Fuel For Thought... TTTL Press Ad... super or not

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » October 6th, 2008, 4:58 pm

TRDcorolla...the reason ur nze is giving trouble is because the 1nz-fe has a higher CR (10.5:1) than the RORO nze's which carry the 3zz-fe and 1zz-fe those have a 10:1 CR. and BTW in the local NZE manual for 1nz-fe engines it specifically says to use 95RON or higher...i tried the super in both a local nze and a local yaris (new model) both give the same problems u getting...even though the yaris 2nz-fe engine is rated for 91RON...just goes to tell u the inconsistency and low quality fuel we get here. I emailed TTTL about this they tell me to scan that page in the manual and send it for them....inside there is a bunch of jokers

well update on my car is that its taking the super kinda normal now so is teh avensis........the 1nz can run on 91 oct, but the fact remains that we get sh!t gas here for a high price and how sure are we that our super unleaded gas is really 91 ron

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » October 11th, 2008, 7:49 pm

i find the car running like absolute sheit now...

dad say he filled it 50/50. i driving the car full time and monday it drove great. the 1st time i drove it (for eid day) i noticed at around 2500rpm the engine making a wierd noise, and i told dad but he was like dsi. then after some driving the noise went. Now, by the end of the week, the car not pulling as before and i noticing this kinda wierd noise from the engine if i keep the rpms around 2500. I dunno if thaz pinging... is it?

jigga

Postby jigga » October 12th, 2008, 1:13 am

RUBBISH!!! toyota japan now owns TTTL and they doh care where u get it once is a toyota. look u can even service your foreign used there 2. how many companies can say that here?

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » October 12th, 2008, 1:50 am

RUBBISH!!! toyota japan now owns TTTL

hmm dude Toyota Tsusho Corporation took over what was once called amar since 1994 or 1995 i beleive, hence the name Toyota Trinidad &Tobago Limited

RUBBISH!!! toyota japan now owns TTTL and they doh care where u get it once is a toyota. look u can even service your foreign used there 2. how many companies can say that here

care to explain what made you post this as this discussion is not about this

any how guys i found a toyota japanese site earlier today but i dont know how to post the link as when i click on it....it jus doesnt allow u to post the site and i cant quote or copy and paste the article from it.....it was concerning the 1z-fe.......and it said that the engine was desigined to use 92RON........so i dunno what u guys goona do now concerning the super/premium issue.......my car working like sheit now but fcuk it super ftw....unless i have to go dex i wouild go a lil service and put in the expensive $4. gas from a week b4

but nun of that changes the fact that we getting sheit gas down here and i for 1 dont beleive that it is wat the advertise i dont think its 91 and 95

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » October 12th, 2008, 2:57 am

so that noise i getting is my car fcuking up?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » October 13th, 2008, 8:28 am

i have a question for those nze corolla owners who complaining of performance of their vehicle when they use super.
Is your car stock?
cause the people i know that have nze corollas tell me the car running the same with super the only thing of note is the better fuel economy they getting and this is with local and foreign used cars.
and from driving the misses local corolla the performance and engine noise if not noticiable different.

jigga

Postby jigga » October 13th, 2008, 7:55 pm

Toyota would not publish information that is beneficial to the (foreign) used car market.

Their first priority is THEIR customers (if yuh ketch meh drift).

read d entire post TRDcorolla...then you might follow

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » October 14th, 2008, 7:39 pm

dmitc wrote:i have a question for those nze corolla owners who complaining of performance of their vehicle when they use super.
Is your car stock?
cause the people i know that have nze corollas tell me the car running the same with super the only thing of note is the better fuel economy they getting and this is with local and foreign used cars.
and from driving the misses local corolla the performance and engine noise if not noticiable different.

bone stock 08 corolla.

i dunno... maybe its if the engine not warmed up, but today the car pulled rel good but the i think the engine still sounding a lil different.

Would the fumes from the exhaust smell different too? i find it smelling a bit rich (i think im getting too paranoid :lol: )

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 14th, 2008, 9:47 pm

dmitc wrote:i have a question for those nze corolla owners who complaining of performance of their vehicle when they use super.
Is your car stock?

I think most of those people who say super vs premium doesn't make a difference, are not very car conscious.

They might not even KNOW what knocking sounds like.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » October 15th, 2008, 11:25 am

Strauss, one must be able to pick up if there engine sounds different especially when accelerating.
but then again if yuh have the windows up and the ac on and the radio loud enough to drown out the enige noise i could see your point

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 15th, 2008, 3:26 pm

^^^ They might just ignore the noise. Especially if it's a woman (no offense to the ladies, but you know what I mean), she would be clueless as to what is happening.

trdboy

Postby trdboy » October 22nd, 2008, 2:19 am

fellas i know this might sound crazy but the first time i try super ah full the tank and right after i bounce up a s15 on the highway and eat him up i find the thing real pulling and no detonation at all, 3sgte loving up the super!!!!!!

heshere2001

Postby heshere2001 » October 22nd, 2008, 9:51 pm

Tried Super today for the first time in My local 1nz-fe Corolla. I haven't noticed a difference...as yet. No Stuttering, normal idle at 900rpms, still responsive.... If anyone else is considering making the change I say go ahead.

BTW - this fuel was bought at the new Self Service station in St.Augustine. On their pumps is written Super Unleaded 92 Octane. I thought it was 91...?

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » November 7th, 2008, 4:30 pm

As someone mentioned before, the local Toyota Corolla comes with the 1NZ-FE engine which, as stated in the owner's manual, REQUIRES Research Octane Number 95 or higher unleaded gasoline.

The 2NZ-FE, 3ZZ-FE, and 1ZZ-FE (found in the foreign used vehicles) may use Research Octane Number 91 or higher.

The question I want to ask is: Apart from maybe a little loss of power etc., would using the Super unleaded cause any major damage to anything in the long run?

trdboy

Postby trdboy » November 9th, 2008, 11:46 am

well in some countries the units of octanes measurements are different for example in the u.s they go on 89 octane counts however that is MON motor octane number when calculated to RON is more like 96 check out the post on this thread to get a better idea of what im saying
Super unleaded and my 4AGE 20v

and to retrack my statement, lastnight redman and i finally make a pull with our cars and me like the mad man i am was running super and when i start to max out i heard knocking, not me and dat sheit again cuz after a while i go be looking for an engine!!!

trdboy

Postby trdboy » November 9th, 2008, 11:56 am

and to answer ur question joe_d_boss YES u could mash ur block in the long run, remember chem and physics 101, to create ignition u need oxygen, fuel and spark, having a fuel with low RON means its more volatile cuz Octanes are actually a heavy end component, with just the heat of the block and the air present which contains 20% oxygen ignition could well occur before even reaching the spark plug causing detonation!! consequently slowly eroding and damaging ur engine block until one day ur psiton fly out or mash up on u!!! thats just the basic lemans explanation however if u want i could put u on to some reference for a descriptive analytical out look of the whole issue!

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 9th, 2008, 7:55 pm

joe_d_boss wrote:As someone mentioned before, the local Toyota Corolla comes with the 1NZ-FE engine which, as stated in the owner's manual, REQUIRES Research Octane Number 95 or higher unleaded gasoline.

The 2NZ-FE, 3ZZ-FE, and 1ZZ-FE (found in the foreign used vehicles) may use Research Octane Number 91 or higher.

The question I want to ask is: Apart from maybe a little loss of power etc., would using the Super unleaded cause any major damage to anything in the long run?

where are you people getting this information.
the local 1NZE require 91 octane or more

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » November 10th, 2008, 12:44 pm

^^^ I got my info on page 295 of the Corolla Owner's Manual. What better source can there be? I am curious to know why you think that the 1NZ-FE (not 1NZ-FXE) can use RON 91 and where you got that information because I would certainly like to switch over to super if it is possible.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 10th, 2008, 2:07 pm

from my mrs local 2007 toyota corolla manual

i'll like to see what your manual has on it

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » November 10th, 2008, 2:41 pm

I don't have a scanner readily available, but there is a section in my 2006 manual that says:
"Vehicles with a three-way catalytic
converter -
1NZ-FE engine:
Premium unleaded gasoline, Re-
search Octane Number 95 or
higher"

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » November 10th, 2008, 3:05 pm

^^ my 2004 manual says the same thing

1NZ-FE engine:
Premium unleaded gasoline, Re-
search Octane Number 95 or
higher"

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » November 10th, 2008, 3:12 pm

Cool...anyone else can confirm this in their manual?

dmitc

Postby dmitc » November 10th, 2008, 3:18 pm

well what can i say go with what your manual have in it.
joe_d_boss wrote:I don't have a scanner readily available

i use my camera phone

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » November 12th, 2008, 10:38 pm

1nz-fe... it IS 91... i will verify tmrw morning when i go in the car...

i running the super after about three fills now, the range went from 420km, to 320km, now its back up to 380km... and the car actually pulling the same now, feels no diffferent... maybe the car didnt fully get accustomed to the Super unleaded yet.

joe_d_boss

Postby joe_d_boss » November 13th, 2008, 8:53 am

^^^ Well I guess we have established that the manuals do have conflicting information.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » November 13th, 2008, 2:43 pm

Guys, what exactly does it sound like when a vehicle is "pinging". I want to try using super in my 1.5 Fielder however i want to know what noises to look out for if she rejects it

thanks

a_hardcore_trini

Re: Fuel For Thought... TTTL Press Ad... super or not

Postby a_hardcore_trini » October 8th, 2012, 1:44 pm

nice info

badart

Re: Fuel For Thought... TTTL Press Ad... super or not

Postby badart » October 14th, 2012, 4:59 pm

im a bit confused here, TTTL posted an ad on fb tht is different to what is posted here

Return to “TOYOTA”