20v men....

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Postby r3iXmann » April 14th, 2009, 7:32 pm

honda hoe wrote:with the exception of an ecu upgrade is the 20v engine capable of swinging 10k from the factory WITHOUT any work being done to the block???

i think he answered you here:

corollalover101 wrote:josh.dookie, no my car is completely stock and it's a silvertop 20V and it's automatic...I only swing 8500 rpm, I never stated the car swings 10k RPM I stated that it's capable of doing so from factory, obviously the ecu will limit it for safety anyway I don't know anything so I take back my statement

but cl101:

corollalover101 wrote:LOL, to all the "20V men" who feeling bummy about getting washed at street racing, no need to be, you engine is not a drag one nor will any of you be very impressive if you show up "stock"

none of these engines are really 'drag' engines, as far as i see it.. k20 was engineered for a car that is supposed to tackle a circuit track

the only engines that i would say are engineered for drag racing would be those V series that you find in them ole car dragist does be posting :lol: :lol: :|

anyways, 20v men, maybe the answer lies in your gear ratios/tune?

Postby A172 » April 14th, 2009, 8:32 pm

reiXmann wrote:none of these engines are really 'drag' engines, as far as i see it.. k20 was engineered for a car that is supposed to tackle a circuit track

ent :lol:

imagine men feathers getting ruffled over a puny 135hp motor :lol:

my thing is this:

1.6 litres, 20 valves, 160-170hp, 8500rpm and yet yuh car still nowhere CLOSE to catching a stock 1.3L? :|

and when I say nowhere close....I mean like different classes of speed kinda business...

take for example, Hoe ITR and my car....DC5 vs el cheapo project....kinda licks rendered = half 'track' lengths

same exact outcome with the 4efte against the 20v, and don't use power to weight as an excuse cuz I'm the same weight as a starlet......you really tellin me after all these months of :

reading men rating up 20v this and that, no starlet cud come rong ah 20v etc...forum could be renamed '20v forum' cuz thaz all yuh does ever see in here.....when yuh call yuhself ah Toyota man, everybody assume yuh runnin ah 20v...

THAT is what alyuh rating up all this time? :|

now the defense is who could do a ricer fly by better?

geez....20v is really mess oui :|

mikeae91corolla

Postby mikeae91corolla » April 14th, 2009, 8:41 pm

yup just disconnect the air flow meter and rev your car it revs all the wayy out no limiter

trdboy

Postby trdboy » April 14th, 2009, 9:38 pm

mikeae91corolla wrote:yup just disconnect the air flow meter and rev your car it revs all the wayy out no limiter

whaaaaaaaaaat????????? u smoking dasheen bush hoss???

Postby wagonrunner » April 14th, 2009, 9:48 pm

trdboy wrote:
mikeae91corolla wrote:yup just disconnect the air flow meter and rev your car it revs all the wayy out no limiter

whaaaaaaaaaat????????? u smoking dasheen bush hoss???

hadda be a graduate of between the mango tree roots.
he now studying to qualify for under the mango tree, and above ground.

bandit1201

Postby bandit1201 » April 15th, 2009, 12:47 am

:popcorn:

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » April 15th, 2009, 1:16 am

A172 wrote:
reiXmann wrote:none of these engines are really 'drag' engines, as far as i see it.. k20 was engineered for a car that is supposed to tackle a circuit track

1.6 litres, 20 valves, 160-170hp, 8500rpm and yet yuh car still nowhere CLOSE to catching a stock 1.3L? :|

geez....20v is really mess oui :|

Why try to up-play the 20v like this by listing everything out then downplay your engine by saying it's just a stock 1.3 as if it's also naturally aspirated? A turbocharger makes a big difference in case you haven't noticed.

Why try to compare these two engines like this? Apples and oranges is an understatement.

One has less displacement but then it's turbocharged and the other is not.
In stock form the 20V has more horsepower and torque however it's a heavier engine and used in heavier cars.

The 4efte is a very powerful (for it's size) light engine that's predominantly used in light cars.

Why knock or bad talk either engine as mess when we all here know that there's a lot more to the equation? I'm pretty sure that a corolla with a 4efte installed will not be competitive against a corolla with a 20v, Why? Power to weight of the entire package.

Starlet - 1892 lbs - 135hp

Corolla - 2552 lbs - 170hp

That's 35hp to pull an additional 660lbs

Your car is fast (all relative now) you've earned the right to say that corollas with 20v engines so far can't catch you, but to call that engine mess while rating up that puny little 135hp motor is just naively delusional.
:?

*Flame suit on* :lol:

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » April 15th, 2009, 1:22 am

One more thing Hoe to answer your question.

The 20valve's bottom end was designed to handle 9500rpm in stock form, the head was not. As CL said cams, springs etc will have to be changed on top but the bottom end is quite capable.

Postby A172 » April 15th, 2009, 6:35 am

pyromaniak wrote:
Why try to up-play the 20v like this by listing everything out then downplay your engine by saying it's just a stock 1.3 as if it's also naturally aspirated? A turbocharger makes a big difference in case you haven't noticed.

Why try to compare these two engines like this? Apples and oranges is an understatement.

should have told the fanboys that^^ when they literally made statements like 'no stock 4efte cud wash a 20v'

The 4efte is a very powerful (for it's size) light engine that's predominantly used in light cars.

Why knock or bad talk either engine as mess when we all here know that there's a lot more to the equation? I'm pretty sure that a corolla with a 4efte installed will not be competitive against a corolla with a 20v, Why? Power to weight of the entire package.

Starlet - 1892 lbs - 135hp

Corolla - 2552 lbs - 170hp

piss poor argument again.....I could bring a heavy ass corolla wagon to run ANY 20v and it'll be the same result.....even worse :roll:

Your car is fast (all relative now) you've earned the right to say that corollas with 20v engines so far can't catch you, but to call that engine mess while rating up that puny little 135hp motor is just naively delusional.

my car 'fast'? :?

quote me just ONCE in this thread where i 'rate up' my engine or call it 'fast'...

if you haven't noticed by now I choose my words carefully and only state the facts:

FACT: NO stock 20v could wash me down the quarter

FACT: this 'puny lil 1.3l' doing 95whp....so I think it's fair to say 20v is one of the lamest engines ever produced by the licks rendered to them from it

your fanboyism may get the best of you and you may mistake that^^^ for arrogance, but it is what happened = fact creation

kthxbai. 8-)

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » April 15th, 2009, 6:48 am

honda hoe wrote:
smokey1275 wrote:
honda hoe wrote:
your engine comes from the factory capable of swinging 10K RPM

:? :? :?

Yes that is a true statement , the limitation from factory is that theecu limits to 8200rpm and the valvetrain will need better springs with more tension so valve float will not be inherent and hoe , yes not only honda engines can swing 10k, ford escort BDA (1600cc twincam 16Valve) engines have been doing that before any of us were even born !!!

toyota fanboyism at its best!

i asked if the motor can swing 10k FROM THE FACTORY

if u need to upgrade valve train then the answer is NO

i was not bashing but since this is a technical forum i would have liked to be given an informative answer

but apparently i ruffled sum feathers

i also noticed dat CL101 is ignoring my question

so i'll ask a 3rd time

with the exception of an ecu upgrade is the 20v engine capable of swinging 10k from the factory WITHOUT any work being done to the block???

honda Hoe , nobody's feathers are ruffled but as far as i know from what i've read k20 engines suffer valve float at around 9400 rpm , thus from the factory K's may not be able to swing as much to the 10krpm as a 20V and the head is not the block i might add. a few people jave both gotten away with reviving k's and 20V to 10000rpm but these were only short bursts . not extended straining of rpm.CorollaGT had a rock stock 20V but except for a few electronics which are niot factory-- the factory unit took 10000 rpm . :) Hope this clears any grey areas.

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » April 15th, 2009, 8:39 am

A172 wrote:
so I think it's fair to say 20v is one of the lamest engines ever produced

Okay, don't get so emo about it :cry:

Until you want to take the car into the equation I have no argument for you.

You obviously strongly believe that when you line up it's just two bare engines blazing down the track. Well maybe a gearbox and some wheels :?

I guess you also think that the 2jz-gte (3L) in stock form is also a lame a$$ engine seeing that a puny 1.8 2zz in a lotus Exige s could wash it down the quarter :idea: :lol:

I guess it doesn't matter that the supra weighs 1000lbs more? Nah 2jz is just sheit :?

This engine for engine thing is so bogus a much better discussion can come from a car to car matching.

Anyway, what do I know :roll:

Have good discussion

Postby honda hoe » April 15th, 2009, 8:40 am

smokey1275, thx for ur response

from my personal experience... my last engine got valve float @ 9200rpm

now barring the valve train.. u noticed my question was specifically asking about the balancing of the block

a 20v engine is not a 'race engine'

so i can't see it being able to spin anywhere close to 10k reliably out the factory without pistons flying everywhere

can u provide a link showing its capable of swinging such rpm stock?

cuz it seems to me like its more hearsay than anything

Postby Hook » April 15th, 2009, 8:55 am

I really hope this was a joke, cuz a properly wired S/T 20V will never run with the AFM disconnected since the relay for the fuel pump is actually connected through it and the pump DOES NOT switch on unless the vane is in the open position

then again, what do I kno?

Postby honda hoe » April 15th, 2009, 8:57 am

^ aye look who :shock: :lol:

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » April 15th, 2009, 9:22 am

honda hoe wrote:smokey1275, thx for ur response

from my personal experience... my last engine got valve float @ 9200rpm

now barring the valve train.. u noticed my question was specifically asking about the balancing of the block

a 20v engine is not a 'race engine'

so i can't see it being able to spin anywhere close to 10k reliably out the factory without pistons flying everywhere

can u provide a link showing its capable of swinging such rpm stock?

www.billzilla.org. good reading here.

cuz it seems to me like its more hearsay than anything

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » April 15th, 2009, 9:40 am

boy this forum keeps on getting jokey! Yo corolla lover, i wazn't trying to mess u up man,y u hadda go an say u doh no neting wen u is one of d most knowledgable toyota man on dis forum! I apologize man!! A172 u is real kix.. Everyone on this forum has there own likes and dislikes and not to mention brand loyalty!!! Some does take it to the extreme though.. Jus relax and enjoy the show.. :D

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » April 15th, 2009, 10:02 am

Ent fanboy was d guy from dat cartoon freakazoid?? D fat weirdman? LOL who remember?? Nigel ent u remember that dawg lol?? Fanboyism, daz a bes word lol!

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » April 15th, 2009, 10:12 am

honda hoe , www.billzilla.org or club4age.net

Postby honda hoe » April 15th, 2009, 10:18 am

smokey1275, thx for the link

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » April 15th, 2009, 10:50 am

Just another link I found.

Very nice engine, if you can afford to modify it.

http://www.toysport.com/Technical%20Information/4ag_tech_notes.htm

MODIFYING THE 4AG / 4AGZE

Block: The 4AG block is a free revving and strong bottom end. A stock block will survive in excess of 350 HP if air-charged in the 8000 RPM range, or 250 HP in the 10000RPM range. The 2nd generation blocks with oil squirters should be the minimum considered. The connecting rods are also beefier, similar to the 4AGZ. The 1st generation block had smaller wrist pins and rod journals, which should be fine for milder tunes. For serious competition the rods should be replaced.

Postby eliteauto » April 15th, 2009, 10:59 am

josh.dookie, :lol: :lol: boy I just joking I don't get my feathers ruffled at all, doh study it man is kixx

sonic100

Postby sonic100 » April 15th, 2009, 2:13 pm

pyromaniak Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:50 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just another link I found.

Very nice engine, if you can afford to modify it.

Aye Kwesi, its Andre, the guy who bought the S/T, I just wanted to know if you still have the Eclipse

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » April 15th, 2009, 4:47 pm

Yeah, I have it. I gave it to Renee a few weaks ago cause her head unit went on the bum. So it's no longer collecting dust. :mrgreen:

mikeae91corolla

Postby mikeae91corolla » April 15th, 2009, 5:28 pm

well i guess mines wired different because mines does work without the air flow connected and it does rev all pass 8000 and does not limit
i think because my pump not wired together with the air flow

trdboy

Postby trdboy » April 15th, 2009, 7:12 pm

mikeae91corolla wrote:well i guess mines wired different because mines does work without the air flow connected and it does rev all pass 8000 and does not limit
i think because my pump not wired together with the air flow

so ur car capable of running without ur afm, and on top that u getting an unlimited redline..........hmmm u have a motorbike dey hoss?? and u have some smurfs in the combustion chamber mixing that air and fuel too ent!!

trdboy

Postby trdboy » April 15th, 2009, 7:18 pm

a172 i know u refered to it as a ricer fly by lol!!! but if the 20v so shitty why not make a pull on the highway with it, it have one 20v i can vouch for who will give u a good run

Reixman rightly stated.......most 20v fellas i know have transplant and all kinda different ecu and gearbox contraption and wiring problems and their idea of tuning is changing plugs, filter and oil, the 20v came originally in the levins and gt corolla and the specs u listed would be from the ae111 bzr and gt, so those are the fellas to should get to pull and after u wash them away with ur stock 1.3 with stock boost i mighten get so teary when u say the 20v is sheit lol!!

shinakuma

Postby shinakuma » April 15th, 2009, 8:03 pm

TRD Rules! Who arguin bout dat

Postby A172 » April 15th, 2009, 8:43 pm

trdboy wrote:a172 i know u refered to it as a ricer fly by lol!!! but if the 20v so shitty why not make a pull on the highway with it, it have one 20v i can vouch for who will give u a good run

nah i good....I go leave that for them fassup men who doing 20secs quartermile 8-)

the specs u listed would be from the ae111 bzr and gt, so those are the fellas to should get to pull and after u wash them away with ur stock 1.3 with stock boost i mighten get so teary when u say the 20v is sheit lol!!

yeh thaz the next objective....well......u already know what coming their way. :fadein:

trdboy

Postby trdboy » April 15th, 2009, 10:20 pm

shinakuma wrote:TRD Rules! Who arguin bout dat

no arguements by me......4efte,5efte,4age,4agze,4age 20v,2zzge,1jzgte,2jzgte,3sgte,32beams,7mgte,2grfse......u cyar go wrong in my book!!

sadique

Postby sadique » April 15th, 2009, 11:32 pm

:lol: ulyuh is tears in here yes!!!LOL
but anyway lik d man stated TRD rules!! :mrgreen:

Return to “TOYOTA”