/Amfm3-en-de.gif[/instagram]
[vimeo]https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/a/a4/Amfm3-en-de.gif[/vimeo]

All these fancy shiet here and it can't display a simple image format from the 80s :roll:

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 6th, 2023, 4:48 pm

So, FINALLY I might be building another subwoofer. Well, not me - someone's doing it for me (a badly-behaving shoulder probably means that box-building days are behind me). An offset-driver ~41 Hz TL for one 12" driver using a different fold. Not that I have need for another box, LOL, but I want to see how this performs compares to the POC3 TH I built many years ago. The intent here is to measure how the performance of the TL compares to that of the TH in an enclosure of approximately the same size. Performance measurements will be the usual frequency response, compression and THD at various power levels. I predict a wider bandwidth, with a few dBs lower efficiency.

20230306-TL.png
20230306-TL.png (14.68 KiB) Viewed 1661 times

Postby sMASH » March 6th, 2023, 5:42 pm

Eh. As this popped up, I have a t line to try next time.
But this one should be permanent.

Just waiting to get a separate youtube channel set up to post project stuff, then I'll post vids on the horn 8" performance.

Postby sMASH » March 7th, 2023, 12:11 pm

Brian Steele wrote:....

What is ur opinion on using multiple drivers in a t line?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 7th, 2023, 4:58 pm

sMASH wrote:
Brian Steele wrote:....

What is ur opinion on using multiple drivers in a t line?

No reason why it can't be done that I can think of, apart from of course requiring a bigger overall box...

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 10th, 2023, 3:52 pm

What's the reason to offset the driver in the T-line?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 11th, 2023, 1:15 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:What's the reason to offset the driver in the T-line?

Null out the first harmonic resonance to increase its usable bandwidth.

For more information, see http://www.diysubwoofers.org/tls/

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2023, 7:41 am

how did that poc3 th perform and what wattage put into it ?

out of curiousity, I am interested to build a pa/dj tapped horn sub to see the performance vs the commonly used big subs(yorkville, scoops etc)

I have the space, table saw and tools etc. I can also get drivers borrowed or carry by a pa/dj guy to test them out.

was always intrigued to build a labhorn but tapped horns seem to have superseded that

if anybody interested let me know, only thing of course is all these big boy subs are usually built as pairs for coupling efficiency. major cost is the plywood

Postby Rovin » March 12th, 2023, 1:59 pm

d ol sealed vs ported debate ... YT video creators know how to generate publicity for their channel

theres d sealed for life crew who admits thats all they run & i guess prolly never owned a professionally designed ported enclosure for a sub that is better suited for ported, somebody said ported sounds like a fart cannon :shock: .... :lol: , maybe only d ones he heard, that comment cud fall into d local garden too :twisted: ... :lol:

d bassheads\spl men who never run sealed

alot of ppl putting all their faith in manufacturers trusted specs & would argue that no matter if u mention enclosure design programs

very few mentions : tuning\eq, box placement, quality\abilty of both sub\amp, vehicle acoustics etc

an interesting post from somebody : "Rules of thumb created in the 70s have no bearing on modern subwoofers", i not sure how to interpret that

there is d "well it depends on what type of music u listen to" bandwagon, to me everybody at some point plays some kinds of music outside their normal preferences

this section could use some traffic so allyuh dont jes read my posts or other ppls posts & remain quiet : contribute & share ur opinions ... nobody gonna frig u up like on fb .... 8-)

Postby sMASH » March 12th, 2023, 2:30 pm

The "rule of thumb" thing being outdated, is kinda true.

It was meant for a time when u were putting 3w into a 8" thst playing mostly full range.

More or less tickling the air in the box.

Those pressure conditions not comparable to 2000wrms in a 3 cut space.

The rule of thumb thing, like man. specs, is a guide and u have to use the calculators and intuition for some of the extreme cases.

Sealed men don't like to feel bass, they just like to know it had bass in the track.

Me, I running epicenter. I seeing my dash board shake from an 8"... Fleckway quality and accuracy.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 12th, 2023, 4:14 pm

pugboy wrote:how did that poc3 th perform and what wattage put into it ?

It actually performed pretty well, but it is one 12" driver with low Xmax rated to take 350W, so it does not perform miracles. I did build a 32 Hz TH with an 18" B&C driver (the 18TBX100, if I remember correctly) and that shook the damn building during testing, but it never went into full production (family issues, LOL).

I still pull the POC3 TH out from time to time for the occasional beach lime :-).

If you want to try an established TH build, look for the TH18 design. Or the Othorn (which I think is a little undersized, but hey, I didn't design it).

The "problem" with the THs is limited bandwidth. They're basically like bandpass boxes with great in-band performance but poor control of out of band resonances. You need to cross them over fairly early - but then most PA subs are run that way anyway.

The offset-driver TL I'm building as a replacement for the POC TH will have a wider usable bandwidth (up to 200 Hz), at the expense of a few dB in efficiency.

20180101-myPA.jpg

Postby pugboy » March 12th, 2023, 5:07 pm

yeah the th18 is a highly studied design

you are a serious box builder if you at these level of designs built