Japanese DVD/GPS/T.V to Local

FURIOUSBENNY

Japanese DVD/GPS/T.V to Local

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » July 12th, 2006, 7:03 am

Who has an idea or knows someone that can convert the original Japan DVD T.V screens to local radio channels.This came original in a Primera and from what I was told it can show T.V and also play D.V.D's..Help please people...I will get the Brand and model number of the player soon..
Last edited by FURIOUSBENNY on July 26th, 2006, 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » July 12th, 2006, 10:39 am

dont waste time and money

Sully

Postby Sully » July 12th, 2006, 12:41 pm

It's NTSC, so it would just be a matter of getting rid of the region code and learning japanese.

Has anyone tried a region free DVD in a japanese dvd player yet?

FURIOUSBENNY

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » July 12th, 2006, 3:16 pm

Sully around what cost I looking at with that change. I know persons have done it already and I was wondering if it was as easy as the radio conversion..The owner says that he likes the way the original look is and wants to keep it if possible..

kaotik

Postby kaotik » July 12th, 2006, 7:42 pm

SR wrote:dont waste time and money

?????????????? man it only costs bout $500 to $800

Rx

Postby Rx » July 12th, 2006, 8:50 pm

it will look original ......

Postby SR » July 13th, 2006, 6:41 am

kaotik wrote:
SR wrote:dont waste time and money

?????????????? man it only costs bout $500 to $800

well if thats the cost then waht do you haev to lose

i prefer not to use the oem or modify them as i have had problems in the past with them
i have also seen quite a few units that have ben modified and a month or so after owners complained of different problems

so there is a risk that noone will tell you about also there is no warranty on the work being done and if the unit develops other problems the tech doing the job is not responsible
and not obliged to fix the unit either

Sully

Postby Sully » July 13th, 2006, 7:51 am

What I was refering to doesn't involve modification. It's all theory. I don't know if anyone tried it.

Japan uses NTSC (29.97 fps), and so does North America. Most DVDs will have a region code attached to it. If you were to get a region free DVD that should be able to play in the DVD player. At least that's the thought that I have.

Basically, get a priate dvd, stick it in, and see if it plays. If it doesn't then you'll have to go the modification route. But as sr suggests, it's a helluva lot easier to just buy an aftermarket DVD player. There's probably one for everyone's price range, within reason.

FURIOUSBENNY

Japanese DVD/GPS Screen

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » July 13th, 2006, 10:20 am

Ok people I've checked this thing out personally and the brand of the player is a XANAVI Multi AV System. It seems a lot of the vehicle's electronics interfaces with this thing. From what I was told he may need to get the tuner to get the T.V and DvD feature working. So if anyone is familar with this product or the brand give me a holler...Thanks all..

ambassador

Postby ambassador » September 29th, 2009, 11:08 pm

Furious Ben,

What is the solution? Did you find a tech who could modify it or did you find the XANAVI Multi Av system?
Whre can I get that

FURIOUSBENNY

humm

Postby FURIOUSBENNY » September 29th, 2009, 11:22 pm

Sorry man, techs were afraid to tackle that system so car was sold as is..I played around with it a few times and was able to navigate a bit but "can't read Japs"so ...Yuh know the rest..

overrrev

Re: Japanese DVD/GPS/T.V to Local

Postby overrrev » May 1st, 2011, 10:44 pm

I have a P11 with the same Xanavi Multi AV screen does not work..does anyone know where i can get a replacement? It controls the ac as well as cd